LibGuides: Applied Life Studies: Social Care

eBooks

Crime, HIV and Health: Intersections of Criminal Justice and Public Health Concerns by Bill Sanders (Editor); Yonette F. Thomas (Editor); Bethany Griffin Deeds (Editor)
ISBN: 9789048189212

Publication Date: 2012-09-14

Carefully selected to reflect the latest research at the interface between public health and criminal justice in the US, these contributions each focus on an aspect of the relationship. How, for example, might a person's criminal activity adversely affect their health or their risk of exposure to HIV infection? The issues addressed in this volume are at the heart of policy in both public health and criminal justice. The authors track a four-fold connection between the two fields, exploring the mental and physical health of incarcerated populations; the health consequences of crime, substance abuse, violence and risky sexual behaviors; the extent to which high crime rates are linked to poor health outcomes in the same neighborhood; and the results of public health interventions among traditional criminal justice populations. As well as exploring these urgent issues, this anthology features a wealth of remarkable interdisciplinary contributions that see public health researchers focusing on crime, while criminologists attend to public health issues. The papers provide empirical data tracking, for example, the repercussions on public health of a fear of crime among residents of high-crime neighborhoods, and the correlations between HIV status and outcomes, and an individual's history of criminal activity. Providing social scientists and policy makers with vital pointers on how the criminal justice and public health sectors might work together on the problems common to both, this collection breaks new ground by combining the varying perspectives of a number of key disciplines. nbsp;
The Critical Practitioner in Social Work and Health Care by Sandy Fraser (Editor); Sarah Matthews (Editor)
ISBN: 9781849202343

Publication Date: 2009-02-24

Critical practice is at the core of all activity undertaken with service users, carers and their communities. Conveying the diverse nature of this work The Critical Practitioner in Social Work and Health Care takes a comprehensive and reflective look at key areas of practice and the challenges professionals face in training and in their working lives. The chapters focus on the skills and values fundamental to the caring role and helps readers understand the importance of being able to adapt to changing demands and expectations. Key features of the book include: " a multiprofessional approach, incorporating examples from health, social work, and social care " an integrated approach to theory and practice " a range of case studies to illustrate key themes and issues " coverage of core topics such as: ethics, management, supervision, teamwork, interprofessional working, practice with service-users, research, policy issues, accountability " strongly supports underpinning knowledge for the National Occupational Standards and subject benchmarks. The book encourages the reader to develop the confidence and analytic skills to achieve best practice across all areas of their work. It will be required reading for all those studying social work, nursing, and allied caring professions. It will also be of great help to practitioners wishing to reflect on and develop their own practice. This Reader includes revised and updated material from Brechin et al's Critical Practice in Health and Social Care also published by SAGE (2000). Sandy Fraser is a Lecturer in Social Work, Faculty of Health and Social Care at The Open University. He co-edited Doing Research with Children and Young People and The Reality of Research with Children and Young People (both 2004) published by SAGE Publications in association with The Open University. Sarah Matthews is a Staff Tutor in The Open University regional office in Manchester. She is also a Mental Health Act Commissioner and runs a training and consultancy business. She worked for 20 years as a qualified social worker, latterly as a senior manager.
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care by Aveyard
ISBN: 9780335251940

Publication Date: 2023

This bestselling book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in health and social care. It is vital reading for all those undertaking their undergraduate or postgraduate dissertation or any research module which involves a literature review. The book provides a practical guide to doing a literature review from start to finish. This third edition includes: Even more examples of real life research scenarios More emphasis on how to ask the right question New and updated advice on following a clear search strategy Expanded guide to using a range of critical appraisal tools More coverage of how to write up your results Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care, 3rd Edition is essential reading for students at all levels within the health and social care field and a useful text for anyone new to reviewing and appraising evidence. Amazon reviews for the 2nd edition: "This really helped me complete my dissertation. Well set out, easy to understand and for literature review beginners a very good place to start." "This book has really helped me understand what a literature review is, and gives great insight into what is expected from your literature review." "Buy this book: it's a God send!" Over 25,000 copies sold "This deceptively small book provides a comprehensive, user-friendly, step-by-step guide to the development of a literature review. Key strengths are the clarity of expression and the logical flow of information. Chapters match the stages of a literature review, from start to finish. Useful examples and key questions will help to keep the reader on track. With this book as your guide, developing a literature review need not be a daunting or overwhelming task." Dr Merryl E Harvey, Senior Academic, Faculty of Health, Birmingham City University, UK
Interprofessional collaboration: from policy to practice in health and social care by edited by Audrey Leathard
ISBN: 9786610064953

Publication Date: 2003
Leadership and Management in Social Care by Patricia Hafford-Letchfield; Neil F. Chick; Kate Leonard; Nasa Begum
ISBN: 9781849202398

Publication Date: 2009-02-24

'This is a timely and well crafted text which is to be commended, with strong chapters from knowledgeable and committed authors. A stimulating read and one which will be of considerable use to those with responsibility for leading and managing learning in social care and social work' - Keith Popple, Professor of Social Work, London South Bank University 'This is a welcome and timely book, which forecasts the growing need for workplace learning. I will be one of the first people to buy it' - Jan Fook, Professor of Social Work, University of Southampton This core textbook provides an authoritative overview of the leadership and management of learning in social care education and practice. Written in response to recent policy and continuing professional development frameworks, the book provides the underpinning knowledge for candidates following post-qualifying awards for social work in leadership, management and practice education Key features include: " reference to the relevant post-qualifying standards in social work at Higher Specialist and Advanced levels " an interprofessional approach " case studies, activities and points for reflection. Leadership and Management in Social Care will equip readers with the relevant knowledge and skills they need to improve the quality of social care services and their delivery. With an emphasis upon continuing professional development it will become essential reading for students following social work and social care qualifications for continuing professional development. Social care practitioners responsible for staff development and interested in progressing to management roles will also find the book invaluable. Trish Hafford-Letchfield is a senior lecturer at London South Bank University for social work, higher education and leadership and management courses. Kate Leonard is a senior lecturer at LSBU and freelance trainer, assessor and mentor. Nasa Begum has been Principal Advisor for Participation at SCIE since 2003 and is a researcher. Neil Chick is Organisational Learning Manager for a housing association and coach mentor.
Long-Term Conditions by Cathy E. Lloyd (Editor); Tom Heller (Editor)
ISBN: 9780857027498

Publication Date: 2011-12-06

Some people have always had to find ways of living with long term conditions such as diabetes or coeliac disease, but as people live longer, increasing numbers of us now experience long-term poor health. While some conditions that previously limited the length of life are manageable a growing number of people live with long-term conditions. Against this backdrop, Long Term Conditions explores the complex issues surrounding the experience of long-term illness and the enormous pressure this puts on individuals, their families and carers and on health and social care services. The perspectives of each of these groups are voiced within this book, with chapters written by people who use health and social care services, carers, policy-makers and practitioners. Using a variety of research methods to get to the heart of the matter, the book probes assumptions about the experience of long-term poor health and what constitutes good care. Its aim is to challenge readers to think critically about existing policy and provision and to inspire change based on sound evidence and a drive towards greater multi-professional working. Long Term Conditions provides academics, practitioners and students with a thorough grounding in the complex issues surrounding the experience and management of long-term illness. It is an ideal text for courses on policy, management and practice in health and social care.
Professional Risk and Working with People by David Carson; Andy Bain
ISBN: 9781846427572

Publication Date: 2008-01-15

Professional Risk and Working with People provides advice on assessing and managing risks for all those employed to take risks with or on behalf of other people.The authors explore issues of risk assessment and management that provides readers with a broad knowledge of risk practices that can be applied across a range of disciplines. They detail the benefits of risk as well as the potential harm and explain relevant legislation and concepts of negligence in clear and accessible language. Examples of risk policies, systems and effective judgement in managing complex risk decisions are also included.In the current climate of blame and readiness to pursue legal action against professionals, this book will prove essential reading for all practitioners who come into contact with risk, including doctors and other health and care professionals, probation officers and social workers. Leaders of professional courses and their students will also find this an invaluable guide.
Social Policy for Social Work and the Caring Professions by Steve J. Hothersall; Janine Bolger
ISBN: 9780367342265

Publication Date: 2020-12-01

This revised second edition analyses social policy in Scotland since devolution in 1999 and reflects the nascent and distinctively Scottish policy agenda. Along with updated chapters, there are two new inclusions: a chapter analysing post-devolution Scotland and a chapter on the likely impacts of Brexit on and within Scotland. Providing diagrams, tables and a range of activities, the book maintains an innovative and pedagogic emphasis to introduce students to a wealth of materials, ideas and practical responses to the increasingly complex and diverse situations faced by social workers and other professionals. Part 1 of the book looks at what social policy is, how and why it is made and highlights the importance of the relationship between social policy and the law. Part 2 refers to specific themes of social exclusion, poverty and (more visible for this revised edition) austerity, considering their complex and multidimensional forms and discussing the range of policies currently extant that aim to combat such disadvantage. Part 3 provides a comprehensive overview of policy for practice, considering concepts of health inequality, mental health, older people, disability, children and families, education, substance use, criminal justice, asylum and immigration and homelessness. This book will be of interest to undergraduate and postgraduate students as well as post-qualified professionals seeking to understand the complexities of the social policy landscape in Scotland, and its influence on social work and related forms of professional practice.
Speaking to Power by David Vernon Donnison
ISBN: 9781847427434

Publication Date: 2009-12-01

Anyone working, or planning to work, as an advocate for people who need help in dealing with public services will want to read this book. Based on the experience of real advocates and using case studies based on real practice issues, Speaking to power is written in a vivid, jargon-free style that will make it an enjoyable read for professionals, students and lay people alike.
The Student's Companion to Social Policy by Pete Alcock (Editor); Tina Haux (Editor); Vikki McCall (Editor); Margaret May (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119744870

Publication Date: 2022-04-11

The new edition of the bestselling guide to the issues students will encounter in the study of social policy in both the UK and abroad Fully updated and expanded, the sixth edition of The Student's Companion to Social Policy remains the most accessible and comprehensive review of UK and comparative social policy available for undergraduate students. Written and edited by leading experts in the field, this authoritative textbook covers all the perspectives, debates, issues and challenges in both the theory and practice of social policy. The latest edition reflects the most recent developments in the discipline and in social policy-making. New and revised chapters examine critical topics such as the policy agenda of the UK government elected in 2019 and the implications of globalization, climate change, Brexit and the COVID-19 pandemic. A wealth of new and revised illustrative material, including additional problem-centred review and assignment questions, enhance students' learning and comprehension whilst encouraging them to reflect on and reconsider the issues raised in each social policy discussion. A timely, issue-driven overview for students to draw upon throughout their studies, this acclaimed textbook: Provides the analytical foundation necessary to investigate and evaluate the key concepts and perspectives central to the study of social policy Presents up-to-date coverage of policy formation and outcomes, national and international debates and the challenges and choices facing societies Features new and revised coverage of key issues including international and comparative developments, austerity and post-austerity policies in the UK and devolved administrations, public attitudes to welfare and sustainability challenges Offers a range of pedagogical tools such as boxed 5-point summary overviews, "Emerging Issues" sections, guides to further resources and chapter review questions The Student's Companion to Social Policy, Sixth Edition is essential reading for all those on Social Policy courses, whether specialising in the subject or studying it as part of another programme across the social sciences at undergraduate or postgraduate level.

eCollections

British Standards Online
Terms and Conditions of use. BSI British Standards is the National Standards Body of the UK responsible for the development and publication of technical standards and standardisation of products and services. BSI online provides access to the full-text of over 20,000 BSI publications including standards, specifications, interpretive guides and codes of practice.
Cambridge Journals Online
Full-text resource of over 400 Cambridge University Press academic journal titles, both current and archive. Subject areas include : Humanities; Medicine; Science; Social Sciences; Technology.. Includes current and archive material.
EBSCO Host Databases
All EBSCO Host Databases have switched to a new user interface. For more information, please see our EBSCOhost Video guide. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk. Provides the following resource collections: Academic Search Complete; ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials; Business Source Premier; CINAHL Ultimate; Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text; EBSCO eBooks; Education Research Complete; Exploring Race in Society; European Views of the Americas; 1493-1750; GreenFile; Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts; Medline with Full Text; Open Dissertations; Philosopher's Index with Full Text; PsycArticles; PsycInfo; SocIndex with Full Text; SportDiscus with Full Text. See under each individual collection for details.
Taylor and Francis eJournals
Over 2000 full text journals covering a variety of subjects. Subject areas include: Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences, Technology, addictions, medical education, mental health and urology.And the journals include peer reviewed medical and pharmaceutical research journals. The University has full text access to Taylor and Francis journals as far back as 1997. The original date of publication of the article is listed below the title of the journal, on the top left of the computer screen. The date published online is listed in the middle of the screen under the article title. If you are unsure whether the University should have access to the journal article please refer to the information under the title of the journal on the top left of the screen.
Web of Science
Collection of authoritative Science, Engineering and Technology and Arts and Humanities citation indexes with abstracts, covering over 250 disciplines. Includes a selection of interactive data analysis tools . Also includes Medline.

Videos, Images and External Websites

Office for National Statistics

Collects, analyses and disseminates statistics about the UK's economy, society and population.

A series of tables providing detailed information down to the most local geographic level - the Output Area. The full set is composed of CAS tables, CAS Theme Tables with information on a particular population such as dependent children or pensioner households, and Univariate tables which provide a more detailed breakdown for a single topic.
They are available for a range of geographies - England and Wales, Government Office Regions, local authority districts, unitary authorities, counties, wards, parishes, Output Areas, health areas, Parliamentary Constituencies, postal areas, and urban areas.
Social Care Institute for Excellence

Organisation promoting good practice among practitioners, managers and sector leaders who have responsibility for service delivery in adults’ and children’s services. Contains a broad range of resources and publications, including news updates, guides, briefings and reports to support the delivery of social care services and workforce development. Subject Areas : Social Care; Social Conditions; Social Problems; Social Work.