LibGuides: Creative Industries: Music

Welcome

Welcome to the guide for Music

Online Collections for Music

Cambridge Companions to Music
Cambridge Companions to Music provide clear and accessible information on composers, instruments or musical topics, written with the student, the performer and the music lover in mind. Each volume provides a carefully structured series of specially-commissioned essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive coverage and indispensable reference material as well as absorbing reading matter.
MusicAlly
Naxos Music Library
- This link opens in a new window

Links to help with Naxos Music Library
The NML App - downloading the app Follow the instructions for 'Student/Faculty of a subscribing university or an educational institution' using your UHI student login details. Videos/Tutorials Frequenty Asked Questions

Rock's Backpages
- This link opens in a new window
You May
Access, search and browse the database or publication. Print or download a limited number of articles, records, abstracts, or parts of chapters for personal use.

You may not
Sell copies of items printed or downloaded.
Print or download entire electronic books or entire issues of journals.
Distribute copies of any portions of this resource to anyone not affiliated with ... University. Sharing information with colleagues for scholarly, educational, or scientific research or professional use is permitted.
Europeana
Scran
- This link opens in a new window
British Library Sounds
Oxford Scholarship Online
- This link opens in a new window

OSO Music
Music titles available in Oxford Scholarship Online (15 November 2021).

ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection
- This link opens in a new window
The Purple Guide

If you are asked to login in to any resources use your Student, or Staff, ID and password.

MusicAlly
Mintel Reports
Business Source Elite
- This link opens in a new window
Emerald eJournals Collections
- This link opens in a new window
WARC
The Purple Guide

BPI Monthly market reports are added to Brightspace.

Online Collections for Music

The following resources are good for all subjects in the creative industries. Click on the tabs above to view subject specific resources.

Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
InfoTrac General OneFile
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Project Muse
- This link opens in a new window

If you are asked to login in to any resources use your Student, or Staff, ID and password.

Cambridge Companions to Music

Cambridge Companions to Music
Cambridge Companions to Music provide clear and accessible information on composers, instruments or musical topics, written with the student, the performer and the music lover in mind. Each volume provides a carefully structured series of specially-commissioned essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive coverage and indispensable reference material as well as absorbing reading matter.

Cambridge Companions to Music 13 September 2024
List of books contained in the Cambridge Companions to Music collection on the 13th of September 2024.

Quick reference - Music (from Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Music of India

TIMELINE: Music (History World from Oxford Reference Online), c. 45000 years ago-2009

New Grove book of opera singers

International encyclopedia of dance

The Oxford Dictionary of Music

Oxford companion to music

The Oxford Dictionary of Dance

Dictionary plus music

The Grove Book of Operas

The Oxford Companion to the American Musical

Who Married Figaro? A book of opera characters

Oxford Reference Online (ORO)

Selection of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries and other subject reference works on everything from Art to Zoology.

Essential Reference

The Cambridge History of Twentieth-Century Music

The Cambridge History of Musical Performance

The Cambridge History of Eighteenth-Century Music

The Cambridge History of Seventeenth-Century Music

Updated

The Cambridge History of Western Music Theory

The Cambridge History of Nineteenth-Century Music

The Cambridge History of American Music

The Cambridge History of World Music

Music journals - Browzine

Using other libraries

Using other university libraries : Sconul Access Scheme
Information for HE students about accessing and using other UK university, or higher education, libraries.

Creative Industries

Subject Network Librarian

UHI Library Chat

Click to chat

Welcome

Welcome to the guide for Music

Online Collections for Music

Online Collections for Music

Cambridge Companions to Music

Cambridge Companions to Music

Quick reference - Music (from Oxford Reference Online)

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Music of India

TIMELINE: Music (History World from Oxford Reference Online), c. 45000 years ago-2009

New Grove book of opera singers

International encyclopedia of dance

The Oxford Dictionary of Music

Oxford companion to music

The Oxford Dictionary of Dance

Dictionary plus music

The Grove Book of Operas

The Oxford Companion to the American Musical

Who Married Figaro? A book of opera characters

Oxford Reference Online (ORO)

Essential Reference

The Cambridge History of Twentieth-Century Music

The Cambridge History of Musical Performance

The Cambridge History of Eighteenth-Century Music

The Cambridge History of Seventeenth-Century Music

The Cambridge History of Western Music Theory

The Cambridge History of Nineteenth-Century Music

The Cambridge History of American Music

The Cambridge History of World Music

Music journals - Browzine

Using other libraries

Using other libraries