LibGuides: Applied Life Studies: Complementary Therapies

eBooks

Aromatherapy for Health Professionals Revised Reprint by Shirley Price (Editor); Len Price (Editor); Penny Price (Editor)
ISBN: 9780702084027

Publication Date: 2021-03-22

Now in its 5th edition, Aromatherapy for Health Professionals is an essential resource for professionals wishing to practice aromatherapy in a clinical setting. It covers the theory and practice of essential oil science and the application of aromatherapy for specific conditions, giving an evidence-based, in-depth presentation of the subject. Written by a highly experienced team of aromatherapists, this book is an authoritative guide for anyone seeking to use essential oils in a modern health care setting. Contains an A-Z of essential oils including their chemistry and properties, allowing therapists to select the most effective oils for use in a clinical situation Details the appropriate essential oils for different health conditions Features case studies to help the reader understand how to put the theory into practice Fully referenced and evidence-based for use in a clinical setting
Complementary and Alternative Medicine by Lois Snyder (Editor)
ISBN: 9781597453813

Publication Date: 2007-11-17

This is the first comprehensive, multidisciplinary book to focus on the ethical challenges of complementary and alternative medicine. It examines the ethical challenges that CAM raises for patients and their physicians, and for patient-physician relationships. The book is written by a multidisciplinary team of CAM ethics and policy analysts, researchers and thought-leaders who present a forward-looking exploration of their subject.
Enhancing cancer care: complementary therapy and support by edited by Jennifer Barraclough
ISBN: 9780191730023

Publication Date: 2007

A practical, evidence-based guide to complementary cancer therapies with an emphasis on enhancing practice; that is, using the therapies alongside conventional medicine, rather than as alternatives to it.
The essential guide to holistic and complementary therapy by Helen Beckmann and Suzanne Le Quesne
ISBN: 9781408033241

Publication Date: 2005
Evidence-Based Practice in Complementary and Alternative Medicine by Francesco Chiappelli (Associate Editor); Manisha Harish Ramchandani (Associate Editor); Ram Harsh Singh (Associate Editor); Sanjeev Rastogi (Editor)
ISBN: 9783642245657

Publication Date: 2012-01-28

This book investigates the ways in which the evidence base is influencing complementary and alternative medicine in general and Ayurveda and allied health practices in particular. The latter have traditionally been prevalent in Asia and are now increasingly attracting interest worldwide. The book is divided into four sections, the first of which examines issues related to acquisition and evaluation of the evidence base. Evidence-based approaches to Ayurvedic diagnosis and therapy are then examined, with a special focus on management of cardiovascular and rheumatological diseases, dental care, and rejuvenating treatments. The final section explores further the challenges of applying evidence-based practice in contemporary and alternative medicine and Ayurveda with a focus upon the issues requiring urgent attention in ongoing decade. The same involves encompassing areas such as Ayurvedic pharmaceutics, practice, education and research within an evidence-based perspective.
The Healing Gods: Complementary and Alternative Medicine in Christian America by Candy Gunther Brown
ISBN: 9781299718739

Publication Date: 2013-01-01

The question typically asked about complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) is whether it works. However, an issue of equal or greater significance is why it is supposed to work. The Healing Gods: Complementary and Alternative Medicine in Christian America explains how and why CAM entered the American biomedical mainstream and won cultural acceptance, even among evangelical and other theologically conservative Christians, despite its ties to non-Christian religions and the lack of scientific evidence of its efficacy and safety. Before the 1960s, most of the practices Candy Gunther Brown considers-yoga, chiropractic, acupuncture, Reiki, Therapeutic Touch, meditation, martial arts, homeopathy, anticancer diets-were dismissed as medically and religiously questionable. These once-suspect health practices gained approval as they were re-categorized as non-religious (though generically spiritual) health-care, fitness, or scientific techniques. Although CAM claims are similar to religious claims, CAM gained cultural legitimacy because people interpret it as science instead of religion. Holistic health care raises ethical and legal questions of informed consent, consumer protection, and religious establishment at the center of biomedical ethics, tort law, and constitutional law. The Healing Gods confronts these issues, getting to the heart of values such as personal autonomy, self-determination, religious equality, and religious voluntarism.
An holistic guide to reflexology by Tina Parsons
ISBN: 9786612722769

Publication Date: 2003
Homeopathy in Healthcare by Gudrun Bornhöft (Editor); Peter Matthiessen (Editor)
ISBN: 9783642206382

Publication Date: 2011-08-31

This volume includes the full Health Technology Assessment (HTA) report on effectiveness, appropriateness, safety and costs of homoeopathy in health care. The report was commissioned by the Swiss health authorities to inform decision-making on the further inclusion of homoeopathy in the list of services covered by statutory health insurance. Other studies carried out as part of the Swiss Complementary Medicine Evaluation Programme (PEK) caused a massive stir due to their schematic and exclusively quantitative (negative-)outcomes for homoeopathy. The present report, in contrast, offers a differentiated evaluation of the practice of homoeopathy in health care. It confirms homoeopathy as a valuable addition to the conventional medical landscape - a status it has been holding for a long time in practical health care.
Perspectives on complementary and alternative medicine by Tom Heller et al...
ISBN: 9786610290017

Publication Date: 2005
Theorizing Complementary and Alternative Medicines by Eeva Sointu
ISBN: 9781137003737

Publication Date: 2012-04-05

Rather than physiological health only, complementary and alternative medicines aim at the production of wellbeing. This book explores how the increasing proliferation of holistic health methods are intimately connected with changing configurations of selfhood, gender and class.

eCollections

British Standards Online
Terms and Conditions of use. BSI British Standards is the National Standards Body of the UK responsible for the development and publication of technical standards and standardisation of products and services. BSI online provides access to the full-text of over 20,000 BSI publications including standards, specifications, interpretive guides and codes of practice.
EBSCO Host Databases
All EBSCO Host Databases have switched to a new user interface. For more information, please see our EBSCOhost Video guide. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk. Provides the following resource collections: Academic Search Complete; ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials; Business Source Premier; CINAHL Ultimate; Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text; EBSCO eBooks; Education Research Complete; Exploring Race in Society; European Views of the Americas; 1493-1750; GreenFile; Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts; Medline with Full Text; Open Dissertations; Philosopher's Index with Full Text; PsycArticles; PsycInfo; SocIndex with Full Text; SportDiscus with Full Text. See under each individual collection for details.
SpringerLINK : eJournals and eBooks
Full-text resource of over 1,200 fully peer-reviewed journal titles. Full text for the majority of journals available from 1997 onwards. Full text of over 182000 eBooks also located here.
Wiley-Blackwell eJournals and eBooks
1280 full text journals covering the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences and medicine. Date coverage: from 1997. Includes approx. 1000 full text eBooks.
Web of Science
Collection of authoritative Science, Engineering and Technology and Arts and Humanities citation indexes with abstracts, covering over 250 disciplines. Includes a selection of interactive data analysis tools . Also includes Medline.

Videos, Images and External Websites

BioMed Central
Full text articles from over 400 Open Access academic journals. Includes links to full text articles within PubMed Central (PMC) the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences.
Clinical Trials.gov

Comprises the four research networks across the UK funded by the UK Health Departments. They support and deliver high quality clinical research studies and facilitate the conduct of randomised controlled trials and other well designed studies across the UK. Subject Areas : Health.
Cochrane Library
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.