LibGuides: Humanities, Education and Gaelic: Sociology

eBooks

An Introduction to Sociology by Pamela Abbott; Melissa Tyler; Claire Wallace
ISBN: 9780203489949

Publication Date: 2006

This third edition of this best-selling book confirms the ongoing centrality of feminist perspectives and research to the sociological enterprise, and introduces students to the wide range of feminist contributions in key areas of sociological concern.
The Media in Scotland by Neil Blain (Editor); David Hutchison (Editor)
ISBN: 9780748631827

Publication Date: 2008

This book brings together academics, writers and politicians to explore the range and nature of the media in Scotland. The book includes chapters on the separate histories of the press, broadcasting and cinema, on the representation and construction of Scotland, the contemporary communications environment, and the languages used in the media.
Sociology by Martin Albrow
ISBN: 9780203449189

Publication Date: 2013

This is a book for anyone who wants to know what sociology is and what sociologists do. In a subject which has changed dramatically over the last twenty years, Sociology: The Basics offers the most up to date guide to the major topics and areas of debate.
The Student's Companion to Social Policy by Pete Alcock (Editor); Margaret May (Editor); Sharon Wright (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119960805

Publication Date: 2011

The fourth edition of The Student's Companion to Social Policy maintains the text's inimitable and best-selling approach. Written by a wide range of experts in the field, it has been extensively updated and revised to take account of recent developments and debates and changing political and economic configurations.
Understanding Scotland by David McCrone
ISBN: 9780203414927

Publication Date: 2002

For anyone wishing to understand Scottish society in particular or the general issues involved in nation building, McCrone's clear-headed coherently argued account of the main issues will be essential reading.

eCollections

EBSCO Host Databases
All EBSCO Host Databases have switched to a new user interface. For more information, please see our EBSCOhost Video guide. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk. Provides the following resource collections: Academic Search Complete; ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials; Business Source Premier; CINAHL Ultimate; Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text; EBSCO eBooks; Education Research Complete; Exploring Race in Society; European Views of the Americas; 1493-1750; GreenFile; Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts; Medline with Full Text; Open Dissertations; Philosopher's Index with Full Text; PsycArticles; PsycInfo; SocIndex with Full Text; SportDiscus with Full Text. See under each individual collection for details.
Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS)

Provides access and support for an extensive range of key economic and social data, both quantitative and qualitative, spanning many disciplines and themes. Content includes: the UK Labour Force Survey, UK General Household Survey, British Household Panel Survey, World Bank Data, etc.
Note: choose 'Login via UK Federation' then type in 'University of the Highlands and Islands' then user institutional user name and password.
Mass Observation Online (including updates I - IV)
Full text original source documents from the UK including maps and audio visual resources. The collection covers the effects of the depression in the 1930s, the onset of World War 2, the Blitz and war on the home front, the post-war world, with the rise of consumerism and television. Subject Areas: Anthropology, History, Sociology. Date coverage: 1937-1967.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 (Section II)
This collection of manuscripts, typescripts and ephemerae (including video and visual resources) analyses the social and political changes that accompanied the 'Rock n'Roll' revolution. Subject areas include: Changing Lifestyles, Civil Rights, Mai 68 (May 1968, events of) Nuclear Disarmament, Vietnam War.
Science Direct eJournals and eBooks
Abstract and full-text journal articles with full text from 2001 plus over 8000 eBooks. Abstracts for some articles date as far back as 1823.
Slavery, abolition and social justice, 1490-2007

This full text resource contains original source documents including original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images covering the variety, legacy and continued existence of slavery. Subject areas include: Agriculture, Education, Resistance, Slavery in the 21st Century, Spiritualism and Religion.

Videos, Images and External Websites

European Parliament
The Parliament acts as a co-legislator, sharing with the Council the power to adopt and amend legislative proposals and to decide on the EU budget. It also supervises the work of the Commission and other EU bodies and cooperates with national parliaments of EU countries to get their input
The Scottish Government
The devolved government for Scotland has a range of responsibilities which include: health, education, justice, rural affairs, housing and the environment. Some powers are reserved to the UK government and include: immigration, the constitution, foreign policy and defence
ScotCen Social Research
ScotCen is an integral part of NatCen Social Research, Britain’s leading centre for independent social research

Humanities, Education and Gaelic

eBooks

eCollections

Videos, Images and External Websites

RSS Feed from The Guardian