This collection is an engaging exploration of how Bourdieu's key concepts - field, habitus and capital - help us re-think the status of childhood. The authors are committed to improving the social status and well-being of childhood in social, economic and political worlds that too often fail to accord children respect for their human rights.
This volume explores how children's rights has influenced research with children and how research can in turn shape policies and practices to enhance children's rights. The book examines the impact children's rights and Childhood Studies has had on how children are constructed and regulated internationally.
Today's children face a multitude of pressures, from the everyday challenges of life to the increasing threats of poverty, exploitation, and trauma. Central to growing up successfully is learning to deal with stress, endure hardships, and thrive despite adversity. Resilience - the ability to cope with and overcome life's difficulties - is a quality that can potentially be nurtured in all young people. The second edition of the Handbook of Resilience in Children updates and expands on its original focus of resilience in children who overcome adversity to include its development in those not considered at risk, leading to better outcomes for all children across the lifespan. Expert contributors examine resilience in relation to environmental stressors, as a phenomenon in child and adolescent disorders, and as a means toward positive adaptation into adulthood. New and revised chapters explore strategies for developing resilience in the family, the therapist's office, and the school as well as its nurturance in caregivers and teachers. Topics addressed include: Resilience in maltreated children and adults. Resilience and self-control impairment. Relational resilience in young and adolescent girls. Asset-building as an essential component of treatment. Assessment of social and emotional competencies related to resilience. Building resilience through school bullying prevention programs. Large-scale longitudinal studies on resilience. The second edition of the Handbook of Resilience in Children is a must-have reference for researchers, clinicians, allied practitioners and professionals, and graduate students in school and clinical psychology, education, pediatrics, psychiatry, social work, school counseling, and public health.
This book presents the first comprehensive analysis of the second International Self-Report Delinquency study (ISRD-2). An earlier volume, Juvenile Delinquency in Europe and Beyond (Springer, 2010) focused mainly on the findings with regard to delinquency, victimization and substance use in each of the individual participating ISRD-2 countries. The Many Faces of Youth Crime is based on analysis of the merged data set and has a number of unique features: The analyses are based on an unusually large number of respondents (about 67,000 7th, 8th and 9th graders) collected by researchers from 31 countries; It includes reports on the characteristics, experiences and behaviour of first and second generation migrant youth from a variety of cultures; It is one of the first large-scale international studies asking 12-16 year olds about their victimization experiences (bullying, assault, robbery, theft); It describes both intriguing differences between young people from different countries and country clusters in the nature and extent of delinquency, victimization and substance use, as well as remarkable cross-national uniformities in delinquency, victimization, and substance use patterns; A careful comparative analysis of the social responses to offending and victimization adds to our limited knowledge on this important issue; Detailed chapters on the family, school, neighbourhood, lifestyle and peers provide a rich comparative description of these institutions and their impact on delinquency; It tests a number of theoretical perspectives (social control, self-control, social disorganization, routine activities/opportunity theory) on a large international sample from a variety of national contexts; It combines a theoretical focus with a thoughtful consideration of the policy implications of the findings; An extensive discussion of the ISRD methodology of 'flexible standardization' details the challenges of comparative research.The book consists of 12 chapters, which also may be read individually by those interested in particular special topics (for instance, the last chapter should be of special interest to policy makers). The material is presented in such a way that it is accessible to more advanced students, researchers and scholars in a variety of fields, such as criminology, sociology, deviance, social work, comparative methodology, youth studies, substance use studies, and victimology.
Resilience in Children, Adolescents, and Adults: Translating Research into Practice recognizes the growing need to strengthen the links between theory, assessment, interventions, and outcomes to give resilience a stronger empirical base, resulting in more effective interventions and strength-enhancing practice. This comprehensive volume clarifies core constructs of resilience and links these definitions to effective assessment. Leading researchers and clinicians examine effective scales, questionnaires, and other evaluative tools as well as instructive studies on cultural considerations in resilience, resilience in the context of disaster, and age-appropriate interventions. Key coverage addresses diverse approaches and applications in multiple areas across the lifespan. Among the subject areas covered are: - Perceived self-efficacy and its relationship to resilience. - Resilience and mental health promotion in the schools. - Resilience in childhood disorders. - Critical resources for recovering from stress. - Diversity, ecological, and lifespan issues in resilience. - Exploring resilience through the lens of core self-evaluation. Resilience in Children, Adolescents, and Adults is an important resource for researchers, clinicians and allied professionals, and graduate students in such fields as clinical child, school, and developmental psychology, child and adolescent psychiatry, education, counseling psychology, social work, and pediatrics.
This book explores the relationship between children and citizenship, analyzing international perspectives on citizenship and human rights and developing new methods for facilitating the recognition of children as participating agents within society.
Drawing on children's narratives about their everyday life this book explores how children come to understand the process of socialization at home, at school and in the neighbourhood as an embodied and biographical experience.
This book explores the impact of globalisation and new technologies on youth cultures around the world, from the Birmingham School to the youthscapes of South Korea. In a timely reappraisal of youth cultures in contemporary times, this collection profiles the best of new research in youth studies written by leading scholars in the field.
BSI British Standards is the National Standards Body of the UK responsible for the development and publication of technical standards and standardisation of products and services. BSI online provides access to the full-text of over 20,000 BSI publications including standards, specifications, interpretive guides and codes of practice.
These current Ordnance Survey Maps can tell you the names of buildings, private and commercial, including health care facilities, schools, chemical plants. Available to view online or download for use in GIS or CAD software.
For information on how to register to register to use this resource please see http://digimap.edina.ac.uk/webhelp/digimapsupport/access/registration.htm
NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk. Provides the following resource collections: Academic Search Complete; ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials; Business Source Elite, CINAHL Complete; Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text; EBSCO eBooks; Education Research Complete; GreenFile; Health Source : Nursing / Academic Edition; Medline; Philosopher's Index with Full Text; PsycArticles; PsycInfo; SocIndex with Full Text;. SportDiscus with Full Text. See under each individual collection for details.
Over 160,000 articles from more than 300 journals by end of 2017, this premium collection provides access to eJournal content dating from 1994 to the current day’. http://www.emeraldgrouppublishing.com/products/collections/pdf/ejournals_brochure.pdf This means we have access to all the journals in the collection. The journals cover the following subject areas: Public Policy & Environmental Management; Business, Management and Strategy; Tourism and Hospitality Management; Marketing; HR, Learning and Organization Studies; Operations, Logistics and Quality; Property Management and Built Environment; Information and Knowledge Management; Accounting, Finance and Economics; Health and Social Care; Education; Library Studies; Engineering.
Collection of authoritative Science, Engineering and Technology and Arts and Humanities citation indexes, covering over 250 disciplines. Includes article abstracts and includes a selection of interactive data analysis tools . Also includes Medline.
There has been an explosion of day care in the last three decades. But what are the effects on children’s long term development? Starting from a child care centre, this program explores these questions with case studies, documentary sources and expert analysis from Jay Belsky and Julia Berryman. This is a video. You will be required to login wht your user name and password before you can see the contrent.
This resource is for anybody working with children and young people. The website provides practical information and techniques on how to respond helpfully to children and young people's troubling behaviour, build up their self-esteem and promote their positive mental wellbeing.
The website was commissioned by the Scottish government through HeadsUpScotland and was developed by Playfield Institute (NHS Fife) in partnership with Barnardo's and the University of Dundee. It was developed with teachers in mind.
A series of tables providing detailed information down to the most local geographic level - the Output Area. The full set is composed of CAS tables, CAS Theme Tables with information on a particular population such as dependent children or pensioner households, and Univariate tables which provide a more detailed breakdown for a single topic.
They are available for a range of geographies - England and Wales, Government Office Regions, local authority districts, unitary authorities, counties, wards, parishes, Output Areas, health areas, Parliamentary Constituencies, postal areas, and urban areas.
Collection of digital learning resources including 360,000 images, movies and sounds from museums, galleries, archives and the media. It includes photographs taken of poverty, welfare, happiness in Scotland over the past 100 years.