Providing a thorough examination of the threats posed to destinations by tourism, this comprehensive text discusses how popular and fragile destinations such as the Great Barrier Reef could become severely damaged and forced to close to tourists if current tourism trends continue. The consequences of tourism growth, predicted changes, and management and policy responses are reviewed.
The purpose of the first section of this book is therefore to introduce the concept of marine ecotourism and to draw out some of the key issues involved in ensuring that marine ecotourism is developed in a genuinely sustainable manner. The second section then discusses some practical experiences of planning and managing marine ecotourism from around the world, identifying common problems and discussing what might constitute good practice in addressing those problems.
Covering economic, marketing planning and regulation issues, this book considers the vital role of marine ecotourism in raising awareness of the significance of the seas and oceans to sustainable coastal livelihoods.At a time of great concern over the effects of climate change and high profile issues such as depletion of fish stocks and oil spillages, the insights this book provides are essential reading.
The maritime environment includes both the water resource of the terrestrial coast, and estuarine and coastal inshore waters. This book, for undergraduate students and those training in the field, relates the need to manage water-based leisure activities with the need to manage the maritime environment on which they depend.
This book demonstrates that through scientific approaches to understanding and managing tourist interactions with marine wildlife, sustainable marine tourism can be achieved. Drawing from disciplines such as marine and conservation biology and behavioural ecology, the effects of human disturbance on marine wildlife as well as management approaches to moderate these impacts are explored. Social science perspectives are also used to understand consumer demand and the ethical and legislative problems that this demand creates.
Providing an international perspective on consumer behaviour in tourism through the use of examples and case studies, this book looks at consumer behaviour in a number of sectors including: tour operation; tourist destinations; hospitality; visitor attractions; retail travel; and transport.
This text examines successful and unsuccessful tourism with regard to the marine environment. Providing an overview of the history and development of tourism centred around the marine environment, the author goes on to explore the characteristics of marine tourists and considers the roles of vendors of marine tourism activities and opportunities.
Provides full text for nearly 1,060 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk. Provides the following resource collections: Academic Search Complete; ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials; Business Source Elite, CINAHL Complete; Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text; EBSCO eBooks; Education Research Complete; GreenFile; Health Source : Nursing / Academic Edition; Medline; Philosopher's Index with Full Text; PsycArticles; PsycInfo; SocIndex with Full Text;. SportDiscus with Full Text. See under each individual collection for details.
Over 160,000 articles from more than 300 journals by end of 2017, this premium collection provides access to eJournal content dating from 1994 to the current day’. http://www.emeraldgrouppublishing.com/products/collections/pdf/ejournals_brochure.pdf This means we have access to all the journals in the collection. The journals cover the following subject areas: Public Policy & Environmental Management; Business, Management and Strategy; Tourism and Hospitality Management; Marketing; HR, Learning and Organization Studies; Operations, Logistics and Quality; Property Management and Built Environment; Information and Knowledge Management; Accounting, Finance and Economics; Health and Social Care; Education; Library Studies; Engineering.
Over 4,700 articles from academic and general-interest titles on aspects of human impact to the environment; also index and abstracts for more than 384,000 records. Subject Areas include : Global Warming; Green Technologies; Pollution; Renewable Energy; Sustainable Agriculture. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
Part of the Digimap Collection of on-line mapping. Marine maps to view onscreen or download for use in GIS. Two main datasets include Admiralty charts of UK waters available in a broad range of scales; hydrospatial maps of the UK marine and coastal zone environment in a range of topic layers including bathymetry & elevation and conservation. Subject area is Marine Science
For information on how to register to use this resource please see http://digimap.edina.ac.uk/webhelp/digimapsupport/access/registration.htm
The ICRT is a network of people who support the Cape Town Declaration through their work and it has a number of sister organisations, affiliate centre. The ICRT’s structure is best understood as a network with a hub in the UK and nodes in a number of countries and regions