Applied Life Studies

This book explores the important issue of confidentiality in counselling practice and is fed by the most "frequently asked questions" put to the British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy's professional advice line. It can be used on courses for students just about to enter professional practice, and as an advice guide for practitioners.

Combining cutting-edge expertise with deeply rooted Christian insights, this text from a leading figure in the Christian counseling community offers readers a comprehensive survey of ten major counseling and psychotherapy approaches. For each approach, Siang-Yang Tan first provides a substantial introduction, assessing the approach's effectiveness and the latest research findings or empirical evidence for it. He then critiques the approach from a Christian perspective. Tan also includes hypothetical transcripts of interventions for each major approach to help readers get a better sense of the clinical work involved. This book presents a Christian approach to counseling and psychotherapy that is Christ centered, biblically based, and Spirit filled.

This second edition is a step by step practical guide to counselling skills for trainees and practitioners. It presents key skills clearly and concisely.

This innovative new textbook examines the critical debates around key topics in counselling and psychotherapy. In nine sections including Everyday Counselling Practice, Training and Curriculum Issues, and Counselling, Society and Culture, Colin Feltham explores 60 provocative questions central to counselling training and practice. Ranging from more mainstream subjects like unconditional positive regard, ethics and supervision to broader social or philosophical issues such as employment concerns and the debate on assisted suicide, entries include: - Why have we focused on core theoretical models? - What are the pros and cons of short-term, time-limited counselling? - What's wrong with CBT? - Where is research taking us? - Is statutory regulation a good and inevitable development? - Are there limits to personal change in counselling? Each section includes questions for reflection, case studies and student exercises. This comprehensive, student-friendly text is a useful resource for lecturers to stimulate seminar discussion, and for all trainees wishing to write essays or generally develop their critical thinking in counselling and psychotherapy.

Named a 2013 Doody's Core Title "In the fields of death education, research and counseling/psychology, surely Bill Worden is a giant....ALL of us, personally and professionally, are indebted to J. William Worden. From his work we may be just a bit wiser, a bit healthier, a bit more competent, and a lot more in touch with meaning (our own and those of others) for the sake of all who mourn." --Illness, Crisis, & Loss "Every helping professional will profit from Worden's treatment of uncomplicated and complicated mourning. Especially hopefully is his material on the many types of loss...I highly recommend Worden's book."--Ministry Recipient of The International Work Group on Death, Dying and Bereavement Herman Feifel Award. Dr. Worden presents the highly anticipated fourth edition to Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, the gold standard of grief therapy handbooks. The previous editions, translated into 12 languages, received worldwide acclaim for their sensitive, insightful, and practical approach to grief counseling. In this updated and revised fourth edition, Dr. Worden presents his most recent thinking on bereavement drawn from extensive research, clinical work, and the best of the new literature. Key Features: The task model has been modified to account for new thinking and research findings in the field, including meaning making, resilience, and continuing bonds A new chapter on the Mediators of Mourning helps clinicians to understand what accounts for individual differences in adapting to the death of a loved one Looks at recent controversies in the field including the best way to understand complicated bereavement and the efficacy of grief counseling and therapy Presents the vital distinction between grief and trauma, and highlights different intervention approaches for each Comprehensive and highly organized, this text is useful to therapists just beginning to work in the field as well as seasoned practitioners.

`The new Fifth Edition shows Richard Nelson-Jones at his very best: clear, concise and helpful in a practical way. I strongly recommend this text' - Windy Dryden, Professor of Counselling, Goldsmiths College, London In praise of Fourth Edition: 'A welcome update...creating a powerful and stimulating learning experience'- Pat Beardsworth, Director, Welsh Centre for Counselling Psychology, Swansea 'Richard Nelson Jones's use of lifeskills counselling provides significant added value to our services, particularly with our more difficult clients '- David Stratford, Director, Davidson & Associates, Melbourne 'An excellent practical book, packed with useful information. An ideal text for training courses' - Stephen Palmer, Centre for Stress Management, London 'This book provides a secure base from which the counsellor can practice in an empathic, effective and ethical manner' - Robert Bor, Professor of Psychology, City University, London 'A unique combination of theory, skills and practical activities in a highly informative and impressively detailed text' - Ken Fisher, Bolton Institute 'A great training book....extremely useful for a wide variety of counselling, helping and pastoral care settings' - Dr Ron Perry, Director, Institute for Counselling, Sydney, Australia 'Invaluable and interesting text and exercises for building a broad range of counselling skills' - Dr Doug Farnill, Faculty of Medicine, Sydney University, Australia This new Fifth Edition of Richard Nelson-Jones' bestselling Practical Counselling & Helping Skills presents the core skills needed to be a successful counsellor. Fully revised and updated, the text is based on the Relationship-Understanding-Changing (RUC) lifeskills counselling model. This provides a systematic approach for clients to develop specific lifeskills to change how they feel, think, communicate and act, and this book provides ways for the counsellor to facilitate this change. Practical Counselling & Helping Skills guides the reader through the three different stages of the RUC model - 'relating', 'understanding' and 'changing'. Areas covered include: }} how to listen to, and understand, the client and their problem }} the assessment of feelings, reactions and communications }} intervention }} ethical issues. The book is packed with case studies and practical examples for the trainee counsellor, and the 'activities' within each chapter enable the student to put theory into practice. This text will be invaluable to all those undertaking counselling training for the first time in a variety of different settings.

Communication is key to the therapeutic relationship, and culture and language are at the core of communication. The first edition of Race, Culture and Counselling was a groundbreaking text on the subject; this new edition is significantly revised to include new perspectives on the impact of race, culture, and language in therapy. Topics discussed include: . Important issues concerning race and power. The impact culture has on communication. How dominant theories influence counseling. The concept of mixed-identity therapeutic relationship

This is the first practical introduction to a skills-based existential approach. Accessible for those without a philosophical background, it describes the concrete and tangible skills, tasks and interactions of existential practice. This is the first practical introduction to a skills-based Existential approach. Accessible for those without a philosophical background, it describes the concrete and tangible skills, tasks and interactions of Existential practice. It covers: - Theoretical background and history of Existential Therapy - Phenomenological practice - the centre of Existential Therapy - Necessary characteristics of the Existential therapist - Qualities of good living - The process of therapy and the nature of change - Misconceptions about the Existential approach. A much needed resource for those beginning their training as well as more experienced practitioners keen to expand their knowledge, the authors make the Existential approach accessible to all those who wish to find out what it has to offer.

This pocket guide to modality approaches in counselling & psychotherapy is a one-stop-shop for trainees on introductory counselling courses. It describes 12 models of therapy, as well as introducing the origins of counselling and providing guidance and tips on practical issues like time-keeping, supervision, endings and boundaries. Each short approach-specific chapter has a consistent structure which allows easy comparison and cross-referencing between the modalities. The chapters cover - origins & background - big names & big ideas - how the approach works & who it's for - critical considerations - identifying features - reflection & summary - learning ideas & suggested reading This book is essential reading when choosing a professional counselling training in which to specialise, or if you just want an overview of other counselling modalities outside of your own. Those trained or training in wider metal health and psychology will also find it an useful overview of counselling approaches. Adrian Pennington is a Counselling Psychologist, Performance Psychologist, Clinical Supervisor, Trainer in Counselling and Mediator.

The fifth edition of Richard Nelson-Jones' Theory and Practice of Counselling and Therapy provides an essential introduction to the major theoretical approaches in counselling and psychotherapy today. This comprehensive and accessible book has been substantially revised and updated, and now includes two brand new chapters on solution-focused therapy and narrative therapy by Alasdair Macdonald and Martin Payne. Following a clearly-defined structure, each chapter describes the origin of the therapeutic approach, a biography of its originator, its theory and practice, discusses case material and further developments, and suggests further reading. Each chapter also contains review and personal questions. Richard Nelson-Jones' authoritative and practical textbook is the ideal companion for students on introductory courses and those embarking on professional training.