July 2025: Due to the cyber attack on the British Library in 2023 the Sounds Library is currently unavailable.
Contains more than 200,000 cartoons from 1904 onwards. FAQs provides information on copyright.
For information on how to register (for the first time) to use this resource please see here.
Agreeing to the licence : Upon logging in, the first time you wish to access a specific collection, you will need to accept its sub-license agreement, which tells you what you can and can't do with the data.
Includes the following collections: Aerial ; agCensus; Geology ; Global ; Historic ; Improvement Service ; Lidar ; Marine ; Ordnance Survey ; Pilot ; Society ; Verisk.
Education in Video provides resources for both new and experienced teachers tools to increase their knowledge and skills and for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms.
For information on how to register (for the first time) to use this resource please see here.
Upon logging in, the first time you wish to access a the Geology collection, you will need to accept its sub-license agreement, which tells you what you can and can't do with the data.
Allows you to browse, view and print geological maps of the UK. Download for use in a Geographic Information System (GIS) or image processing software. Maps include: 1:625,000 solid and drift geology; 1:250,000 solid geology and linear features.
For information on how to register (for the first time) to use this resource please see here.
Upon logging in, the first time you wish to access the Historic collection, you will need to accept its sub-license agreement, which tells you what you can and can't do with the data.
Allows users to browse, view and print historic maps of the UK with the facility to download for use in a Geographic Information System (GIS) or image processing software and include maps published from 1843 onwards.
For information on how to register (for the first time) to use this resource please see here.
Upon logging in, the first time you wish to access the Marine collection, you will need to accept its sub-license agreement, which tells you what you can and can't do with the data.
Marine maps to view onscreen or download for use in GIS. Two main datasets include Admiralty charts of UK waters available in a broad range of scales; hydrospatial maps of the UK marine and coastal zone environment in a range of topic layers including bathymetry & elevation and conservation.
Complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 400 independent labels. More than 200,000 CD-length recordings equivalent to over 3 million tracks uploaded, with addition of over 1,000 CD-length recordings every month. Subject areas: Music: Classical, Jazz, World, Classic Rock, Nostalgia music.
Archive collection of independent local radio audio recordings from the Independent Radio News/London Broadcasting Company radio archive. Contains many thousands of digitised reel-to-reel tapes and programs broadcast on, mainly English, local radio channels and includes drama, documentaries, features, current affairs.
A collection of full-text rock music articles from the 1960's to the present day. It also includes mp3 audio files of exclusive artist interviews. If you are having difficulties accessing the resource go down to the section on the left hand side of the screen that says 'Login Via your Home Institution', click on the down arrow and choose 'University of the Highlands and Islands' and follow the login instructions from there.
