Electronic Resources

Held in the ProQuest platform in the Natural Science Collection to allow for cross searching other collections: This bibliographic database, produced by the National Agricultural Library, consists of worldwide literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Since 1985, the CAB Thesaurus has been used to select controlled vocabulary terms for subject indexing. Library of Congress Subject Headings are used as controlled vocabulary for cataloging records. Coverage: 1970 to current

Held in the ProQuest platform in the Natural Science Collection to allow for cross searching other collections: : This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.

Held in the ProQuest platform in the Natural Science Collection to allow for cross searching other collections: This database provides specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical for scientists researching the world's living aquatic resources. Marine, freshwater and brackish water regions and environments are examined, including biology and ecology of aquatic organisms and legal, policy, and socioeconomic issues. Coverage: 1971 - Current

Held in the ProQuest platform in the Natural Science Collection to allow for cross searching other collections: This database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment. Coverage: 1946 - current

Full text for more than 1,300 journals, dating back to 1937, indexed in CINAHL Database. Indexing for more than 5,400 journals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,500 journals. Users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more and provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.

Over 27,000 Academic peer-reviewed books from 377 publishers. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. DOAB enables you to search the description of the books and enables you to download the books from the site of the publisher. DOAB is a discovery services that points to OA books that can be found elsewhere. All books listed in DOAB have a full OA licence, making them 'free to share'.

Held in the ProQuest platform in the Natural Science Collection to allow for cross searching other collections: includes the renowned Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth’s air, land, and water environments. Coverage: 1950 - current

NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk. ERC covers the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues. Topics covered also include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing. This database also includes full text for books, monographs and numerous education-related conference papers.

The collections included are : Accounting, Finance & Ecnomics ; Business, Management & Strategy ; Education ; Health & Social Care ; HR, Learning & Organization Studies ; Information & Knowledge ; Marketing ; Operations, Logistics & Quality ; Public Policy & Environmental Management ; Tourism & Hospitality Management.

Cross search: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; 19th Century UK Periodicals: New Readerships; British Library Newspapers, Part I: 1800-1900; British Library Newspapers, Part II: 1800-1900 and the Times Digital Archive.

Internurse is the UK’s largest collection of peer-reviewed nursing content, and home of the British Journal of Nursing. Internurse covers primary and secondary care settings as well as the whole spectrum of specialist nursing practice including cardiology, neuroscience, mental health, palliative care and wound care.

An authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals in clinical care, public health and health policy development. NOTE: you may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.

Updated daily, MEDLINE on the Ovid platform offers seamless and up-to-the-minute access to over 23 million of the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages (60 languages for older journals). English abstracts are included in more than 80% of the records.
Key features:
- Coverage dating back to 1946
- Access to Ovid MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations
- Access to ePub Ahead of Print—4,500+ new records per week
- Access to full text for over 1,000 Open Access journals
- Clinical Queries from McMaster University—customized for Ovid

Held in the ProQuest platform in the Natural Science Collection to allow for cross searching other collections: MEDLINE on this service contains over 20 million citations and abstracts, providing unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature. The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE. Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine. Coverage: 1946 - current

Held in the ProQuest platform in the Natural Science Collection to allow for cross searching other collections: This database provides editorially-curated A&I resources drawn from the world's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Coverage:1950 - current

5 report collections are available:Food, Leisure, Lifestyles, Retail : Big Picture, Retail : Clothing and Footwear.

Provides information and articles on the new music business.Off campus access via MyUHI. If user name and password are needed please contact your local academic partner librarian.

Includes the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database, Biological Science Database, and Earth, Atmospheric & Aqua Databases (formerly ASFA) and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. Coverage is from 1946 - current.

Open Access Publishing in European Networks: A central repository for hosting and disseminating OA books. Currently hosting more than 3000 titles.The OAPEN Library contains full text freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. You can search both the contents and the description of the books in the OAPEN Library, and you can download the book directly.

To search for articles it is strongly recommended that you use the URL; DOI - digital object identifier; PMID - the PubMed unique identifier number or PMC ID - Pub Med Central ID number. Titles and citations are less helpful. Searching using keywords doesn't work.

Complete full text, including text and images, of more than 22,000 current articles. Access to 51 research and practitioner- oriented journals. Journal coverage dates as far back as 1995. Over 375,000 bibliographic records from over 400 nursing journals
Includes links from bibliographic records to relevant full text in Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews (EBMR) and additional full text

PNAS is one of the world's most-cited and comprehensive multidisciplinary scientific journals. PNAS publishes cutting-edge research, science news, Commentaries, Reviews, Perspectives, Colloquium Papers, and actions of the National Academy of Sciences. The journal's content spans the biological, physical, and social sciences and is global in scope. Nearly half of all accepted papers come from authors outside the United States.

With nearly 2,500 journals covered and over 4 million records this resource focuses on the interdisciplinary aspects of the worldwide behavioural and social science research and literature, PsycINFO is a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.

Royal College of Nursing full text Journals: Cancer Nursing Practice; Emergency Nurse; Evidence Based Nursing; Learning Disability Practice; Mental Health Practice; Nursing Children and Young People; Nursing Management; Nursing Older People; Nurse Researcher; Nurse Researcher; Nursing Standard; Primary Health Care; RCN Bulletin Jobs

Evidence-based clinical skills and procedures related to essential aspects of a patient's care.
1st September 2017: For user name and password please contact your local college librarian.

The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports. Subjects covered include nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology. Note: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.

It is the leading international peer-reviewed journal covering the full spectrum of advances and clinical applications of telemedicine and management of electronic health records. It places special emphasis on the outcome and impact of telemedicine on the quality, cost effectiveness, and access to healthcare. Full text access back to 1999

Held in the ProQuest platform in the Natural Science Collection to allow for cross searching other collections: This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens. Coverage: 1999 - current

Publications address general or specialised public outside of the Organization and aim to disseminate ideas, facts and information related to the execution of UNESCO's programme. They can be published in print or electronic form and include both free and for-sale items. They include books, manuals, guides, reports, proceedings, periodicals, audios/videos, multimedia, etc.