Skip to Main Content

Library Induction|Library Blog|Library Website|Brightspace|Contact Us|

Humanities, Education and Gaelic

eBooks

Contemporary British Novel by James Acheson (Editor); Sarah Ross (Editor)
ISBN: 9780748618958

Publication Date: 2005

Written by some of the world's finest contemporary literature specialists, the newly commissioned essays in this volume examine the work of more than twenty major British novelists.
The English Novel by Terry Eagleton
ISBN: 9781118724927

Publication Date: 2013

Written by one of the world's leading literary theorists, this book provides a wide-ranging, accessible and humorous introduction to the English novel from Daniel Defoe to the present day.
Mobility in the Victorian Novel by Charlotte Mathieson
ISBN: 9781137545473

Publication Date: 2015

Mobility in the Victorian Novel explores mobility in Victorian novels by authors including Charles Dickens, Charlotte Brontë, Elizabeth Gaskell, George Eliot and Mary Elizabeth Braddon.
The Rise of the Novel by Nicholas Seager
ISBN: 9780230251823

Publication Date: 2012

This Reader's Guide explores the key critical debates and theories about the rising novel, from eighteenth-century assessments through to present day concerns.
The Short Story by Paul March-Russell
ISBN: 9780748627745

Publication Date: 2009

This new general introduction emphasises the importance of the short story to an understanding of modern fiction.

eCollections

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary resource of academic journals and popular magazine articles in broad range of subjects. Full text of articles from over 4,000 journals with summaries and abstracts from over 8,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers.NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
Oxford Reference Online (ORO)
Selection of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries and other subject reference works on everything from Art to Zoology. Updated regularly, contains over 1.4 million entries, including bibliographies and more than 16,000 illustrations.
Poetry Archive
An online collection of recordings of poets reading their work. You can listen, free of charge, to the voices of contemporary English-language poets and of poets from the past. The Archive is growing all the time.

Videos, Images and External Websites