LibGuides: Humanities, Education and Gaelic: Philosophy, Politics and Economics

eBooks

Democracy and Its Critics by Robert A. Dahl
ISBN: 9780300049381

Publication Date: 1991

In this prize-winning book, one of the most prominent political theorists of our time makes a major statement about what democracy is and why it is important.
The economic way of thinking by Paul L Heyne
ISBN: 9781292053608

Publication Date: 2014

The Economic Way of Thinking goes beyond explaining the basic principles of micro- and macroeconomic analysis by showing students a method of reasoning that teaches them how to apply these principles as tools. The authors expose students to a method of reasoning that makes them think like an economist through example and application and also shows them how not to think, by exposing errors in popular economic reasoning.
Ethics by Piers Benn
ISBN: 9780203003299

Publication Date: 1997

This introduction to ethics judiciously combines moral theory with applied ethics to give an opportunity for students to develop acute thinking.
History of Western Philosophy by Bertrand Russell
ISBN: 9780203487976

Publication Date: 2004

First published in 1946, History of Western Philosophy went on to become the best-selling philosophy book of the twentieth century. A dazzlingly ambitious project, it remains unchallenged to this day as the ultimate introduction to Western philosophy.
In defence of politics by Bernard Crick
ISBN: 9781441121240

Publication Date: 2005

Crick asserts that politics, with its compromises and power struggles, remains the only tested alternative to government by coercion, making both freedom and order possible in heterogeneous societies.

eCollections

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary resource of academic journals and popular magazine articles in broad range of subjects. Full text of articles from over 4,000 journals with summaries and abstracts from over 8,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers.NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
British History Online

NB: University only has access to the free resources. Do not use the login box. Extensive digital library containing full-text digitised versions of some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Subjects include: Ecclesiastical History; Historical maps; Local History relating to all areas of the UK including the 32 historic counties of Scotland; Parliamentary Documents; Urban & Metropolitan History.
Hansard 1803 - 2005

The official reports of the proceedings and debates of the UK Houses of Commons and Lords. Suject areas include politics, law, history.
Philosopher's Index with Full Text
Over 200 full-text titles and international in scope with content from 139 countries. Covers areas including the philosophy of: education; history; language; religion; science, . Subject areas include: ethics, logic, metaphysics, political and social philosophy. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.

Videos, Images and External Websites

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy
Politics.co.uk
The UK's leading political news website among MPs and members of the public
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work

Humanities, Education and Gaelic

eBooks

eCollections

Videos, Images and External Websites

RSS Feed from BBC Politics