Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Orkney College Library

Study Facilities

Study facilities

Due to Covid-19 the Library is currently closed for book browsing and study space.  

WiFi is available throughout the College - select Eduroam from the list of available networks.

Behaviour

Please respect other users by behaving in an appropriate and respectful manner. Please speak to a member of the Library team if you think a fellow student is behaving in an inappropriate way.

Mobile phones should be set to 'silent' so that you do not disturb others. Please leave the area if you need to make a call.

Children are welcome, but please ensure that they are supervised at all times.

Food and drink

Please do not eat or drink in the Library - this is so that we can maintain a clean and safe environment for you to study in.  Bottled water is fine.

Borrowing, renewing and reserving books (limited service available)

Borrowing books

Our book collection is on the ground floor. You may borrow up to 15 books at any one time. The loan period is either 7, 14 or 28 days. As well as print books the Library service also provides access to a vast collection of eBooks and e-Journals which can be read online or downloaded. Our Library Catalogue covers all of the material held at Orkney College plus all the UHI  partner library collections as well as links to the E-Books. 

Books for loan held by other university libraries may be borrowed through the Inter-Site Loan scheme (ISL). Please email OCLibrary@uhi.ac.uk and we will arrange the loans on your behalf. If an E--book is available partner libraries will not lend you a print copy unless there are special circumstances e.g. if you are dyslexic

Click and Collect service 

Due to Covid-19 we are currently not permitting access to the library. Instead we have now introduced Click and Collect and Postal Loan Services for borrowing books. 

To make use of this service please check the catalogue for book availability and complete the online form to request books from our collection as well as Inter Site Library loans (ISLs) 

  1. Book requests will be processed as soon as possible, and you will be notified by email when you can collect the books.  

  1. The books will be left just inside the main entrance on your left - in a white or brown paper bag with your name on.

  1. To return books, please use the designated and clearly labelled brown cardboard box which are changed every morning during the week.

  1. Returned books will be quarantined for 72 hours before being scanned and removed from your library account                

If you are a Distance Learning student, please use the Postal Loan Service form to request books from our collection as well as Inter Site Library loans (ISLs)

Distance Learners in the U.K. can return their books using the following address:

Freepost ORKNEY COLLEGE LIBRARY

Please note that:

1.The NAME must always appear in uppercase

2. NO other addressing details such as road, town or postcode should be used.

 

Inter Library loans

Because of Covid-19 many University libraries across the UK  have suspended loans from their physical collections. It is still possible to obtain electronic articles/chapters. Please be aware that due to restrictions and safety measures it may take longer to fulfil requests. 

If you are a Research student / Research Staff, please use this link to request British Library loans https://uhi-uk.libwizard.com/f/ILL

Undergraduates and Masters students - please email your OC tutor with your requests – they will forward your email with “Please go-ahead” to Anette.Andersen@uhi.ac.uk

Renewing books

Books can be renewed online via MyDay or by logging into the Library Catalogue. If your books have become overdue please email OCLibrary@uhi.ac.uk and we will renew them for you (as long as they have not been reserved by someone else). If you have problems renewing your books, please contact us.

We do not impose a daily overdue charge if your book is late back, however, you will receive an email after your book is due to remind you to renew or return it.  After two further reminder emails, unless your PAT or PDA has informed us that you have mitigating circumstances which prevented you from returning the book on time, you will be invoiced for the replacement cost of the book. It is important to return books on time so that other students can access them too.

There is a useful video guide here.

Reserving books

Orkney College UHI students or staff may reserve a book that is already out on loan (as long as it is a book from our Library) by sending an email toOCLibrary@uhi.ac.uk and quoting the details of the book. Please note: reserved books will only be held for a limited number of days before going back into circulation. You will be sent an email when books are available for collection.

It is not currently possible to reserve books online.

Returning books

 

Book return box

If you no longer require a book please return it as soon as possible to make it available for other people to borrow. If you need the book longer you can usually renew it (if it is not reserved).

There is a Book Return Box located in the college reception, to your left as you enter the building.  All books will be quarantined on return for 72 hours before being placed back on the shelves. 

Books returned via our Postal Loans service will also be quarantined for 72 hours before being returned to the shelves.