Chronic alcohol use is associated with heart, liver, brain, and other organ pathology. Alcohol is a drug of abuse and a caloric food and it causes poor intake and absorption of nutrients, thus playing a major role in many aspects of clinical consequences. Alcohol use lowers consumption of fruit and vegetables, lowers tissue nutrients, and, in some cases, requires nutritional therapy by clinicians."Alcohol, Nutrition, and Health Consequences"will help the clinician define the causes and types of nutritional changes due to alcohol use and also explain how nutrition can be used to ameliorate its consequences. Chapters present the application of current nutritional knowledge by physicians and dietitians. Specific areas involving alcohol-related damage due to nutritional changes are reviewed, including heart disease, obesity, digestive tract cancers, lactation, brain function, and liver disease. In addition, alcohol s effects on absorption of minerals and nutrients, a key role in causing damage are treated. The importance of diet in modifying alcohol and its metabolite damage is also explained. "Alcohol, Nutrition, and Health Consequences"is essential reading for alcohol therapists and researchers as well as primary care physicians and dietitians and is an easy reference to help the clinician, student, and dietitian comprehend the complex changes caused by direct and indirect effects of ethanol at the cellular level via its nutritional modification. "
Showcases the work in critical reflection across disciplines in health and social care and analyzes the related literature. This book reflects the transformative potential of critical reflection and provides practitioners, students, educators and researchers with concepts and methods to improve practice through effective critical reflection.
In this 3rd edition of the definitive work on health demography, Pol and Thomas offer an updated view of the field and a current perspective on the applications of health demography to contemporary issues. The significance of health demography within the field of population studies has continued to increase and this work provides background on the healthcare arena and systematically presents the various aspects of demography as they relate to healthcare. This addition has been streamlined to focus on the important aspects of health demography and enhanced through the addition of charts, maps and other graphics. All statistics and tables have been updated and the most current references are included. A separate chapter on morbidity has been included and the final chapter focuses on the public policy interface with health demography. Case studies and sidebars are included throughout the book to illustrate the applications of demography within the healthcare arena. Recent developments in U.S. healthcare are highlighted to give the text a very contemporary presence.
This bestselling book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in health and social care. It is vital reading for all those undertaking their undergraduate or postgraduate dissertation or any research module which involves a literature review.
Taking into account the changing nature and context of partnerships, this book explores a partnership approach in respect of child protection, mental health, older people, substance misuse, gypsy travellers, domestic violence, children with behavioural problems, housing need, mentally disordered offenders, HIV/AIDS and drug using parents.
For the majority of people who have a range of support needs it is immaterial whether the response to their needs is organised by the health sector or the social care sector. Yet history has created an organisational split between health and social care services. For many with a range of needs this is likely to create artificial boundaries and complexities. At the individual level this may lead to fragmentation or duplication of support provision; at the planning level it can result in provision which is less than 'seamless'.Recent years have witnessed accelerating demands from Governments throughout the United Kingdom for closer working between health and social care agencies. Partnership working across health and social care is one of the areas where the most distinctive differences have emerged between Scotland and the rest of the United Kingdom and this divergence provides the focus for this volume.
The Third Edition of this bestselling title is packed full of real-world advice for researchers and students. It is an invaluable introduction to the theoretical and practical essentials needed to design, conduct and appraise qualitative research in health. The book highlights core research skills, taking the reader through the key debates in qualitative methodology. It sets out a logical, easy-to-follow path supported by practical examples ensuring you will find it engaging and relevant. Updates for the new edition include: - a new chapter on effectively combining methods - new material on the practical aspects of securing access to participants, using online data and on selecting an approach for analysis - improved material on reading and appraising literature with detailed exploration of systematic reviews and synthesis - expanded chapters on analysing data, with practical suggestions for moving from descriptive to analytical approaches - an effective mix of classic and contemporary case studies from across health research - expanded summaries, key points and reflective questions designed to help students apply theory to their own research. Clear, thorough and articulate, this is an authoritative introduction to qualitative research for all health professionals and students. Visit the accompanying companion website for additional resources. Judith Green is a Professor in Sociology of Health at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. Nicki Thorogood is a Senior Lecturer in Sociology at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. nbsp; nbsp;
Ross and Wilson has been the number one choice for over a million students since it first published, over 50 years ago. One of the world's most popular textbooks of anatomy and physiology, it introduces the structure and functions of the human body and the effects of disease or illness on normal body function. More than any other text Ross and Wilson uses easy-to-understand, straightforward language, enhanced by colour illustrations and a huge range of interactive online activities, to make learning more visual and engaging. Ross and Wilson is essential reading for anyone embarking on a career as a healthcare professional, especially in the nursing and allied health professions, complementary / alternative medicine or as paramedics and ambulance technicians. "There are new sections on the implications of normal ageing on the structure and function of the body systems. The glossary has been expanded, as have the online access, learning outcomes and normal values tables. This book is excellent value for money." Reviewed by: Nursing Standard Date: Aug 2014 Carefully refined, clear and unambiguous text which omits the unnecessary detail that can confuse the student new to the subject Highly illustrated with clear colour diagrams and photographs Regular sequences of headings, lists and bullet points help with learning and revision Learning outcomes related to the sections within each chapter Common prefixes, suffixes and roots commonly used in anatomy and physiology Appendix containing useful biological values for easy reference Access to additional electronic resources, including high-quality animations, colouring exercises, case studies, self-testing questions, an audio pronunciation guide and weblinks An accompanying Colouring and workbook that facilitates structured learning and revision of the material in this book. Fully revised and updated text, with a focus on the most commonly occurring disorders New sections on the implications of normal ageing on the structure and function of the body systems to reinforce the core material and reflect today's ageing population A new, easy-to-use colouring feature has been added to the extensive and varied selection of highly popular web-based online revision activities Additional coloured electron micrographs and photographs, as well as updated illustrations Extended glossary for fast, convenient and concise reference to important terminology.
An engaging, practical and multidisciplinary textbook for students and practitioners, this text provides comprehensive coverage of the skills and knowledge needed to work with people with learning disabilities in a variety of settings.
Current Ordnance Survey maps and map data of the U.K. Available to view online or download for use in GIS or CAD software. Includes the following collections: Aerial ; agCensus; Geology ; Global ; Historic ; Improvement Service ; Lidar ; Marine ; Ordnance Survey ; Pilot ; Society ; Verisk
NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk. Provides the following resource collections: Academic Search Complete; ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials; Business Source Elite, CINAHL Complete; Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text; EBSCO eBooks; Education Research Complete; GreenFile; Medline; Medline with Full Text ; Philosopher's Index with Full Text; PsycArticles; PsycInfo; SocIndex with Full Text;. SportDiscus with Full Text. See under each individual collection for details.
Over 2000 full text journals covering a variety of subjects. Subject areas include: Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences, Technology. Includes journals formerly part of Informa Healthcare - peer revied medical and pharmaceutical research journals. Subject Areas include: addictions, medical education, mental health and urology. The University has full text access to Taylor and Francis journals as far back as 1997. The original date of publication of the article is listed below the title of the journal, on the top left of the computer screen. The date published online is listed in the middle of the screen under the article title. If you are unsure whether the University should have access to the journal article please refer to the information under the title of the journal on the top left of the screen.
The University has full text access to Taylor and Francis journals as far back as 1997. The original date of publication of the article is listed below the title of the journal, on the top left of the computer screen. The date published online is listed in the middle of the screen under the article title. If you are unsure whether the University should have access to the journal article please refer to the information under the title of the journal on the top left of the screen.
Collection of authoritative Science, Engineering and Technology and Arts and Humanities citation indexes with abstracts, covering over 250 disciplines. Includes a selection of interactive data analysis tools . Also includes Medline.
A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.