LibGuides: Humanities, Education and Gaelic: Theological Studies

eBooks

An Introduction to the Study of Paul by David G. Horrell
ISBN: 9780567656247

Publication Date: 2015

This tried and tested introduction to Paul needs little introduction of its own. After considering Paul's importance and influence, and the important sources for the study of Paul, the volume covers the following key topics: the earliest period of Christianity - from Jesus to Paul; Paul's life before and after his 'conversion'; his individual letters; the major elements of his theology; his attitude to Israel and the Jewish law; perspectives on the Pauline assemblies, including their socio-economic location, meeting places, and attitudes towards women; and Paul's legacy in the New Testament and beyond. The volume has been revised throughout and fully updated with respect to bibliography, and to presenting the latest debates surrounding Paul's thought in a manageable format - including those around 'old' and 'new' perspectives, with a new section on the 'radical' new Jewish perspective, and those related to the socio-economic status and character of the Pauline assemblies. The helpful study questions and Resource Lists have also been revised.
Jesus of Nazareth by Maurice Casey
ISBN: 9780567079084

Publication Date: 2010

A new 'life' of Jesus written by one of the outstanding scholars of his generation, it offers a complete resource on the 'Historical Jesus' debate.
The mission of God by Christopher J. H. Wright
ISBN: 9781789740349

Publication Date: 2006

In this comprehensive and accessible study, Chris Wright begins with the Old Testament understanding of who God is, what he has called his people to be and to do, and where the nations belong within God's mission.
Practical theology in action by Paul Ballard
ISBN: 9780281086139

Publication Date: 2020

Now a classic textbook, Practical Theology in Action offers a basic introduction for all those involved in pastoral care and in applying Christian thinking to the service of the Church and society.
Shepherds after My Own Heart by Timothy S. Laniak; D. A. Carson (Series edited by)
ISBN: 9780830899326

Publication Date: 2015

Laniak draws on a wide range of Old and New Testament texts to develop the biblical theology of "shepherd" imagery, and concludes with some principles and implications for contemporary pastoral ministry.

eCollections

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary resource of academic journals and popular magazine articles in broad range of subjects. Full text of articles from over 4,000 journals with summaries and abstracts from over 8,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers.NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Full text of more than 266,000 journal articles and book reviews. References to more than 555,000 articles and 232,000 essays from more than 1,600 journals and 16,000 multi-author works.Subjects include: Church History; Pastoral Counselling; Religion; Theology. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
Cambridge Journals Online
Full-text resource of over 400 Cambridge University Press academic journal titles, both current and archive. Subject areas include : Humanities; Medicine; Science; Social Sciences; Technology.. Includes current and archive material.
Karl Barth Digital Library

The works of the theologian Karl Barth including "The Church Dogmatics" and the first 45 volumes of his Gesamtausgabe.
Philosopher's Index with Full Text
Over 200 full-text titles and international in scope with content from 139 countries. Covers areas including the philosophy of: education; history; language; religion; science, . Subject areas include: ethics, logic, metaphysics, political and social philosophy. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.

Videos, Images and External Websites

The Theologian
Theologian is dedicated to presenting theological and pastoral resources of the highest quality to the wider church over the internet
Theology on the Web
Making high quality theological material available freely throughout the world, thus providing Bible teachers and pastors with the resources they need to spread the Gospel in their countries

Humanities, Education and Gaelic

eBooks

eCollections

Videos, Images and External Websites

RSS Feeds from Think Theology