LibGuides: Humanities, Education and Gaelic: Geography

eBooks

Geographies of food by Moya Kneafsey
ISBN: 9781472521040

Publication Date: 2016

Food is pivotal to the human experience. Its production and preparation occupies the waking hours of millions of people, and structures the domestic spaces and routines of everyday life. Around the world, from local community groups to inter-governmental summits, people are discussing the future of food in the face of threats from climate change, population growth and natural resource depletion. This textbook provides a comprehensive introduction to the contemporary geographies of food.
Green Outcomes in a Real World by Peter McManners
ISBN: 9780566091803

Publication Date: 2010

This book is about hard-edged reality presented by an author with huge experience and a deep understanding of the concept of sustainability from a business perspective.
Human Ecology by Gerald G. Marten
ISBN: 9781853837135

Publication Date: 2001

Ideal introductory course book for a wide range of courses in environmental sciences, social sciences, geography and ecology.
On the Other Side of Sorrow by James Hunter
ISBN: 9780857908346

Publication Date: 2014

Caring for the environment, developing rural communities, and ensuring the survival of minority cultures are all laudable objectives, but they can conflict, and nowhere more so than the Scottish Highlands. As environmentalists strive to preserve the scenery and wildlife of the Highlands, the people who belong there, and who have their own claims on the landscape, question this new threat to their culture, which dates back thousands of years.
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Human Geography by John A. Agnew (Editor); James S. Duncan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781444395815

Publication Date: 2011

This volume provides an up-to-date, authoritative synthesis of the discipline of human geography.

eCollections

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Allows for cross searching other collections. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. Provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes specialized, editorially-curated Abstract and Indexes resources covering e.g effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
CIA World Factbook

Provides basic information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 258 world entities.
Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS)

Provides access and support for an extensive range of key economic and social data, both quantitative and qualitative, spanning many disciplines and themes. Content includes: the UK Labour Force Survey, UK General Household Survey, British Household Panel Survey, World Bank Data, etc.
Note: choose 'Login via UK Federation' then type in 'University of the Highlands and Islands' then user institutional user name and password.
GreenFILE
Over 4,700 articles from academic and general-interest titles on aspects of human impact to the environment; also index and abstracts for more than 384,000 records. Subject Areas include : Global Warming; Green Technologies; Pollution; Renewable Energy; Sustainable Agriculture. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.

External websites

The Travel Foundation
The Travel Foundation is a charity that works in partnership with businesses and governments so that tourism brings greater benefits for people and the environment.
National Geographic Society
The National Geographic Society uses the power of science, exploration, education, and storytelling to illuminate and protect the wonder of our world.
UK aid
Frequently asked questions about UK Aid. From the House of Commons Library