LibGuides: Humanities, Education and Gaelic: Education

eBooks

Adventurous Learning by Simon Beames; Mike Brown
ISBN: 9781315736488
Publication Date: 2016
Adventurous Learning interrogates the word 'adventure' and explores how elements of authenticity, agency, uncertainty and mastery can be incorporated into educational practices.
Effective Teaching in Schools Theory and Practice Third Edition by Chris Kyriacou
ISBN: 9781408504239
Publication Date: 2014
Written by best-selling author of Essential Teaching Skills, this research-informed guide is the perfect introduction to what defines good teaching. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, it enables trainees and new teachers to build on theoretical work where it matters in the classroom.
Learning to Teach in the Primary School by Teresa Cremin (Editor); James Arthur (Editor)
ISBN: 9781317800125
Publication Date: 2014
Flexible, effective and creative primary school teachers require subject knowledge, an understanding of their pupils and how they learn, a range of strategies for managing behaviour and organising environments for learning, and the ability to respond to dynamic classroom situations.
Scottish Education by T G K Bryce
ISBN: 9781474437851
Publication Date: 2018
This detailed, informed and critical account of contemporary education in Scotland examines each of the main sectors in depth: early years, primary, secondary, further and higher education.
Starting from the Child: Teaching and Learning in the Foundation Stage by Julie Fisher
ISBN: 9780335246526
Publication Date: 2013
Starting from the Child supports early years practitioners to be advocates for young children and their learning needs.

eCollections

EBSCO Host Databases
- This link opens in a new window
NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk. Provides the following resource collections: Academic Search Complete; ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials; Business Source Elite, CINAHL Complete; Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text; EBSCO eBooks; Education Research Complete; GreenFile; Medline; Medline with Full Text ; Philosopher's Index with Full Text; PsycArticles; PsycInfo; SocIndex with Full Text;. SportDiscus with Full Text. See under each individual collection for details.
Education in Video
Education in Video provides resources for both new and experienced teachers tools to increase their knowledge and skills and for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms.
Education Research Complete
- This link opens in a new window
NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk. ERC covers the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues. Topics covered also include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing. This database also includes full text for books, monographs and numerous education-related conference papers.
Emerald eJournals Collections
- This link opens in a new window
The collections included are : Accounting, Finance & Ecnomics ; Business, Management & Strategy ; Education ; Health & Social Care ; HR, Learning & Organization Studies ; Information & Knowledge ; Marketing ; Operations, Logistics & Quality ; Public Policy & Environmental Management ; Tourism & Hospitality Management.
ERIC
Full text articles and abstracts covering educational related literature produced by the US Department of Education. Contains over 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles, books, book chapters, reports, policy papers, conferences and dissertations.
Gaelic Learning Materials
From the website: If you are a complete beginner episodes 1-18 will take you (step-by-step) into conversational Gaelic and introduce you to the basic language skills you will need to speak Gaelic.
PsycARTICLES
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text professional and academic articles from 78 journals in psychology and related disciplines published by APA, Hogrefe Publishing Group, the Canadian Psychological Association and APA's Educational Publishing Foundation. Includes medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and communications. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
Science Direct eJournals and eBooks
- This link opens in a new window
Abstract and full-text articles with full text from 2001 plus 8000 eBooks. Abstracts for some articles date as far back as 1823. Covid-19 Response (free access till 15th June 2020): access to 256 textbooks on Science Direct platform

Videos, Images and External Websites

Education Scotland
Education Scotland is the national body in Scotland for supporting quality and improvement in learning and teaching.
The General Teaching Council for Scotland
The General Teaching Council for Scotland (GTCS) was one of the first teaching councils in the world when it was set up in 1965. In 2012, legislation passed by the Scottish Parliament made it the world's first independent, self-regulating body for teaching.
The Scottish Government - Additional Support for Learning
The Scottish Government want all children and young people to be able to get the most from the learning opportunities which are available to them, so that they can realise their full potential, in learning, in work, and in life.
Curriculum for Excellence
Curriculum for Excellence is designed to achieve a transformation in education in Scotland by providing a coherent, more flexible and enriched curriculum from 3 to 18.