Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Electronic Resources

Information

The National Library of Scotland subscribes to over 100 electronic resources collections that can be used by registered National Library of Scotland members.  If you wish to register as a member of the National Library of Scotland please go to https://auth.nls.uk/join/   .
If you wish to find out more about the electronic resources go to https://auth.nls.uk/eresources

The National Library of Scotland provides access electronic resources collections that cover a variety of subject areas, with the possibility of each collection being in more than one subject area :
Americana (5 collections) ; Art and Literature (35 collections) ; Business (16 collections) ; Catalogues & Bibliographies (8 collections)
E-Books (24 collections) ; Full Text (92 collections) ; Government & Official (19 collections) ;History, Biography & Genealogy (65 collections) ; Journals (27 collections) ; Music (10 collections) ; Newspapers (13 collections) ;Pictures & Images (6 collections); Reference Works (27 collections) ; Science (36 collections) ; Social Sciences (36 collections); Web Archive (1 collection)

Business information : if you need information to assist your business, the National Library is there to support you.  More information can be found here : https://www.nls.uk/business

The National Library of Scotland also provides access to resources that don't need registration : https://digital.nls.uk/gallery/

  • Digital maps are available at http://maps.nls.uk/.  Users can access and view over 48,000 maps as high-resolution, colour, zoomable images. The maps date between 1560 and 1961 and relate primarily to Scotland. The NLS also has a small selection of maps beyond Scotland, including maps of England, Ireland, Great Britain and Belgium.  This resource is open access on the NLS web pages and there is no need to register.
     
  • Digitised collections : the National Library of Scotland has digitised thousands of items that cover areas including art, history, literature and sport. You will find more information at https://digital.nls.uk/gallery/categories.
     
  • There are 5 Early Gaelic Book collections which can be found at this location
     
  • Moving Image Archive (previously known as the Scottish Screen Archive) is part of the National Library’s collections and is available at http://ssa.nls.uk/.  Again there is no need to register for access and some film clips are available online, copies of others can be ordered within copyright restrictions.