Skip to main content
Dictionary of National Biography
Collection of specially written biographies describing the lives of people who shaped the history of Britain and beyond. Articles on noteworthy people from all walks of life. Information drawn from primary and secondary sources. Includes over 57,000 specially written biographies and more than 10,000 illustrations. Date coverage : 4th Century BC - 21st Century.
Dictionary of the Scots Language
Electronic editions of the two major historical dictionaries of the Scots language: the Dictionary of the Older Scottish Tongue (Older Scots - 12th century - 1700) and the Scottish National Dictionary (Older Scots - 12th century - 1700)
Oxford English Dictionary
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. New words added quarterly.
Oxford Music Online
Includes: Grove Music Online; The Oxford Companion to Music; The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Contains over 50,000 articles, including 30,000 biographies and over 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments notation, music genres. Includes search tools for thematic, timeline and context-specific searching.
Oxford Reference Online (ORO)
Selection of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries and other subject reference works on everything from Art to Zoology. Updated regularly, contains over 1.4 million entries, including bibliographies and more than 16,000 illustrations.