The International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) brings together institutions dedicated to rescuing and preserving films. FIAF's editorial staff, along with its Affiliates, produces the International Index to Film Periodicals which offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. This database contains FIAF's “Treasures from Film Archives”; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world, a selection of Reference volumes and the linked full-text of over 60 journals.
Film from Alexander Street provides essential streaming video collections to support teaching and research in film studies and related disciplines. The collections include a comprehensive offering of silent era films, which together represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Additionally, a contemporary collection offers award winning selections from over 60 countries, providing a window into a wide range of cultures and sociological issues around the world.
A guide on searching, accessing and using eBooks across the various platforms subscribed to by the University.
Just the tip of the iceberg
What you see on the library shelves is only a small proportion of the books available through the UHI Libraries. Electronic books make up a large proportion of our stock. Here you can see a selection of ebook titles, just to give a flavour of what is available. Almost all eBooks are now listed in the library catalogue.-
By original image by Uwe Kils, Wiska Bodo - Losslessly cropped Image:Iceberg.jpg, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=1164495
Arena: All the World's a Screen Shakespeare on Film
Documentary exploring the rich, global history of Shakespeare in the cinema, with a treasure trove of film extracts and interviews. Contains adult themes.
The 1990's The Story of Film: An Odyssey
The story of the brilliant, flashy, playful movies in the English-speaking world in the 90s. This episode looks at what was new in Tarantino's dialogue and the edge of the Coen brothers. The writer of Starship Troopers and Robocop talks exclusively about their irony. In Australia, Baz Luhrmann talks about Romeo + Juliet and Moulin Rouge! and the programme plunges into the digital world to see how it has changed the movies forever.