This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Using Statistics by
Guides readers through the field of statistics from the descriptive statistics to multidimensional approaches. This book includes illustrative examples that guide readers through: how to answer various types of research question; how to use different forms of analysis; and, the strengths and weaknesses of particular methods.
An introduction to statistical learning : with applications in R by
SummaryAn Introduction to Statistical Learning provides an accessible overview of the field of statistical learning, an essential toolset for making sense of the vast and complex data sets that have emerged in fields ranging from biology to finance to marketing to astrophysics in the past twenty years. This book presents some of the most important modeling and prediction techniques, along with relevant applications. Topics include linear regression, classification, resampling methods, shrinkage approaches, tree-based methods, support vector machines, clustering, deep learning, survival analysis, multiple testing, and more. Color graphics and real-world examples are used to illustrate the methods presented. Since the goal of this textbook is to facilitate the use of these statistical learning techniques by practitioners in science, industry, and other fields, each chapter contains a tutorial on implementing the analyses and methods presented in R, an extremely popular open source statistical software platform. Two of the authors co-wrote The Elements of Statistical Learning (Hastie, Tibshirani and Friedman, 2nd edition 2009), a popular reference book for statistics and machine learning researchers. An Introduction to Statistical Learning covers many of the same topics, but at a level accessible to a much broader audience. This book is targeted at statisticians and non-statisticians alike who wish to use cutting-edge statistical learning techniques to analyze their data. The text assumes only a previous course in linear regression and no knowledge of matrix algebra. This Second Edition features new chapters on deep learning, survival analysis, and multiple testing, as well as expanded treatments of naive Bayes, generalized linear models, Bayesian additive regression trees, and matrix completion. R code has been updated throughout to ensure compatibility.
Access to Chemistry by
This text has been specifically designed to prepare people with previously limited chemical knowledge for entrance into science related courses (such as Foundation and Access courses) which involve chemistry, in higher education. Until now there have been no texts available for use on these courses and this book fills that gap. Access to Chemistry effectively forms a self-study course, which is split into separate modules and units covering the full spread of concepts required for those needing a basic knowledge of chemistry. The material is presented in a friendly and easy-to-use manner which allows the student to pace their acquisition of knowledge and gain increasing confidence in order to succeed in understanding essential relevant concepts. Other useful features of this book include starter diagnostic tests, worked examples and self study tests (with answers) at the end of each unit. In addition to Access or Foundation course students and their tutors, to whom this book will prove essential, it will have an appeal also as a revision text for those needing a 'refresher' after a break in the subject. In addition, it will be of interest to members of the general public who wish to better educate themselves on chemical matters, as it provides a clear and useful insight into areas such as health, home chemicals, business market trends and gardening.
Biology for Dummies by
The ultimate guide to understanding biology Have you ever wondered how the food you eat becomes the energy your body needs to keep going? The theory of evolution says that humans and chimps descended from a common ancestor, but does it tell us how and why? We humans are insatiably curious creatures who can't help wondering how things work--starting with our own bodies. Wouldn't it be great to have a single source of quick answers to all our questions about how living things work? Now there is. From molecules to animals, cells to ecosystems, Biology For Dummies answers all your questions about how living things work. Written in plain English and packed with dozens of enlightening illustrations, this reference guide covers the most recent developments and discoveries in evolutionary, reproductive, and ecological biology. It's also complemented with lots of practical, up-to-date examples to bring the information to life. Discover how living things work Think like a biologist and use scientific methods Understand lifecycle processes Whether you're enrolled in a biology class or just want to know more about this fascinating and ever-evolving field of study, Biology For Dummies will help you unlock the mysteries of how life works.
Practical Environmental Analysis by
New techniques, improved understanding and changes in regulations relating to environmental analysis means that students, technicians and lecturers alike need an up-to-date guide to practical environmental analysis. This unique book provides detailed instructions for practical experiments in environmental analysis. The comprehensive coverage includes the chemical analysis of important pollutants in air, water, soil and plant tissue, and the experiments generally require only basic laboratory equipment and instrumentation. The content is supported by theoretical material explaining, amongst other concepts, the principles behind each method and the importance of various pollutants. Also included are suggestions for projects and worked examples. Appendices cover environmental standards, practical safety and laboratory practice. Building on the foundations laid by the highly acclaimed first edition, this new edition has been revised and updated to include information on new monitoring techniques, the Air Quality Index, internet resources and professional ethics. Like its predecessor, this informative text is certain to be valued as an indispensable guide to practical environmental analysis by students on a variety of science courses and their lecturers. Reviews of the first edition: "I strongly urge academics in chemistry, biology, botany, soil science, geography and environmental science departments to give this book] serious consideration as a course text." Malcolm Cresser, Environment Department, University of York, UK "Destined to become a course text for many university courses ... a high quality, informative introductory text ... there should be multiple copies on most university's library shelves." Environmental Conservation
Collins and Lyne's Microbiological Methods by
This fully revised and up-to-date edition of this classic bench book continues to provide definitive guidance to traditional and conventional microbiological techniques, as well as recent innovations and automated methods for the isolation, identification and testing of bacteria and fungi of medical, public health and food hygiene importance. This edition also covers the safe handling of, and legal issues relating to work with, pathogenic micro-organisms.The highly-regarded author group, now expanded to provide a North American perspective, have once again provided a comprehensive text, not only of methods, but also the media in which the bacteria are cultivated, and a succinct chapter on each bacterium and genus.
