Historical Writing in Britain, 1688-1830 explores a series of debates concerning the nature and value of the past in the long eighteenth century. The essays investigate a diverse range of subjects including art history, biography, historical poetry, and novels, as well as addressing more conventional varieties of historical writing.
This book examines the pattern and process of migration in Britain over the last three centuries. Using late 1990s research and data, the authors have shed light on migrations patterns (including internal migration and movement overseas), its impact on social and economic change, and highlights differences by gender, age, family, position, socio-economic status and other variables.
This book comprises the first full-length comparison of Scottish, Irish, English and Welsh migration within Europe in the early modern period. Divided into four sections - Immigrants and Civilian Life, Diplomats and Travellers, Protestants and Patrons and Catholics at Home and Abroad - it offers a new perspective on several themes.
What does it mean to live in the modern world? How different is that world from those that preceded it, and when did we become modern? In Distant Strangers, James Vernon argues that the world was made modern not by revolution, industrialization, or the Enlightenment. Instead, he shows how in Britain, a place long held to be the crucible of modernity, a new and distinctly modern social condition emerged by the middle of the nineteenth century.
This book reassesses all the key leaders of Irish nationalism - Tone, O'Connell, Butt, Parnell, Collins, and de Valera - alongside key British political leaders such as Peel and Gladstone in the nineteenth century, or Winston Churchill and Tony Blair in the twentieth century.
This study takes a fresh approach to the Brus family by assessing the achievements of the two lines in parallel while examining the extent of their power and the development of their lordships; it highlights the inter-relations between the barons of England and Scotland during two hundred years of comparative peace between the kingdoms.
Leopold von Ranke, who was born in 1795, is considered to be one of the founders of the modern practice of writing history. This collection of his writings, edited and introduced by Georg G. Iggers, was first published in 1973 and remains the leading collection of Ranke's writings in the English language.
A multi-disciplinary resource of academic journals and popular magazine articles in broad range of subjects. Full text of articles from over 4,000 journals with summaries and abstracts from over 8,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers.NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
Extensive digital library containing full-text digitised versions of some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Subjects include: Ecclesiastical History; Historical maps; Local History relating to all areas of the UK including the 32 historic counties of Scotland; Parliamentary Documents; Urban & Metropolitan History.
Over 300 eBook titles in full text covering: American, British, Economic, General, Regional History; History of Science; History of the Book; Language and Linguistics; Literary Studies; Music; Philosophy; Political and Social Theory; Religious Studies; Theatre and Performance; Warfare.
Archives of leading academic journals in full text interlinked by millions of citations and references. Articles published in the last 3-5 yrs are excluded. Covid-19 Response (free access till 30th June 2020) : access to more than 30,000 eBooks, and all JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections currently not licensed by the University
Electronic editions of the two major historical dictionaries of the Scots language: the Dictionary of the Older Scottish Tongue (Older Scots - 12th century - 1700) and the Scottish National Dictionary (Older Scots - 12th century - 1700)
Concentrating on the period 1800 to 1924, this resource covers all aspects of the migration experience, from departures to arrival and permanent settlement. To supplement this, the collection includes early material such as the first emigration 'round robin' from 1621 and letters from late eighteenth century merchants and travellers in the United States. Some later material is also available, including ocean liner and immigration depot photographs from the mid-twentieth century.
The resource presents an insight into the personal stories of migrants during this period. Letter collections, travel journals, diaries and oral histories provide a wealth of first-hand accounts for research into emigration experiences and the hardship of settlement. These are supplemented by scrapbooks, government papers, hand-drawn maps, watercolours, objects, emigration pamphlets, shipping papers and rare printed material which provide context to the history of migration, legislation and living conditions during this period.
Material on the movement of Indian and Chinese indentured labourers is included within CO 384, digitised from the National Archives, UK. The complete War and Colonial Department and Colonial Office: Emigration Original Correspondence files cover both the emigration and remigration of indentured labourers and all printed material is fully text-searchable. Printed extracts from early files have been separated out to ensure full-text searching is available.
Queen Victoria was the longest serving British monarch, reigning as Queen from 1837 to 1901 and as Empress of India from 1877. In total 141 volumes of her journal survive, numbering 43,765 pages. They have never before been published in their entirety and have hitherto only been accessible to scholars by appointment at the Royal Archives. Edited excerpts have been published in print but they cover only a fraction of the whole.
The database contains all information that can be assembled about every individual involved in actions in Scotland or relating to Scotland in documents written between the death of Malcolm III on 13 November 1093 and Robert I’s parliament at Cambuskenneth on 6 November 1314