LibGuides: Humanities, Education and Gaelic: Archaeology

eBooks

Archaeological Theory: an introduction by Matthew Johnson
ISBN: 9781444360417

Publication Date: 2011

Thoroughly revised and updated, this engaging text offers students an ideal entry point to the major concepts and ongoing debates in archaeological research.
The Archaeology of Time by Gavin Lucas
ISBN: 9780203004920

Publication Date: 2004

This book is an introduction not just to the issues of chronology and dating, but time as a theoretical concept and how this is understood and employed in contemporary archaeology.
Britain Begins by Barry Cunliffe
ISBN: 9780191611889

Publication Date: 2012

Britain Begins is nothing less than the story of the origins of the British and the Irish peoples, from around 10,000BC to the eve of the Norman Conquest.
Interpretive Archaeology by Julian Thomas
ISBN: 9781441179296

Publication Date: 2001

This volume gathers together a series of the canonical statements which have defined an interpretive archaeology. Many of these have been unavailable for some while, and others are drawn from inaccessible publications. In addition, a number of key articles are included which are drawn from other disciplines, but which have been influential and widely cited within archaeology.
The Significance of Monuments by Richard Bradley
ISBN: 9780203024713

Publication Date: 2012

The Significance of Monuments studies the importance of monuments tracing their history from their first creation over six thousand years later.

eCollections

EBSCO Host Databases
All EBSCO Host Databases have switched to a new user interface. For more information, please see our EBSCOhost Video guide. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk. Provides the following resource collections: Academic Search Complete; ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials; Business Source Premier; CINAHL Ultimate; Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text; EBSCO eBooks; Education Research Complete; Exploring Race in Society; European Views of the Americas; 1493-1750; GreenFile; Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts; Medline with Full Text; Open Dissertations; Philosopher's Index with Full Text; PsycArticles; PsycInfo; SocIndex with Full Text; SportDiscus with Full Text. See under each individual collection for details.
Digimap : Geology
For information on how to register (for the first time) to use this resource please see here.

Upon logging in, the first time you wish to access a the Geology collection, you will need to accept its sub-license agreement, which tells you what you can and can't do with the data.

Allows you to browse, view and print geological maps of the UK. Download for use in a Geographic Information System (GIS) or image processing software. Maps include: 1:625,000 solid and drift geology; 1:250,000 solid geology and linear features.
Digimap : Historic
For information on how to register (for the first time) to use this resource please see here.

Upon logging in, the first time you wish to access the Historic collection, you will need to accept its sub-license agreement, which tells you what you can and can't do with the data.

Allows users to browse, view and print historic maps of the UK with the facility to download for use in a Geographic Information System (GIS) or image processing software and include maps published from 1843 onwards.

Videos, Images and External Websites

Am Baile
Am Baile was founded in 2000 by a consortium led by The Highland Council and which also included Taigh Chearsabhagh Trust and West Highland Animation. Together we set out to create a digital archive of the history and culture of the Scottish Highlands and Islands comprising material which had hitherto been difficult to access. Since then Am Baile has digitised and made available tens of thousands of items from archives, libraries, museums and private collections
Historic Environment Scotland
Historic Environment Scotland is the new lead public body for the country's historic environment. It brings together Historic Scotland and the Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historic Monuments of Scotland.
Society of Antiquaries of Scotland
The Archaeology Data Service supports research, learning and teaching with freely available, high quality and dependable digital resources. It does this by preserving digital data in the long term, and by promoting and disseminating a broad range of data in archaeology