This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Managing Britain's Marine and Coastal Environment by
Britain's maritime tradition is well documented. The management of its marine and coastal environment is therefore of tantamount importance, and offers lessons for other nations across the world. The beginning of the new millennium marks a major, long-term turning point in the historical development of Britain's maritime interest discernible by continued diversification and intensification in the uses of the sea; unprecedented and often adverse environmental impacts engendered by these uses; and the beginning of a major effort to establish a comprehensive management system which can deal with both multiple uses and environmental impacts. This collection, featuring an impressive list of contributors, covers themes including maritime history, environmental issues, public policy, tourism, technology and resources as well as open sea development and management. Itnbsp;is anbsp;useful addition for those interested in geography, the environment, maritime studies and also engineering.
Marine Biodiversity and Ecosystem Functioning by
The biological composition and richness of most of the Earth's major ecosystems are being dramatically and irreversibly transformed by anthropogenic activity. Yet, despite the vast areal extent of our oceans, the mainstay of research to-date in the biodiversity-ecosystem functioning arena has been weighted towards ecological observations and experimentation in terrestrial plant and soil systems. This book provides a framework for extending these concepts to a variety of marinesystems.Marine Biodiversity and Ecosystem Functioning is the first book to address the latest advances in biodiversity-function science using marine examples. It brings together contributions from the leading scientists in the field to provide an in-depth evaluation of the science, before offering a perspective on future research directions for some of the most pressing environmental issues facing society today and in the future.
Marine Fisheries Ecology by
This topical and exciting textbook describes fisheries exploitation, biology, conservation and management, and reflects many recent and important changes in fisheries science. These include growing concerns about the environmental impacts of fisheries, the role of ecological interactions in determining population dynamics, and the incorporation of uncertainty and precautionary principles into management advice. The book draws upon examples from tropical, temperate and polar environments, and provides readers with a broad understanding of the biological, economic and social aspects of fisheries ecology and the interplay between them. As well as covering 'classical' fisheries science, the book focuses on contemporary issues such as industrial fishing, poverty and conflict in fishing communities, marine reserves, the effects of fishing on coral reefs and by-catches of mammals, seabirds and reptiles. The book is primarily written for students of fisheries science and marine ecology, but should also appeal to practicing fisheries scientists and those interested in conservation and the impacts of humans on the marine environment. particularly useful are the modelling chapters which explain the difficult maths involved in a user-friendly manner describes fisheries exploitation, conservation and management in tropical, temperate and polar environments broad coverage of 'clasical' fisheries science emphasis on new approaches to fisheries science and the ecosystem effects of fishing examples based on the latest research and drawn from authors' international experience comprehensively referenced throughout extensively illustrated with photographs and line drawings
Marine Wildlife and Tourism Management by
Marine environments have long been places of exploration, subsistence, transport and trade, but it is only recently that marine tourism has extended beyond coastal resorts and beaches. Demand for marine wildlife experiences has grown considerably in recent decades but a corresponding increase in the conservation of these environments as well as adequate legislative and management responses aimed at sustainability has not yet followed. This book demonstrates that through scientific approaches to understanding and managing tourist interactions with marine wildlife, sustainable marine tourism can be achieved. Drawing from disciplines such as marine and conservation biology and behavioural ecology, the effects of human disturbance on marine wildlife as well as management approaches to moderate these impacts are explored. Social science perspectives are also used to understand consumer demand and the ethical and legislative problems that this demand creates. This comprehensive volume provides valuable insights for both researchers and practitioners in marine conservation and tourism.
Marine Pollution by
Many of the "pollution" problems of previous decades seem to be "solved", in the developed World, or at least managed to minimise their environmental impacts. Whilst pollutants such as sewage can now be treated to reduce their damaging qualities the resulting effluent still contains a potentmixture of compounds that negatively impact marine ecosystems. These include "traditional" pollutants, such as metals, and "new" ones such as hormone mimics and pharmaceutical residues. Similarly, although oil spills are now less common and better managed the growth in global trade means vastvolumes of ballast water are moved around continuously. When discharged it is usually contaminated with pollutants and potentially invasive alien species, and so represents a new threat to biodiversity. So, the question arises has pollution really been solved or are there simply different and potentially more complex challenges today? This book considers both the "traditional" threats from both the "solved" and "ongoing" pollution problems, whilst also addressing "emerging" pollutants such ashormone mimics, nanometre sized particles added to clothing and food packaging, millimetric plastics within hygiene products, residues from the pharmaceuticals we use day-to-day along with noise and light pollution. It also considers the science behind measuring the ecological impacts of pollutantsand how they are monitored in the environment including traditional and 'new' management approaches that holistically consider the impacts of human activities. This text provides an up to date account of the range of marine pollutants within a broad ecological and social context.
Coral Reefs of the United Kingdom Overseas Territories by
The tropical UK Territories have extensive coral reefs. Huge parts of these areas are exceptionally rich, productive and diverse. Their marine biodiversity exceeds that of the UK itself, and several are already, or are planned to be, strictly protected. Some of these areas serve as reference sites for many other countries with damaged reefs and they are oases of tropical marine biodiversity in a fast-degrading world. This book reviews all of the UK reefs, from those scarcely known to those where substantial research has already been performed. ​
Marine Plankton by
A thorough understanding of planktonic organisms is the first step towards a real appreciation of the diversity, biology, and ecological importance of marine life. A detailed knowledge of their distribution and community composition is particularly important since these organisms are often very delicate and sensitive to change, and can be used as early indicators of environmental change. Natural and man-induced modification of the environment can affect both the distribution and composition of plankton, with important ecological and economic impacts. Marine Plankton provides a practical guide to plankton biology with a large geographic coverage spanning the North Sea to the north-eastern Atlantic coast of the USA and Canada. The book is divided into three sections: an overview of plankton ecology, an assessment of methodology in plankton research covering sampling, preservation, and counting of samples, and a taxonomic guide richly illustrated with detailed line drawings to aid identification. This is an essential reference text suitable for senior undergraduate and graduate students taking courses in marine ecology (particularly useful for fieldwork) as well as for professional marine biologists. It will also be of relevance and use to environmental scientists, conservation biologists, marine resource managers, environmental consultants, and other specialised practitioners.