Skip to main content
Reports and Theses
British Standards Online
BSI British Standards is the National Standards Body of the UK responsible for the development and publication of technical standards and standardisation of products and services. BSI online provides access to the full-text of over 20,000 BSI publications including standards, specifications, interpretive guides and codes of practice.
Construction Information Service
Technical resources and information service for the Construction Industry. Part of the IHS Technical Indexes resource. Resources include : full-text access to industry journals and to a number of industry specific handbooks, regulations and codes; access to the Steel Construction databases and to the Concrete Advisory Services.
Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS)
Provides access and support for an extensive range of key economic and social data, both quantitative and qualitative, spanning many disciplines and themes. Content includes: the UK Labour Force Survey, UK General Household Survey, British Household Panel Survey, World Bank Data, etc.
Note: choose 'Login via UK Federation' then type in 'University of the Highlands and Islands' then user institutional user name and password.
EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service
The British Library's electronic theses online service. Contains details and abstracts of over 400,000 theses with facility to download or request full-text copies for individual use. It has around 160,000 PhD theses and dissertations from UK Universities either via download from the EThOS database or via links to the institution’s own repository.
Hansard 1803 - 2005
The official reports of the proceedings and debates of the UK Houses of Commons and Lords. Suject areas include politics, law, history.
IHS Technical Indexes
Provides the following resource collections: Construction Information Service; Engineer-it Enhanced; Occupational Health and Safety Information Service; Specify-it Enhanced. See under each collection for description and content details. Subject areas : Construction; Engineering; Health & Safety.
Occupational Health and Safety Information Services
Key health & safety documentation relevant to the workplace covering all Health and Safety issues, safety training, first-aid, electrical safety, manual handling and dangerous substances. Contains full-text documents and other resources including approved codes of practice, case law and selection of guides and presentations.
Government website which gives the text of UK legislation from 1988 onwards along with post-devolution Scottish legislation.
Providing academic resources for sports development, sport management, sport education and sport coaching students, researchers and practitioners.
Subject areas include : Sports development, sports studies and coaching and sports policy. Access this resource using your UHI eMail address
Standard Building Contracts
Information about contracts for the building trade. only available to students on the following courses: HND Quantity Surveying, HNC Quantity Surveying and HNC Construction Management. For the user name and password to access this site please contact the appropriate lecturers or the Inverness College UHI librarian.
MultiSearch Searchable: No
Access: Only available to students on the following courses: HND Quantity Surveying, HNC Quantity Surveying and HNC Construction Management. For the user name and password to access this site please contact the appropriate lecturers or the Inverness College UHI librarian.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers
Formerly known as House of Commons Parliamentary Papers this collection incorporates: 18th century (1688-1834), 19th century (1801-1900), 20th century (1901-2003/04 session), Hansard (1803-2005)