Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Shetland UHI Library

Borrowing, renewing and reserving books

Borrowing books

You may borrow up to 15 books at any one time. The loan periods vary depending on how much a book is in demand. As well as print books the Library service also provides access to a vast collection of eBooks which can be read online or downloaded. Our Library Catalogue, and Multisearch, includes all of the books held by Shetland UHI plus all the UHI partner library collections. The catalogue provides links to the eBooks. Books for loan held by other UHI partner libraries may be borrowed through the inter-site loan scheme. To login into our Catalogue, or Multisearch, and most of our other Library resources your username is your ID number and your password is your usual college/UHI password.

Due to the coronavirus we have only limited access for browsing the shelves at the Lerwick campus.  Alternatively you can check the catalogue, or Multisearch, for the books you need and use the Click and Collect service to request your books.

Reserving books

Shetland UHI students or staff may reserve an item that is already out on loan (as long as it is a resource from Shetland UHI Library) by sending an email to library.shetland@uhi.ac.uk and quoting the details of the item. Please note reserved items will only be held for a limited number of days before going back into circulation. You will be sent an email when items are available for collection.

Renewing books

Items can be renewed online via MyDay or by logging into the Library Catalogue or Multisearch. If your resources have become overdue please email library.shetland@uhi.ac.uk and we will renew them for you (as long as they have not been reserved by someone else). If they are items from another Library they can be renewed twice.

Click and collect

Click and Collect

Due to Covid-19 we are only able to offer limited access to browse the shelves at the Lerwick campus only.  See information about our Browse and Borrow service.

To make use of the Click and Collect service please check the catalogue, or Multisearch, for resource availability and complete the online form (you can also use the button below). Alternatively you can email requests to library.shetland@uhi.ac.uk. For Photo of bookseach resource we need to know the title; first author name or editor name; publication year or edition. Please use your college / UHI email so we can identify you.

Book requests will be processed as soon as possible and you will be notified by email when you can collect the books.   

Please note that face-coverings MUST be worn in the College when you are collecting your books.
  • If you are a distance learning student please see the information on our Postal Loan Service

Image by Hermann Traub from Pixabay

 

Postal Loan Service

Postal Loan Service

The postal loan service has been made available to help students and staff unable to access Shetland UHI Library to collect books in person.    

To make use of this service please check the catalogue, or Multisearch, for resource availability and complete the online form (or use the button below). Alternatively you can email requests to library.shetland@uhi.ac.uk. For each resource we need to know the title; first author name or editor name; publication year or edition. Please use your college / UHI email so we can identify you.

Book requests will be processed as soon as possible and you will be notified by email when books have been posted out. 

Please note the following measures put in place:

  • Print books will not normally be sent out if there is an electronic copy available through the UHI library collections.
  • If you would like to make a special case for receiving print books in these circumstances, please contact us by email (library.shetland@uhi.ac.uk) and the librarian will consider your case. 
  • This service is primarily designed for those unable to collect resources in person and those who cannot reasonably travel to Shetland UHI. We have Covid-safe collection systems for library books set up at the college. 
  • Students and staff members of Shetland UHI will not be charged for outgoing postage and books can be returned to Shetland UHI by post for free.  Contact library.shetland@uhi.ac.uk, or telephone (01595) 771258, for details.
 

Inter-site Loans - borrowing from other UHI Libraries

Inter-site loans

If you need to borrow a book(s) held at another UHI partner library please complete either the Click and Collect, or Postal Loan, Request form, or email library.shetland@uhi.ac.uk, with book details and we will request the books on your behalf. Books will be posted to your home address free of charge. If an eBook is available partner libraries will not post you a print copy unless there are special circumstances and this has been agreed by Student Services e.g. if you are dyslexic.

Returning resources

Book return boxPhotograph of the Library book return box in the foyer at the College

There is a book return point at each campus.  At the Lerwick campus, the book return box is situated in the entrance foyer to the building.  At the Scalloway campus the book return box is situated in the entrance foyer to the John Goodlad Centre building.  Alternatively books can be returned to us, for free, by post.  Contact library.shetland@uhi.ac.uk, or telephone (01595) 771258, for details.

You will receive an automatic email when books are due to be returned. If you no longer require a book please return it as soon as possible to make it available for other people to borrow. If you need the book longer you can usually renew it (if it is not reserved).

If you are a distance learner please return books to us, for free, by post.  Please contact library.shetland@uhi.ac.uk, or telephone (01595) 771258, for details.