LibGuides: Humanities, Education and Gaelic: Sustainable Development

eBooks

The Environmental Responsibility Reader by Martin Reynolds (Editor); Christine Blackmore (Editor); Mark J. Smith (Editor)
ISBN: 9781848134010
Publication Date: 2009
The Environmental Responsibility Reader is a definitive collection of classic and contemporary environmental works that offers a comprehensive overview of the issues involved in environmental responsibility, steering the reader through each development in thought with a unifying and expert editorial voice.
Green Outcomes in a Real World by Peter McManners
ISBN: 9780566091803
Publication Date: 2010
This book is about hard-edged reality presented by an author with huge experience and a deep understanding of the concept of sustainability from a business perspective.
The Human Impact on the Natural Environment by Andrew S. Goudie
ISBN: 9781444309171
Publication Date: 2009
The new edition of this classic student text provides an up-to-date and comprehensive view of the major environmental issues facing the world today, and is an essential introduction to the past, present and future impact of humans on Earth.
An Introduction to Sustainable Development by Jennifer Elliott
ISBN: 9781136918278
Publication Date: 2012
This fourth edition has been comprehensively rewritten and updated to provide a concise, well illustrated and accessible introduction to the characteristics, challenges and opportunities of sustainable development with particular reference to developing countries.
Sustainable Development As a Principle of International Law by Christina Voigt
ISBN: 9789004180765
Publication Date: 2009-
This volume provides a framework for the doctrinal foundation of sustainable development as a principle of integration in international law.

eCollections

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
- This link opens in a new window
Held in the ProQuest platform in the Natural Science Collection to allow for cross searching other collections: : This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Digimap
- This link opens in a new window
For information on how to register (for the first time) to use this resource please see http://digimap.edina.ac.uk/webhelp/digimapsupport/access/registration.htm

Agreeing to the licence : Upon logging in, the first time you wish to access a specific collection, you will need to accept its sub-license agreement, which tells you what you can and can't do with the data.

Current Ordnance Survey maps and map data of the U.K. Available to view online or download for use in GIS or CAD software. Includes the following collections: Aerial ; agCensus; Geology ; Global ; Historic ; Improvement Service ; Lidar ; Marine ; Ordnance Survey ; Pilot ; Society ; Verisk
GreenFILE
- This link opens in a new window
Over 4,700 articles from academic and general-interest titles on aspects of human impact to the environment; also index and abstracts for more than 384,000 records. Subject Areas include : Global Warming; Green Technologies; Pollution; Renewable Energy; Sustainable Agriculture. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
Science Direct eJournals and eBooks
- This link opens in a new window
Abstract and full-text articles with full text from 2001 plus 8000 eBooks. Abstracts for some articles date as far back as 1823. Covid-19 Response (free access till 15th June 2020): access to 256 textbooks on Science Direct platform
SciTech Connect
Index of publications on energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the U.S. Department of Energy. Many records link to full text of publications.

Videos, images and external websites

UN Sustainable Development Goals
The Sustainable Development Goals are the blueprint to achieve a better and more sustainable future for all. They address the global challenges we face, including poverty, inequality, climate change, environmental degradation, peace and justice.
The Global Goals
In 2015, world leaders agreed to 17 Global Goals (officially known as the Sustainable Development Goals or SDGs). It's now five years on, and we have more work than ever to do. These goals have the power to create a better world by 2030, by ending poverty, fighting inequality and addressing the urgency of climate change.
What is climate change?
Climate is the average weather in a place over many years. Climate change is a shift in those average conditions.
Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education
Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education (SARE) offers farmer-driven, grassroots grants and education programs. Since 1988, SARE grantees have been putting the principles of sustainable agriculture into practice on farms and ranches in every state and island protectorate.
Scotland and the sustainable development goals: a national review to drive action
This review provides a statement of our pre-COVID-19 ambition on driving progress towards the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals in Scotland. It brings together evidence, actions and stories of how we are making progress to meet the Goals.