LibGuides: Applied Life Studies: MA Health and Wellbeing

Further information

As well as the resources listed below, further information can be found on the Libguides on UHI's Highland Health Sciences Library and Western Isles campus sites.

eBooks

Assessing Evidence to Improve Population Health and Wellbeing by Carmen Aceijas (Editor)
ISBN: 9780857253897

Publication Date: 2011-07-01

Written to support practitioners undertaking a Masters in public health, this book considers the main concepts, issues and methodologies of the second core competence of the Public Health Skills and Career Framework: 'Assessment of evidence of the effectiveness of interventions, programmes and services to improve population health and wellbeing'. Coverage includes the theoretical definition of evidence and its use in public health, the role of critical appraisal methods and tools in evidence assessment and how Effectiveness, Efficiency and Quality inform evidence. The book is packed with case studies and activities to help link theory and practice and prompt personal reflection.
Gendering Women by Suzanne Clisby; Julia Holdsworth
ISBN: 9781847426772

Publication Date: 2014-10-15

Engaging and accessible, Gendering Women explores the constructions of femininity and how they fundamentally affect women's mental well being through the lifecourse. Drawing on accounts from women of growing up and growing older in the north of England, the book shows how experiences of becoming and being a woman--in family life, education, employment, motherhood, and in the presence of violence--both enable and erode self-confidence and self-esteem. The volume draws a critical link between contemporary gender theory and the lived experiences of women today and will appeal to students and scholars in sociology and the broader social sciences.
Inclusive Society: Health and Wellbeing in the Community, and Care at Home by Jit Biswas (Editor); Hisato Kobayashi (Editor)
ISBN: 9783642394706

Publication Date: 2013-06-13

This book constitutes the refereed proceedings of the 11th International Conference on Smart Homes and Health Telematics, ICOST 2013, held in Singapore, in June 2013. The 22 revised full papers presented together with one invited paper and 19 short papers were carefully reviewed and selected from 53 submissions. The papers are organized in topical sections on Supportive Technology for Ageing and People with Cognitive Impairment; Activity Recognition and Algorithmic Techniques; Trust, Security and Social Issues; Assistive Robotics and HCI Issues; Supporting Safety and Pervasive Healthcare; Home Energy Usage, Reasoning Framework, Services; Algorithms for Smart Homes; Eldercare - Activity Recognition and Fall Detection; Healthcare and Rehabilitation; Robotics and Assistive Living.
International Handbook of Education for Spirituality, Care and Wellbeing by Marian De Sousa
ISBN: 9781402090189

Publication Date: 2009-01-01

Acknowledging and understanding spiritual formation is vital in contemporary education. This book explores the dynamic relationship between education and wellbeing. It examines the theory underpinning the practice of education in different societies where spirituality and care are believed to be at the heart of all educational experiences. The book recognizes that, regardless of the context or type of educational experience, education is a caring activity in which the development of the whole person - body, mind and spirit - is a central aim for teachers and educators in both formal and informal learning. The chapters in this handbook present and discuss topics that focus on spirituality as an integral part of human experience and, consequently, essential to educational programs which aim to address personal and communal identity, foster resilience, empathy and compassion, and promote meaning and connectedness.
Music, Health and Wellbeing by Raymond MacDonald; Gunter Kreutz; Laura Mitchell
ISBN: 9780199586974

Publication Date: 2012-03-24

The great saxophonist Charlie Parker once proclaimed "if you don't live it, it won't come out of your horn". This quote has often been used to explain the hedonistic lifestyle of many jazz greats; however, but it also signals the reciprocal and inextricable relationship between music and widersocial, cultural and psychological variables. This link is complex and multifaceted and is undoubtedly a central component of why music has been implicated as a therapeutic agent in vast swathes of contemporary research studies. Music is always about more than just acoustic events or notes on apage. Music has a universal and timeless potential to influence how we feel. Yet, only recently, have researchers begun to explore and understand the positive effects that music can have on our wellbeing - across a range of cultures and musical genres.This book brings together research from music psychology, therapy, public health, and medicine, to explore the relationship between music, health and wellbeing. It presents a range of chapters from internationally recognised experts, resulting in a comprehensive, multidisciplinary, and pluralisticaccount of recent advances and applications in both clinical and non-clinical practice and research. Some of the questions explored include: what is the nature of the scientific evidence to support the relationship between music, health and wellbeing? What are the current views from different disciplines on empirical observations and methodological issues concerning the effects of musicalinterventions on health-related processes? What are the mechanisms which drive these effects and how can they be utilised for building robust theoretical frameworks for future work? For the first time, research from disciplines including neuroscience of music, music therapy, psychophysiology and epidemiology of music, community music and music education is synthesised and presented together to further our understanding of music and health in one single volume, ensuring thatclosely related strands of research in different disciplines are brought together into a authoritative, comprehensive and robust collection of chapters. This book is a timely and unique response to an explosion of interest in the relationship between music, health, and wellbeing and will be invaluable resources for students, administrators and researchers in the humanities, social and medical sciences alike.
Policy and Strategy for Improving Health and Wellbeing by Elizabeth Porter (Editor); Lesley Coles (Editor)
ISBN: 9780857250070

Publication Date: 2011-06-02

As health policy at a national level has ever increasing impact on local health services, it is essential that public health students understand how the development and implementation of policy and strategy provide the framework for improving quality, innovation, productivity and prevention in the delivery of healthcare. The book is divided into two sections, with section one covering a strategic overview of national policies, and section two giving specific local implementation of policy examples to support section one. Case studies and examples will help the reader to understand the policy and strategy and to apply them to their local setting.
Psychology, Law, and the Wellbeing of Children by Monica K. Miller (Editor); Jared Chamberlain (Editor); Twila Wingrove (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199934218

Publication Date: 2014-01-15

Lawmakers and judges often enact and enforce laws and policies that impact youth. The extent to which these legal actions are sensitive to juveniles' perspectives and experiences has changed recently. Compared to an earlier time when juveniles were treated the same as adults, many policies arenow created with the needs of juveniles in mind, thanks in part to psychological studies that have revealed that the decision making, behavior, and cognitions of children vary drastically from those of adults. Unique in its angle and in the breadth of social issues it covers, Psychology, Law, and the Wellbeing of Children brings together new research and analyses to address how legal actions affect children's wellbeing. It addresses how civil and criminal law has evolved to protect, and sometimesinadvertently neglect or harm, the wellbeing and development of children. Each chapter describes a law or policy affecting children, identifies the relevant psychological issues, reviews the research that has been conducted or should be conducted, and provides recommendations for professionals inlaw and/or psychology. With contributions from top researchers and practitioners in the field, chapters discuss many current debates, including issues such as gender-specific programming for juvenile delinquents, interrogations of juveniles, changes in divorce and custody procedures, programs for imprisoned mothers, andlegal actions adopted to protect the health of children and sociecty (e.g., HPV vaccinations, considering child obesity to be abuse). This book will be a vital resource for those interested in protecting the wellbeing of children, including academics and researchers in psychology, criminology, andsociology; practitioners such as judges, attorneys, forensic psychologists, psychiatrists, and social workers; and graduate and law students.
Quality of Life and the Millennium Challenge by Valerie Møller; Denis Huschka (Editor); Valerie Møller (Editor)
ISBN: 9781402085697

Publication Date: 2008-11-30

The new millennium is widely considered to be the age of globalisation, democratisation, and human rights. We live in a knowledge society and in a time of risk and uncertainty. World society is rapidly urbanising and ageing and exhausting its natural resources. It is the interplay of such key trends of the era that calls for a fresh approach to measuring quality of life. This collection of papers presents an innovative approach to evaluating living standards and wellbeing under the new circumstances facing individuals and societies in twenty-first century. Contributions cover a wide range of issues that impact positively and negatively on wellbeing in our age. While stability, trust, equal access to resources and the social integration of disadvantaged members of society enhance well-being, poverty, social exclusion, congestion in cities, HIV/AIDS and global warming pose threats to both modern and traditional lifestyles. Methodological refinements of conventional measurement tools are presented that take into consideration the rich diversity of lifestyles and values among different populations and regions of the world. This book will be essential reading for social scientists and ordinary citizens who are concerned about the future of human well-being on our planet.
Partnership Working in Public Health by David J. Hunter; Neil Perkins
ISBN: 9781447301325

Publication Date: 2014-02-15

The United Kingdom’s reforms of the National Health Service and public health system now require a strong focus on partnerships, a move that has largely been met with praise. But a growing body of evidence shows that such partnerships are in fact very difficult to achieve and make effective. This book draws on a detailed study of recent public health partnerships in England--most of which have been made under the new Health and Wellbeing Boards--to assess their effectiveness. Ultimately, the authors argue that the current forms of partnership must be drastically rethought if they are going to succeed.

eCollections

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary resource of academic journals and popular magazine articles in broad range of subjects. Full text of articles from over 4,000 journals with summaries and abstracts from over 8,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers.NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
PsycArticles
Full-text professional and academic articles from over 100 journals in psychology and related disciplines published by APA, Hogrefe Publishing Group, the Canadian Psychological Association and APA's Educational Publishing Foundation. Includes medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and communications. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Comprehensive abstract and full-text sociology research resource encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Provides full-text access to over 500 active journal titles, over 1000 books, and almost 14,000 conference papers. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
Taylor and Francis eJournals
Over 2000 full text journals covering a variety of subjects. Subject areas include: Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences, Technology, addictions, medical education, mental health and urology.And the journals include peer reviewed medical and pharmaceutical research journals. The University has full text access to Taylor and Francis journals as far back as 1997. The original date of publication of the article is listed below the title of the journal, on the top left of the computer screen. The date published online is listed in the middle of the screen under the article title. If you are unsure whether the University should have access to the journal article please refer to the information under the title of the journal on the top left of the screen.
Web of Science
Collection of authoritative Science, Engineering and Technology and Arts and Humanities citation indexes, covering over 250 disciplines. Includes a selection of interactive data analysis tools . Also includes Medline. Useful for literature reviews.

Videos, Images and External Websites

Legislation.gov.uk

Government website which gives the text of UK legislation from 1988 onwards along with post-devolution Scottish legislation. Subject Areas : Law; Politics.
Office for National Statistics

Collects, analyses and disseminates statistics about the UK's economy, society and population.

A series of tables providing detailed information down to the most local geographic level - the Output Area. The full set is composed of CAS tables, CAS Theme Tables with information on a particular population such as dependent children or pensioner households, and Univariate tables which provide a more detailed breakdown for a single topic.
They are available for a range of geographies - England and Wales, Government Office Regions, local authority districts, unitary authorities, counties, wards, parishes, Output Areas, health areas, Parliamentary Constituencies, postal areas, and urban areas.
Social Care Institute for Excellence

Organisation promoting good practice among practitioners, managers and sector leaders who have responsibility for service delivery in adults’ and children’s services. Contains a broad range of resources and publications, including news updates, guides, briefings and reports to support the delivery of social care services and workforce development. Subject Areas : Social Care; Social Conditions; Social Problems; Social Work.