This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content

eBooks: Home

The University has access to a huge range of eBooks, many of which are the core and recommended reading on module lists. An overview is provided of the various access methods and making the best use of features in each platform.

Search eBooks

Recently purchased eBooks

The latest eBooks added to our collection.

Why should I use eBooks?

Some benefits of using eBooks include:

  • they can be accessed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
  • they can be read on and off campus.
  • there are no overdue fines.
  • no need to carry as many heavy books.
  • they can be read by more than one student at a time (with occasional exceptions).
  • the pages can be searched by keyword.
  • citation details can be exported to referencing software.

How do I use eBooks?

You can login to eBooks using your usual network username and password, it's the same as the one you would use for Blackboard.

  • eBooks are purchased from various publishers and a variety of platforms so the appearance and options can vary.
  • Once logged in, look for Read Online or View this Book. Some platforms might also let you download a book or chapters as a PDF. Due to Digital Right Management (DRM) a download might only be available offline for a limited period of time.
  • The number of people that can use an eBook at the same time varies. This depends on the supplier, it's not controlled by the library. Occasionally you will be advised that the book is in use and that you should try again later. The e-Books will open on a first come, first served basis.
  • Usually the navigation menu appears on the left-hand side of the screen, allowing you to find particular chapters or search for keywords within the entire book.
  • Many eBook platforms have accessibility features. These often include the ability to increase text size, have the book "read aloud" or add colour overlays that make the text more distinctive.

Can I print or copy pages?

The options you have depends on who has supplied the eBook. Usually you can print or download around 5% of a book. The eBook platform will usually indicate your limit, so make sure you only print essential pages.

Where can I get help?

It depends on what kind of help you require.

Please contact your local college librarian If you need advice on using or navigating eBooks.The help pages within the eBook platform also provide advice on functions such as note-taking, searching and exporting citations.

If you are having technical difficulties or are receiving error messages, please report the issue to the UHI helpdesk. Before doing so, please check the following:

  • Whether or not your login still works for other university services. 
  • That your web-browser (Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer etc) is updated to the latest version.
  • Many eBook platforms use PDF and require Adobe Reader to work properly. If you have a MAC and are using DawsonEra eBooks, Adobe Reader is a specific requirement.  If you don't already have Adobe Reader, it can be downloaded for free

If you have tried these checks and still have difficulties, email the helpdesk at

If possible, try to include a screenshot of the error message you are receiving.

Other eResource collections

Along with the eBook collections, further subject specific resources are available on the full A-Z databases list.

eBooks at UHI

UHI library provides access to over 50,000 electronic books. The vast majority can be searched using the main eBook search box. In the following list, the indicates that a collection is included in the main eBook search. Those marked are not and can only be viewed by accessing the collection directly.