LibGuides: Business, Management and Leisure: Golf

e-books

Exercises for Elite Golf Performance by Kelly Blackburn
ISBN: 9780585228204

Publication Date: 1999

It's not a secret that the most vital piece of golf equipment is the human body, yet most golfers believe the best ways to lower scores are big-head drivers, premium golf spikes, and other top-of-the-line tools. It's better physical conditioning that allows the pros to hit drives farther than ever, play 72-hole tournaments nearly every week, and rehabilitate even career-threatening injuries.
Focused for Golf by Wayne Glad; Chip Beck
ISBN: 9780585270418

Publication Date: 1999

Playing good golf requires more than physical skills- it demands positive and strategic thinking. PGA golfer Chip Beck knows better than most the mental challenges of the game. As a former Ryder Cup player and one of the few players ever to shoot a 59 in a tour event (as he did in the 1991 Las Vegas Invitational) Beck has experienced what it's like to be completely in the groove and confident.
Golf and wind: the physics of playing golf in wind by Shantanu Malik
ISBN: 9789811597206

Publication Date: 2021

This book simulates the complete trajectories (flight and subsequent ground run) of golf shots using the aerodynamic and material properties of golf balls, and establish the significance of wind's impact on gameplay. It also presents insight into how physical parameters like launch conditions (speed, angle and spin-rate) and wind conditions affect the trajectory of a golf ball.
Golf Science by Mark F. Smith
ISBN: 9781782407096

Publication Date: 2018

In Golf Science, sports science expert Mark F. Smith investigates the cutting-edge scientific wonders that take the ball from tee to hole. Each chapter explores a different facet of the game--mind and body, the swing, the equipment, the environment, coaching with technology, the practice process, and the score--and is organized around a series of questions.
The Science of Golf Putting by Gonçalo Dias; Micael S. Couceiro
ISBN: 9783319148809

Publication Date: 2015

This title explores the motor performance and biomechanics of golf putting, providing methodologies, studies and approaches to this concept.

Online Collections

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary resource of academic journals and popular magazine articles in broad range of subjects. Full text of articles from over 4,000 journals with summaries and abstracts from over 8,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers.NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
Emerald eJournals Collections
The collections included are : Accounting, Finance & Ecnomics ; Business, Management & Strategy ; Education ; Health & Social Care ; HR, Learning & Organization Studies ; Information & Knowledge ; Marketing ; Operations, Logistics & Quality ; Public Policy & Environmental Management ; Tourism & Hospitality Management.
Science Direct eJournals and eBooks
Abstract and full-text journal articles with full text from 2001 plus over 8000 eBooks. Abstracts for some articles date as far back as 1823.

Videos, Images and External Websites

Golf Foundation
The Golf Foundation is a charity committed to helping young people enjoy the benefits of golf
News Now - Golf
The latest news from the golfing world
The Professional Golfers' Association
The PGA actively promotes the important contribution the PGA Professional makes to the growth and development of the game of golf around the world
The Royal & Ancient
The R&A organises The Open, golf’s oldest and most international major championship, along with a number of other amateur and junior events, some of which are sanctioned by other golfing bodies
Scottish Golf
Scottish Golf is the governing body for the sport of golf in Scotland