Applied Life Studies

The first book was on "Theory and Practice" of antibiotic stewardship in its broadest sense -the how to do it and the do's and don'ts. The second, on "Controlling resistance" was very much on the relationships between use and resistance and beginning to home in on the hospital as the main generator of resistance, but mainly looking at it from a disease/clinical perspective. The last 3 chapters on MRSA, ended where the 3rd book will take off. "Controlling HAI " will concentrate on specific MDR organisms highlighting their roles in the current pandemic of HAI and emphasizing that the big issue is not so much infection control but antibiotic control, in the same way that antibiotic over-reliance/ over-use has caused the problem in the first place. Up 'till now the emphasis for controlling MRSA, C diff and all the other MDROs has very much been on IC, which clearly isn't working. This book will gather all the evidence for the increasingly popular view that much more must be done in the area of antibiotic policies/ stewardship, especially when we are in danger of a "post antibiotic" era, due to a real shortage of new agents in the pipeline.

​​​​ ​ Providing detailed information on structural HIV prevention interventions, this book is intended for health care practitioners and researchers to plan, implement, and evaluate such interventions in their own communities. As defined by the CDC, structural interventions focus on the physical, social, cultural, political, economic, legal, and/or policy aspects of the environment. Designed to reach a large number of individuals, structural interventions usually occur across entire communities, cities, or countries. As a result, the resources required to initiate structural interventions can far exceed those required for smaller-scale behavioral programs. However, changes from structural interventions have the potential to last over time, even after the programs have ended, resulting in effective use of public and private prevention resources.​ Because the reach of structural interventions is typically larger than that of individual- or group-focused interventions (for example, the 100% Condom Use Program, which was implemented countrywide in Thailand), their influence may be equally--if not more--significant.This book is a resource for health practitioners, educators, and researchers who seek HIV/AIDS structural prevention programs that have been shown to be effective in their regions or for their target populations (e.g. injection drug users, commercial sex workers, or the general public). With extensive case studies, the book classifies interventions according to the desired outcomes (specific behavior or policy changes) so that the reader may focus on examples of programs with similar goals and target populations to their own. Addresses the quintessential public health ethical dilemma regarding which types of environmental changes should be mandatory via legislation and which should be voluntary, promoted via programmatic, practice, and policy change.  ​   

Biomaterials associated infection (BAI) is one of the most common complications associated with implantation of any biomaterial regardless of form or function.  These infections usually involve bacterial colonization and biofilm formation on the biomaterial itself, rendering the infection impervious to antimicrobials and host defenses. In addition, it is becoming increasingly clear that infection of the surrounding tissues also plays an important role in BAI, and that the infection may be influenced by the composition and design of the implanted biomaterial. In this book, worldwide leaders in the field address this critical problem in the translation of biomaterials research into clinical practice. The book begins with an emphasis on the latest research in the pathogenesis of BAI from microbiological, immunological, and materials science perspectives. The current state of the art in antimicrobial activation of biomaterials through surface modification and the incorporation of antimicrobial agents is then discussed. In the concluding chapters, successful translation of a selection of antimicrobial technologies from preclinical research into clinical use is described alongside a discussion of the utility of these devices and perspectives for future development. This book is essential reading for researchers and clinicians who are interested in understanding the fundamentals of BAI, the latest in antimicrobial materials research, and the state of the art in clinically available antimicrobial containing medical devices.

The essential guide to controlling and managing today's communicable diseases The fourth edition of Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook offers public health workers of all kinds an authoritative and up-to-date guide to current protocols surrounding the identification and control of infectious diseases. With its concise, accessible design, the book is a practical tool that can be relied upon to explain topics ranging from the basic principles of communicable disease control to recent changes and innovations in health protection practice. Major syndromes and individual infections are insightfully addressed, while the authors also outline the WHO's international health regulations and the organizational arrangements in place in all EU nations. New to the fourth edition are chapters on Ebola, the Zika virus, and other emerging pandemics. In addition, new writing on healthcare-associated infection, migrant and refugee health, and the importance of preparedness make this an essential and relevant text for all those in the field. This vital resource:     Reflects recent developments in the science and administration of health protection practice Covers topics such as major syndromes, control of individual infections, main services and activities, arrangements for all European countries, and much more Includes new chapters on the Zika virus, Schistosomiasis, Coronavirus including MERS + SARS, and Ebola Follows a format designed for ease of use and everyday consultation Created to provide public and environmental health practitioners, physicians, epidemiologists, infection control nurses, microbiologists and trainees with a straightforward - yet informative - resource, Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook is a practical companion for all those working the field today.

Reasons for Writing This Book The published literature on the economic appraisal of healthcare acquired infection (HAI) is described by phrases such as: "With so many virtues of the cost-benefit approach identified, it is perhaps puzzling why greater use of economic appraisal has not been made in the area of infection control" [1] "Clinicians should partner with economists and policy analysts to expand and improve the economic evidence available" [2] "the quality of economic evaluations should be increased to inform decision makers and clinicians" [3] "The economics of preventing hospital-acquired infections is most often described in general terms. The underlying concepts and mechanisms are rarely made explicit but should be understood for research and policy-making" [4] The aim of this book is to describe how economics should be used to inform decisi- making about infection control. Our motivation stems from the previous quotes which show economics is being used within the infection control community, but not to its full potential. Our expectation is that you do not have any formal training in economic analyses. Economic analyses have been used for many decades to argue for increased funding for hospital infection-control. In 1957, Clarke [5] investigated bed wastage in British hospitals due to Staphylococcus aureus in patient's wounds. She concluded .... "the average length of stay in hospital of patients whose wounds were infected with Staph.

Intensive care is a rapidly changing area of medicine, and after four years from the 2nd edition the volume editors and authors have deemed necessary to update it. In the recent years, in fact, five new randomised controlled trials and five new meta-analyses demonstrate that selective decontamination of the digestive tract [SDD] is an antimicrobial prophylaxis to prevent severe infections of not only lower airways but also of blood. Additionally, SDD has been shown to reduce inflammation including multiple organ failure and mortality. An intriguing observation is the evidence that SDD using parenteral and enteral antimicrobials reduces rather than increases antimicrobial resistance. Moreover, a new chapter on microcirculation had been added. The volume will be an invaluable tool for all those requiring in depth knowledge in the ever expanding field of infection control.

In recent years, we have begun to recognise the rising threat of Multidrug Resistant Organisms (MDORs), and the profound impact that healthcare associated infections (HCAIs), such as MRSA, can have on both patient safety and quality of care. HCAIs prolong patients' hospital stays, and increase morbidity as well as mortality rates, yet diagnosing and treating these infections is a costly process that can place intense pressure on already limited healthcare resources. The updated and significantly expanded new edition of Manual of Infection Prevention and Control is a practical handbook that provides a comprehensive overview of HCAI control and prevention in all healthcare facilities. Clear diagrams and quick-access tables give step-by-step instructions to guide the reader through real-life prevention strategies such as hand wash, disinfection, and sterilisation. A truly current and global source, this book also includes information regarding infection outbreak management, and detailed sections on specific pathogens such as swine flu, C Difficile, ESBL, MRSA, E.coli 0157, XDR-TB, and Ebola. Manual of Infection Prevention and Control is a fully illustrated, evidence based guide for doctors, nurses, and public health physicians working to prevent the spreading of infectious diseases - most particularly HCAIs. It is also a valuable reference for environmental health officers, health educators, practice managers in GP surgeries, and health service managers.

It has been estimated that in developed countries up to 10% of hospitalized patients develop infections every year. Not only is there a substantial cost to healthcare systems, but some healthcare associated infections (HCAIs) can be fatal. Since the majority of HCAIs are preventable, reducingHCIAs is now considered to be an integral part of patient safety and quality of care provided by all healthcare institutions worldwide. Unlike other books on infection control, the main strength of this book is to provide clear, up-to-date and practical guidance in infection control in an easy to read format which can act as a quick source of reference on all aspects of HCAIs for healthcare workers who are either directly orindirectly involved in prevention and control of HCAIs. Although the book's main audience is infection control practitioners such as doctors, nurses, public health physicians, it is also a valuable reference for environmental health officers, health educators, practice managers in GP surgeries, andhealth service managers.

-The latest "buzz word" in HIV prevention -Few resources available on "positive prevention" -Kalichman is a known and recognized name in the field of HIV prevention

Understanding and improving hygiene and healthcare products is essential for improving infection prevention. Continuing Woodhead Publishing's series of specialised medical textile books, Textiles for hygiene and infection control provides readers with the latest developments in healthcare materials for hygiene and infection applications. Part one offers an insight into design and production techniques for hygiene textiles. Chapters discuss nanotechnology and it's applications in hygiene textiles, knitted spacer fabrics, innovative and sustainable packaging and biodegradable hygiene products. Part two explores design and production techniques for infection control textiles. Chapters examine micro-organisms, infection and the role of textiles, the creation of barrier textiles through plasma processing and methods for ensuring fabrics survive sterilisation. Part three concludes by investigating the variety of available hygiene and infection control products. Chapters consider washable textile-based absorbent products for incontinence, coated textiles for skin infections and antimicrobial treatments of textiles for hygiene and infection control applications from an industrial perspective. Textiles for hygiene and infection control is an essential reference for manufacturers, designers, engineers and producers of hygiene and infection control products. It is also a useful tool for medical scientists, surgeons and nurses. Offers insight into design and production techniques for hygiene textiles Chapters discuss a range of applications, such as the use of textiles for incontinence An essential reference for manufacturers, designers, engineers and producers of hygiene and infection control products