LibGuides: Science, Technology and the Environment: Finding Journals

Online Journals

Online Journals
Lists all of the full-text journals that UHI have access to from a huge variety of publishers. You can search by journal title, keyword or the unique journal ISSN number.

If you cannot find what you are looking for please go to the UniDesk to log a call.

Why should I use eJournals

Some benefits of using eJournals include:

they are often the first place where new research is published, so they are at the cutting edge of your subject.
peer-reviewed, which means articles are critically evaluated by experts in the subject before publication.
they can be accessed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
they can be read on and off campus.
there are no overdue fines.
no need to carry as many heavy journals.
they can be read by more than one student at a time (with occasional exceptions).
the pages can be searched by keyword.
citation details can be exported to referencing software.

How do I use eJournals

You can login to eJournals using your usual network username and password, it's the same as the one you would use for Brightspace.

eJournals are purchased from various publishers and a variety of platforms so the appearance and options can vary.
eJournal articles are available in PDF or HTML format
Usually the navigation menu appears on the left-hand side of the screen, allowing you narrow down your choices or search for keywords within the entire eJournal or collection of eJournals.
Many eJournal platforms have accessibility features. These often include the ability to increase text size, have the book "read aloud" or add colour overlays that make the text more distinctive.

Can I print or copy pages?

The options you have may depend on who has supplied the eJournal. The eJournal platform will usually indicate your limit, so make sure you only print essential pages.

Other eResource Collections

Along with the eJournal collections, further subject specific resources are available on the full A-Z databases list.

A-Z Database List

Journals that require direct searching

There are a few eJournal, eMagazine, eNewspaper collections that are not searchable via the routes already listed. They need to be searched directly and are listed below.

Antioxidants and Redox Signalling
A journal dedicated to the understanding of redox principles governing health and disease. This Journal provides and explores key aspects of the important and expanding world of redox-based therapeutics—genetic, pharmacological, and nutritional. Cutting-edge research focuses on structural biology, stem cells, regenerative medicine, epigenetics, imaging, clinical outcomes, and preventive and therapeutic nutrition, among other areas. Off campus access via MyUHI
Clinical Chemistry
The leading international journal of clinical laboratory science, providing 2,000 pages per year of peer-reviewed papers that advance the science of the field.
Access: Off campus via MyUHI
Diabetes
This journal publishes original research about the physiology and pathophysiology of diabetes mellitus. Emphasis is on investigative reports focusing on areas such as the pathogenesis of diabetes and its complications, normal and pathologic pancreatic islet function and intermediary metabolism, pharmacological mechanisms of drug and hormone action, and biochemical and molecular aspects of normal and abnormal biological processes.
Access: Off campus via MyUHI
Diabetes Technology & Therapeutics
This journal provides healthcare professionals with information on new devices, drugs, drug delivery systems, and software for managing patients with diabetes. This leading international journal delivers practical information and comprehensive coverage of the latest technologies and therapeutics in the field,
Access: Off campus via MyUHI
Journal of Biological Chemistry
Publishes papers based on original research that are judged to make a novel and important contribution to understanding the molecular and cellular basis of biological processes.
Access: Off campus via MyUHI
Journal of Lipid Research
It focuses on the science of lipids in health and disease. The Journal emphasizes lipid function and the biochemical and genetic regulation of lipid metabolism. In addition, JLR publishes manuscripts on patient-oriented and epidemiological research relating to altered lipid metabolism, including modification of dietary lipids.
Access: Off campus via MyUHI
Marine Ecology Progress Series
This journal covers all aspects of marine ecology, fundamental and applied. Topics covered include microbiology, botany, zoology, ecosystem research, biological oceanography, ecological aspects of fisheries and aquaculture, pollution, environmental protection, conservation, and resource management.
Access: Off campus via MyUHI
Methods of Information in Medicine
Methods of Information in Medicine
A journal stressing the methodology and scientific fundamentals of organizing, representing and analyzing data, information and knowledge in biomedicine and health care
Access: Off campus via MyUHI
Molecular and Cellular Proteomics
The scope of the journal is broad. Emphasis will be placed on determining how the presence or absence of proteins affect biological responses, and how the interaction of proteins with germane cellular partners allows them to function. The focus will be on both structural and functional aspects of proteins, technological advances and significant advances in methodology .
Access: Off campus via MyUHI
PNAS: Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America
PNAS publishes cutting-edge research, science news, Commentaries, Reviews, Perspectives, Colloquium Papers, and actions of the National Academy of Sciences. The journal's content spans the biological, physical, and social sciences and is global in scope. Nearly half of all accepted papers come from authors outside the United States.
Access: Off campus via MyUHI
Scottish Journal of Geology
This journal looks at all aspects of Scottish geology and its contiguous areas, including Europe, the North Sea and the North Atlantic.
Access: Off campus via MyUHI
Telemedicine and eHealth
The leading international peer-reviewed journal covering the full spectrum of advances and clinical applications of telemedicine and management of electronic health records. It places special emphasis on the outcome and impact of telemedicine on the quality, cost effectiveness, and access to healthcare.
Access: Off campus by MyUHI

Times Digital Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text primary source material of more than 200 years of The Times, detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers to search and view The Times Newspaper online in its original published context.

Where can I get help?

It depends on what kind of help you require.

Please contact your local college librarian If you need advice on using or navigating eJournals.The help pages within the ejournal platforms also provide advice on functions such as note-taking, searching and exporting citations.

If you are having technical difficulties or are receiving error messages, please report the issue to the UHI helpdesk. Before doing so, please check the following:

Whether or not your login still works for other university services.
That your web-browser (Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer etc) is updated to the latest version.
Many eJournal platforms use PDF and require Adobe Reader to work properly. If you don't already have Adobe Reader, it can be downloaded for free

If you have tried these checks and still have difficulties, please open a ticket on the Unidesk Self-service portal.

If possible, try to include a screenshot of the error message you are receiving.