Storm clouds always gather over the story of the Highland Clearances. The eviction of the Highlanders from the glens and straths of the Highlands and Islands of the north of Scotland still causes great historical dispute more than a century after the events.
Using a wide array of published and unpublished sources, McLean examines in detail nine group emigrations that left western Inverness between 1785 and 1802 for Glengarry County in Upper Canada (now Ontario). She describes how, once in North America, they built a new Highland community in an attempt to ensure each family's access to the land.
The Wars of Scotland is the story of the pivotal period in Scottish history between 1214 and 1371. The century and a half between the death of King William the Lion and the accession of the Stewarts witnessed major changes in the internal character of the kingdom and its place in the wider European world.
In this new biography, Michael Penman retells the story of Robert's rise - his part in William Wallace's revolt against Edward I, his seizing of the Scottish throne after murdering his great rival John Comyn, his excommunication, guerilla war against the English, and devastating battles against an enemy Scottish coalition - climaxing in his victory over Edward II's forces in June 1314.
The traditional view of the Scottish nation holds that it first arose during the Wars of Independence from England in the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries. Although Scotland was absorbed into Britain in 1707 with the Treaty of Union, Scottish identity is supposed to have remained alive in the new state through separate institutions of religion (the Church of Scotland), education, and the legal system.
In The Lordship of the Isles, twelve specialists open new perspectives on the rise and fall of the MacDonalds of Islay and the politics, culture and society of the greatest Gaelic lordship of later medieval Scotland.
Exploring how the different aspects of the clan system - chiefs and kinsmen, landlords and tenants, farming systems, production strategies and marketing - changed between the 16th-18th centuries, it shows how the character and ideology of clans and chiefdoms are inextricably part of the twin problems of socio-political control and food production.
Over the last three decades major advances in research and scholarship have transformed understanding of the Scottish past. In this landmark study some of the most eminent writers on the subject, together with emerging new talents, have combined to produce a large-scale volume which reconsiders in fresh and illuminating ways the classic themes of the nation's history since the sixteenth century as well as a number of new topics which are only now receiving detailed attention.
A multi-disciplinary resource of academic journals and popular magazine articles in broad range of subjects. Full text of articles from over 4,000 journals with summaries and abstracts from over 8,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers.NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
Extensive digital library containing full-text digitised versions of some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Subjects include: Ecclesiastical History; Historical maps; Local History relating to all areas of the UK including the 32 historic counties of Scotland; Parliamentary Documents; Urban & Metropolitan History.
Over 300 eBook titles in full text covering: American, British, Economic, General, Regional History; History of Science; History of the Book; Language and Linguistics; Literary Studies; Music; Philosophy; Political and Social Theory; Religious Studies; Theatre and Performance; Warfare.
Archives of leading academic journals in full text interlinked by millions of citations and references. Articles published in the last 3-5 yrs are excluded. Covid-19 Response (free access till 30th June 2020) : access to more than 30,000 eBooks, and all JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections currently not licensed by the University
Electronic editions of the two major historical dictionaries of the Scots language: the Dictionary of the Older Scottish Tongue (Older Scots - 12th century - 1700) and the Scottish National Dictionary (Older Scots - 12th century - 1700)
From the Royal Archives at Windsor Castle, the Stuart Papers represent the correspondence and personal documents of the exiled members of the Stuart dynasty after 1688. Also included: the Cumberland Papers of William Augustus, Duke of Cumberland and second surviving son of George II. Taken together they provide a unique window into the world of the Stuarts and their Jacobite followers, as well as to the incumbent Hanoverian monarchy during a time of continental wars, domestic conspiracies and rival claims to the Throne.