LibGuides: Business, Management and Leisure: Sports

eBooks

Handbook of disability sport and exercise psychology by Jeffrey J. Martin
ISBN: 9780190638061

Publication Date: 2018

Jeffrey J. Martin's Handbook of Disability Sport and Exercise Psychology is one of the first comprehensive textbooks devoted to describing and analyzing the knowledge base in exercise and sport psychology involving individuals with disabilities. This book examines topics ranging from mental skills, barriers to exercise, gender, self-esteem, anxiety, and athletic identity, to work with Paralympians and Wounded Warriors.
Routledge Handbook of Strength and Conditioning by Anthony Turner
ISBN: 9781134879502

Publication Date: 2018

Drawing on the latest scientific research, this handbook introduces the essentials of sport-specific strength and conditioning programme design for over 30 different sports.
Sport 2. 0 by Andy Miah
ISBN: 9780262343114

Publication Date: 2017

Digital technology is changing everything about modern sports. Athletes and coaches rely on digital data to monitor and enhance performance.
Sport and exercise science by Joanne Thatcher
ISBN: 9781844458189

Publication Date: 2009

Sport and Exercise Science introduces students to the essentials of the major contributing disciplines - biomechanics, physiology, and psychology. It combines detailed exposition of each subject area with explicit advice on how to study effectively, research further and think critically.
Sport and Exercise Science by Dean Sewell; Philip Watkins; Murray Griffin; Dean A. Sewell
ISBN: 9781444144185

Publication Date: 2013

Sport and Exercise Science: An Introduction provides a broad-based foundation in the major areas that underpin the scientific study of sport and exercise science, thus helping undergraduate students to develop a sound understanding of human anatomy, physiology, nutrition, metabolism, biomechanics and psychology related to sport, exercise and health.

eCollections

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary resource of academic journals and popular magazine articles in broad range of subjects. Full text of articles from over 4,000 journals with summaries and abstracts from over 8,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers.NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
Occupational Health and Safety Information Services

Key health & safety documentation relevant to the workplace covering all Health and Safety issues, safety training, first-aid, electrical safety, manual handling and dangerous substances. Contains full-text documents and other resources including approved codes of practice, case law and selection of guides and presentations.
Science Direct eJournals and eBooks
Abstract and full-text journal articles with full text from 2001 plus over 8000 eBooks. Abstracts for some articles date as far back as 1823.

Videos, Images and External Websites

Scottish Disability Sport
The Scottish governing and co-coordinating body of all sports for people of all ages and abilities with a physical, sensory or learning disability
Scottish Student Sport
SSS delivers an enjoyable, appropriate and increasingly modern and professional sporting programme to students
Sport Scotland
sportscotland is the national agency for sport in Scotland