LibGuides: Humanities, Education and Gaelic: Criminology

eBooks

Adventures in Criminology by Sir Leon Radzinowicz
ISBN: 9780203023822

Publication Date: 2002

Sir Leon Radzinowicz is one of the key figures in the development of criminology in the twentieth century. This account of the development of criminology intertwines his personal narrative as a criminologist with the progression of criminology itself.
Criminology, Deviance, and the Silver Screen by J. Frauley
ISBN: 9780230115361

Publication Date: 2010

This text argues for the usefulness of fictional realities for criminological theorizing and analysis. It illustrates that a creative and critical social scientific practice requires craft norms rather than commercial norms that threaten to completely colonize higher education.
Cyber criminology by Hamid Jahankhani
ISBN: 9783319971810

Publication Date: 2018

This book provides a comprehensive overview of the current and emerging challenges of cyber criminology, victimization and profiling. It is a compilation of the outcomes of the collaboration between researchers and practitioners in the cyber criminology field, IT law and security field.
Narrative criminology : understanding stories of crime by Lois Presser
ISBN: 9781479895731

Publication Date: 2015

Stories are much more than a means of communication-stories help us shape our identities, make sense of the world, and mobilize others to action. In Narrative Criminology, prominent scholars from across the academy and around the world examine stories that animate offending.
Queering Criminology by Matthew Ball (Editor); Thomas Crofts (Editor); Angela Dwyer (Editor)
ISBN: 9781137513342

Publication Date: 2016

Queer criminological work is at the forefront of critical academic criminology, responding to the exclusion of queer communities from criminology, and the injustices that they experience through the criminal justice system.

eCollections

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary resource of academic journals and popular magazine articles in broad range of subjects. Full text of articles from over 4,000 journals with summaries and abstracts from over 8,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers.NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
Legislation.gov.uk

Government website which gives the text of UK legislation from 1988 onwards along with post-devolution Scottish legislation. Subject Areas : Law; Politics.
PsycArticles
Full-text professional and academic articles from over 100 journals in psychology and related disciplines published by APA, Hogrefe Publishing Group, the Canadian Psychological Association and APA's Educational Publishing Foundation. Includes medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and communications. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.

Videos, Images and External Websites

Centre for Crime and Justice Studies
At the Centre for Crime and Justice Studies we advance public understanding of crime, criminal justice and social harm
Gov.uk
Gov.uk is the portal to all UK Government information. Use the search facility or browse through the Crime, Justice and the Law section
Howard League for Penal Reform
IPPR is the UK's leading progressive thinktank. We are an independent registered charity with more than 40 staff members, paid interns and visiting fellows. Our main office is in London, with IPPR North, IPPR's dedicated thinktank for the North of England, operating out of offices in Newcastle and Manchester, and IPPR Scotland, IPPR’s dedicated thinktank for Scotland, operating out of offices in Edinburgh

Humanities, Education and Gaelic

eBooks

eCollections

Videos, Images and External Websites

RSS Feeds from the Ministry of Justice