Although we recommend using the university search tools like Library Search, we know that some students and staff often use Google Scholar instead. This page highlights when you might want to use Google Scholar and also what you might be missing by not using university services and collections as well.
When using Google Scholar, it is helpful to keep these questions in mind:
As a research tool, Google Scholar is good for many tasks, and not as good for others. When deciding whether to use Google Scholar or one of the library's collections, please keep the following in mind:
Google Scholar is good for...
Google Scholar cannot...
Issues to consider:
Discipline specific collections subscribed to by the university can be accessed at:
Before starting to use Google Scholar, it is worth checking your settings to ensure you will get the best possible experience. The results list can be setup to highlight when the university has full-text access to an article. When using Google Scholar on campus the full-text links should appear automatically. If you are using a computer in your home, or anywhere else off-campus, you will have to setup the feature using these quick steps:
1. Change your settings by clicking "Setting" (the gear icon ) near the top of the Google Scholar search page.
2. On the settings screen, select "Library Links". In the search box type "University of the Highlands and islands" and then click the search icon.
3. Select the checkbox next to "University of the Highlands and islands - Full Text @ UHI Library" then click Save.
4. When you search in Google Scholar, you will see "Full Text @ UHI Library" next to the results to indicate that the university has full-text access to the article.
Not finding what you want?
Try some of these:
The content of this guide was adapted from one originally produced by Royal Holloway (University of London) with their prior consent.