Applied Life Studies

This textbook covers all aspects of materials science relevant to the practice of dentistry. It is aimed primarily at undergraduate dental students, although it will also be useful for practising dentists, dental technicians and dental assistants. The 9th edition has been extensively revised to include the many advances in dental materials and their use that have occurred during the past nine years. The chapters on Resin-based filling materials and Adhesive restorative materials have been expanded significantly with new coverage of fibre reinforcement of composite structures and polymerisable luting agents. A brand new chapter has been added on endodontic materials.

The "Basic Guide to Anatomy and Physiology for Dental Care Professionals" introduces the fundamentals of human anatomy and physiology to the student Dental Care Professional. Written in a clear, accessible style, it provides dental nurses, hygienists, therapists and clinical dental technicians with essential grounding in the head and neck area, as well as all the body systems that have implications for the DCP when things go wrong. Beginning with a definition of anatomy and physiology, and with all the basics of cell, tissue and organ biology, this Basic Guide covers: the cardiovascular, respiratory and digestive systems, all of which are central to the DCP curriculum core areas such as skull and oral anatomy, periodontal tissues, blood and nerve supply to the oral cavity, muscles of mastication, and major salivary glands areas such as jaw and tooth development, and the histology or oral and dental tissue Each area is covered separately and in depth, giving the reader an understanding of their structure and function in health as well as illnesses relevant to medical emergencies and dental-related disorders (such as acid reflux which causes tooth erosion).

Basics of Dental Technology is a major new resource for trainee dental technicians and undergraduate dental students that provides a clear, comprehensive and easy-to-use companion to study and practice. Employing a task-based approach, the book offers illustrated, step-by-step guidance to the current techniques and materials used in dental technology. As well as providing thorough instruction in core competencies such as impression handling, model production, tray construction, articulators and facebows, the book introduces the reader to the basics of more specific and/or specialist areas of practice, such as complete and partial denture prosthetics, fixed prosthodontics, orthodontic work, occlusion and implants. The book also provides an excellent ready reference to instruments, equipment and key terms as well as advice on establishing effective communication within the dental team and study tips. Key features: Easy to use, task-based approach Detailed pictures illustrate each task step-by-step Comprehensive coverage of core competencies in dental technology, as well as introductions to more specialist areas of practice Useful ready reference to instruments, equipment and key terms Features study tips

A new textbook on the practical use of dental materials suitable for undergraduate dental students and qualified dental practitioners taking post-graduate exams in dental materials, restorative dentistry, operative techniques, advanced conservative dentistry, endodontics, removable prosthodontics and implantology.Highly practical and evidenced-based throughout - closing the gap between theory and practice to give readers confidence in selecting and preparing the right material for the patient and circumstance Amply illustrated in full colour with over 1000 photographs, artworks and tables to clearly demonstrate both materials and techniques Helps readers appreciate the important relationship between clinical manipulation and the practical use of dental materials Describes how to properly select a given material for any situation, how to use materials to best effect and when and how not to use them Good practice and Warning boxes help readers recall important information Uniquely written by a practising dentist with academic experience and an academic in biomaterials with extensive clinical experience Self-assessment questions with full answers helps readers consolidate learning and prepare for exams Designed to improve clinical success and improve patient outcomes Perfect for all undergraduate and postgraduate students studying dental material science and/or restorative dentistry "

This book gives an introduction to the mechanical behavior and degradation of dental ceramics and guides the reader through their performance under effect of oral environments. It addresses the different kinds of dental ceramics, their properties, degradation and mechanical aspects with less emphasys on the physics and chemistry involved, which makes the reading interesting for beginners in the field. In each chapter, the reader will learn about the mechanical behavior of dental ceramics and each phenomenon involved in their application, besides finding some practical examples of their use in dental clinics, their manufacturing procedures and types of degradation. The clear language and the application-oriented perspective of the book makes it suitable for both professionals and students who want to learn about dental ceramics.

The main purpose of this book is to provide clear, straightforward information about the key requirements relating to health and safety in dental practices, with a practical and user-friendly approach to help manage these issues on a day-to-day basis. It assists practice managers, dentists, dental nurses and other team members in making health and safety 'second nature' by integrating it into their usual routine - thereby preventing accidents, addressing unacceptable working practices, and maintaining professional standards in order to ensure, so far as is reasonable, the protection of employees and patients. The book offers comprehensive coverage of all major topics, from the handling of hazardous substances to the management of medical emergencies. Each chapter includes: A tab for ease of reference A bulleted list outlining the scope of the chapter A list of figures An introduction to the subject and its relevance to the dental practice A list of key legislation relating to the subject The subject content broken down into sub-headings A summary to help reflection and recollection An action check list to measure against existing working practices frequently asked questions to assist in practical application Each topic is covered with specific reference to dental practice needs, with all the necessary detail but no excessive technicality. Ultimately, this book shows how a healthy and safe workplace is eminently achievable.