LibGuides: Business, Management and Leisure: Adventure Studies

e-books

Controversial Issues in Adventure Programming by Bruce Martin
ISBN: 9781450432832

Publication Date: 2012

Controversial Issues in Adventure Programming encourages readers to reassess some of the underlying assumptions on which adventure programming is based; critically examine the implications of new developments for emerging practice; and discuss how best to position the field of adventure programming in addressing broader social, cultural, political, economic, technological, and environmental changes in society.
Dead Reckoning: Learning from Accidents in the Outdoors by Emma Walker
ISBN: 9781493052790

Publication Date: 2021

It's easier to stay alive if you know what's out there. That's the philosophy behind Dead Reckoning, an honest, unflinching, sometimes-thrilling collection of close calls and catastrophes in the Great Outdoors. Emma Walker's narrative nonfiction covers outdoor activities ranging from hiking to sea kayaking to backcountry skiing, all in accessible, easy-to-understand terms.
Learning Outside the Classroom by Simon Beames; Robbie Nicol; Pete Higgins
ISBN: 9780415893619

Publication Date: 2011

Learning Outside the Classroom outlines theory and practice that will enable and encourage teachers to systematically and progressively incorporate meaningful outdoor learning opportunities into their daily teaching activities in a wide variety of environments and with diverse populations of pupils. This is the first textbook based around the curriculum for prospective and practising primary and secondary teachers and other outdoor educators. The principles and examples presented are intended to be adapted by teachers to suit the needs of their students in ways that draw upon content offered by the local landscape and its natural and built heritage. Although the focus of this book is 'the real world' beyond the classroom, it is also about good teaching -- wherever it takes place.
Learning with Nature by Marina Robb; Victoria Mew; Anna Richardson
ISBN: 9780857842404

Publication Date: 2015

Learning with Nature is full of fun activities from the Forest School. The games will get your children outdoors to explore, have fun, make things and learn about nature and help them grow up happy and healthy.
Research Methods in Outdoor Studies by Barbara Humberstone (Editor); Heather Prince (Editor)
ISBN: 9780429583520

Publication Date: 2019

Over the last two decades Outdoor Studies has emerged as an innovative and vibrant field of study. This is the first book to offer a comprehensive appraisal of established and cutting-edge research methods as applied to Outdoor Studies.

Online collections

Digimap : All Collections
For information on how to register (for the first time) to use this resource please see here.

Agreeing to the licence : Upon logging in, the first time you wish to access a specific collection, you will need to accept its sub-license agreement, which tells you what you can and can't do with the data.

Includes the following collections: Aerial ; agCensus; Geology ; Global ; Historic ; Improvement Service ; Lidar ; Marine ; Ordnance Survey ; Pilot ; Society ; Verisk.
EBSCO Host Databases
All EBSCO Host Databases have switched to a new user interface. For more information, please see our EBSCOhost Video guide. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk. Provides the following resource collections: Academic Search Complete; ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials; Business Source Premier; CINAHL Ultimate; Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text; EBSCO eBooks; Education Research Complete; Exploring Race in Society; European Views of the Americas; 1493-1750; GreenFile; Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts; Medline with Full Text; Open Dissertations; Philosopher's Index with Full Text; PsycArticles; PsycInfo; SocIndex with Full Text; SportDiscus with Full Text. See under each individual collection for details.
Science Direct eJournals and eBooks
Abstract and full-text journal articles with full text from 2001 plus over 8000 eBooks. Abstracts for some articles date as far back as 1823.

Videos, Images and External Websites

Institute for Outdoor Learning
The Institute for Outdoor Learning supports individuals and organisations who use the outdoors to make a difference for others
News Now - Outdoor Activities
The latest news on Outdoor Activities
Outdoor Access Code
From Scottish Natural Heritage
British Canoeing - Code
The magazine of British Canoeing