Creative Industries

Collection of authoritative Science, Engineering and Technology and Arts and Humanities citation indexes, covering over 250 disciplines. Includes a selection of interactive data analysis tools . Also includes Medline.
Useful for literature reviews.

The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Comprehensive abstract and full-text sociology research resource encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Provides full-text access to almost 800 journal titles, 820 books, and almost 14,000 conference papers. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.

For information on how to register (for the first time) to use this resource please see http://digimap.edina.ac.uk/webhelp/digimapsupport/access/registration.htm

Agreeing to the licence : Upon logging in, the first time you wish to access a specific collection, you will need to accept its sub-license agreement, which tells you what you can and can't do with the data.

Current Ordnance Survey maps and map data of the U.K. Available to view online or download for use in GIS or CAD software. Includes the following collections: Aerial ; agCensus; Geology ; Global ; Historic ; Improvement Service ; Lidar ; Marine ; Ordnance Survey ; Pilot ; Society ; Verisk

NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk. ERC covers the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues. Topics covered also include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing. This database also includes full text for books, monographs and numerous education-related conference papers.

Full text articles and abstracts covering educational related literature produced by the US Department of Education. Contains over 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles, books, book chapters, reports, policy papers, conferences and dissertations.

This collection provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

Full-text resource of over 600,000 articles from 223 Cambridge University Press academic journal titles, both current and archive. Subject areas include : Humanities; Medicine; Science; Social Sciences; Technology.. Includes current and archive material.

Full-text of all academic journals published by OUP. Includes all current, back-copies and archive copies of 230 journal titles, and full-text of over 90 open-access titles.

Citation and full-text archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Contains full-text of 80 journal titles. Not all titles are available as complete archives. Date coverage : Journal issues from pre-2000 with the earliest articles dating back to the 19th century.

(1891 – 2000) Over 288,000 articles from a subset of 80 journal backfiles published between 1891 and 2000 from the Periodicals Archive Online collection.

676 full-text journals, also including abstract articles in a broad range of subjects. Full Text Access from 1999 Onwards

Over 2000 full text journals covering a variety of subjects. Subject areas include: Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences, Technology. Includes journals formerly part of Informa Healthcare - peer revied medical and pharmaceutical research journals. Subject Areas include: addictions, medical education, mental health and urology. The University has full text access to Taylor and Francis journals as far back as 1997. The original date of publication of the article is listed below the title of the journal, on the top left of the computer screen. The date published online is listed in the middle of the screen under the article title. If you are unsure whether the University should have access to the journal article please refer to the information under the title of the journal on the top left of the screen.
The University has full text access to Taylor and Francis journals as far back as 1997. The original date of publication of the article is listed below the title of the journal, on the top left of the computer screen. The date published online is listed in the middle of the screen under the article title. If you are unsure whether the University should have access to the journal article please refer to the information under the title of the journal on the top left of the screen.

1280 full text journals covering the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences and medicine. Date coverage: from 1997

Contains more than 130,000 cartoons from 1904 onwards. FAQs provides information on copyright.

NB: University only has access to the free resources. Do not use the login box. Extensive digital library containing full-text digitised versions of some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Subjects include: Ecclesiastical History; Historical maps; Local History relating to all areas of the UK including the 32 historic counties of Scotland; Parliamentary Documents; Urban & Metropolitan History.

Links to 4 million digital items including : Images; Texts; Sounds; Videos.Some of these are world famous, others are hidden treasures from Europe's museums and galleries, archives, libraries, and audio-visual collections. Copyright information can be found at Terms of Use.

Selection of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries and other subject reference works on everything from Art to Zoology. Updated regularly, contains over 1.4 million entries, including bibliographies and more than 16,000 illustrations.

Over 200 full-text titles (more than half of which are available without an embargo) and international in scope and it offers content from 139 countries. Covers areas including the philosophy of: education; history; language; religion; science.
Subject Areas include: Ethics, logic, metaphysics, political and social philosophy. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.

Collection of digital learning resources including 360,000 images, movies and sounds from museums, galleries, archives and the media.

Provides access to more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Full-text primary source material of more than 200 years of The Times, detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers to search and view The Times Newspaper online in its original published context.

The collection includes more than 1000 news pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period (nearly 1 million pages - some 1,270 titles), including the first successful London daily and first illustrated newspaper . The collection covers more than 200 years of accounts from newspapers from England, Ireland, Scotland and a selection of papers from British colonies in the Americas and Asia.

This major collection from the British Library collection contains full runs of 70 newspapers, including national and regional newspapers. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed are also present in the collection.

British Library Newspapers consists of two major collections from the British Library which span three hundred years of newspaper publishing in the U.K in the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century Newspapers