Alpine Biodiversity in Europe
by
The United Nations Conference on the Environment and Development (UNCED), held in Rio de Janeiro in 1992, spawned a multitude of pro grammes aimed at assessing, managing and conserving the earth's biological diversity. One important issue addressed at the conference was the mountain environment. A specific feature of high mountains is the so-called alpine zone, i. e. the treeless regions at the uppermost reaches. Though covering only a very small proportion of the land surface, the alpine zone contains a rela tively large number of plants, animals, fungi and microbes which are specifi cally adapted to cold environments. This zone contributes fundamentally to the planet's biodiversity and provides many resources for mountain dwelling as well as lowland people. However, rapid and largely man-made changes are affecting mountain ecosystems, such as soil erosion, losses of habitat and genetic diversity, and climate change, all of which have to be addressed. As stated in the European Community Biodiversity Strategy, "the global scale of biodiversity reduction or losses and the interdependence of different species and ecosystems across national borders demands concerted international action". Managing biodiversity in a rational and sustainable way needs basic knowledge on its qualitative and quantitative aspects at local, regional and global scales. This is particularly true for mountains, which are distributed throughout the world and are indeed hot spots of biodiversity in absolute terms as well as relative to the surrounding lowlands.
Lairds, Land and Sustainability
by
A wide-ranging study of how different landownership models deliver sustainability in Scotland's upland areas Scotland is at the heart of modern, sustainable upland management. Large estates cover vast areas of the uplands, with a long, complex and emotive history of ownership and use. In recent decades, the Scottish uplands have increasingly been the arena for passionate debates over large-scale land management issues. Crucially, what kinds of ownership and management will best deliver sustainable futures for upland environments and communities?　 Although the globally unique dominance of private ownership remains a distinctive characteristic of Scotland's uplands, increasing numbers of estates are now owned by environmental NGOs and local communities, especially since the Land Reform (Scotland) Act of 2003.　 A decade after the passage of this landmark Act, this book synthesises research carried out on a diverse range of upland estates by the Centre for Mountain Studies at Perth College, University of the Highlands and Islands. The findings from privately-owned estates as well as those owned by communities, charities and conservation groups will prove enlightening and relevant to upland managers, policy makers, and researchers across Britain and Europe. With the Scottish Government promoting a vision of environmental sustainability, and with the new diversity of ownerships and management now appearing, this timely and topical book investigates the implications of these different types of land ownership for sustainable upland management.　　 Key Features: Presents major new thinking on upland estate management First dedicated textbook on upland estate management Respected and experienced academic editorial team An academic synthesis of theory and practical case-studies
Mountain Geography: Physical and Human Dimensions
by
Mountains cover a quarter of the Earth s land surface and a quarter of the global population lives in or adjacent to these areas. The global importance of mountains is recognized particularly because they provide critical resources, such as water, food and wood; contain high levels of biological and cultural diversity; and are often places for tourism and recreation and/or of sacred significance. This major revision of Larry Price s book "Mountains and Man" (1981) is both timely and highly appropriate. The past three decades have been a period of remarkable progress in our understanding of mountains from an academic point of view. Of even greater importance is that society at large now realizes that mountains and the people who reside in them are not isolated from the mainstream of world affairs, but are vital if we are to achieve an environmentally sustainable future. "Mountain Geography" is a comprehensive resource that gives readers an in-depth understanding of the geographical processes occurring in the world s mountains and the overall impact of these regions on culture and society as a whole. The volume begins with an introduction to how mountains are defined, followed by a comprehensive treatment of their physical geography: origins, climatology, snow and ice, landforms and geomorphic processes, soils, vegetation, and wildlife. The concluding chapters provide an introduction to the human geography of mountains: attitudes toward mountains, people living in mountain regions and their livelihoods and interactions within dynamic environments, the diverse types of mountain agriculture, and the challenges of sustainable mountain development. "
Mountain Weather and Climate
by
Mountain Weather and Climate is an all-encompassing textbook describing mountain weather and climate processes. Results from several major field programs have been incorporated into this edition, including the European Alpine Experiment, studies of air drainage in the western United States and experiments on air flow over low hills. There are many new figures and selected regional case studies including new material on central Asia, Tibet, Greenland, Antarctica, the Andes, New Zealand, the Alps and equatorial East Africa. Chapters examine topics from human bioclimatology, weather hazards and air pollution, to climate change in mountain regions. Beginning with historical aspects of mountain meteorology, the book deals with the latitudinal, altitudinal and topographic controls of meteorological elements, circulation systems related to orography, and the climatic characteristics of mountains. It is ideal for graduates and researchers in meteorology, climatology, ecology, forestry, glaciology and hydrology.
Scotland's Mountains Before the Mountaineers
by
Winner of the Outdoor Writers GUld Award for ExcellenceIn this new book on pre-mountaineering ascents and near ascents in the Highlands, we have at last a work which does justice to those who lived and worked, travelled and fought in the Highlands before Walter Scott. PROF. BRUCE LENMANMarvelous account of mountaineering's prehistory... as coulourful as it is thought provoking
Europe's ecological backbone: recognising the true value of our mountains (EEA Report No 6/2010)
Europe's mountain areas have social, economic and environmental capital of significance for the entire continent. This importance has been recognised since the late 19th century through national legislation; since the 1970s through regional structures for cooperation; and since the 1990s through regional legal instruments for the Alps and Carpathians. The European Union (EU) first recognised the specific characteristics of mountain areas in 1975 through the designation of Less Favoured Areas (LFAs). During the last decade, EU cohesion policy and the Treaty of Lisbon have both focused specifically on mountains.
Mapping the vulnerability of mountain peoples to food insecurity
FAO. 2015. Mapping the vulnerability of mountain peoples to food insecurity. Romeo, R., Vita, A., Testolin, R. & Hofer, T. Rome
Mountain Agenda is an informal group of people, drawn from the academic and development cooperation communities worldwide, who have a professional interest in sustainable mountain development.
Founded in 2002, the Mountain Partnership is a United Nations voluntary alliance of partners dedicated to improving the lives of mountain peoples and protecting mountain environments around the world.
The Mountain Research Initiative is a non-profit organization that promotes global change research in mountain regions across borders and disciplines through connection, communication, and collaboration – with a view to supporting pathways towards sustainable mountain development.
The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Useful for literature reviews.
Abstract and full-text journal articles with full text from 2001 plus over 8000 eBooks. Abstracts for some articles date as far back as 1823.
Full-text resource of over 1,200 fully peer-reviewed journal titles. Full text for the majority of journals available from 1997 onwards. Full text of over 182000 eBooks also located here.
A multi-disciplinary resource of academic journals and popular magazine articles in broad range of subjects. Full text of articles from over 4,000 journals with summaries and abstracts from over 8,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers.NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
Over 7,800 full text titles and 3,600 refereed journals. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Subject Areas include : Art & Literature; Business; Computers; Economics; Education; Environmental issues; Health; Humanities; Law; Politics; Science; Social Sciences; Sports; Technology. Date coverage is from 1980.
Over 4,700 articles from academic and general-interest titles on aspects of human impact to the environment; also index and abstracts for more than 384,000 records. Subject Areas include : Global Warming; Green Technologies; Pollution; Renewable Energy; Sustainable Agriculture. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
For information on how to register (for the first time) to use this resource please see here.
Upon logging in, the first time you wish to access a the Geology collection, you will need to accept its sub-license agreement, which tells you what you can and can't do with the data.
Allows you to browse, view and print geological maps of the UK. Download for use in a Geographic Information System (GIS) or image processing software. Maps include: 1:625,000 solid and drift geology; 1:250,000 solid geology and linear features.
For information on how to register (for the first time) to use this resource please see here.
Agreeing to the licence : Upon logging in, the first time you wish to access a specific collection, you will need to accept its sub-license agreement, which tells you what you can and can't do with the data.
Includes the following collections: Aerial ; agCensus; Geology ; Global ; Historic ; Improvement Service ; Lidar ; Marine ; Ordnance Survey ; Pilot ; Society ; Verisk.
