Research Publishing (Open Access)

Repositories mostly fall into one of the following types:

• Institutional (such as PURE): these host the outputs of a particular body.
• Disciplinary: cross-institutional subject repositories. These can be useful for boosting exposure within a particular field.
• Aggregating: archives which aggregate data from subsidiary repositories; ResearchGate is an example.
• Governmental: for state-produced data.

The Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR) aims to promote the development of open access by providing information about the grown and status of repositories throughout the world.

OpenDOAR (the Open Directory of Open Access Repositories) creates an authoritative reference database of Open Access repositories worldwide.

Both of these two portals provide several filters including subject, repository type and content type (e.g. articles, theses, monographs, etc.).

OpenAIRE is an Open Access publications infrastructure, making visible funded research outcomes.

arXive.org is Open Access and has over 1.5 million e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

The PubMed suite of repositories offers varying functionality:

• PubMed comprises more than 25 million abstracts biomedicalhttps://europepmc.org/docs/Information_poster_Europe_PMC_vs_PubMed_and_PMC.pdf literature.
• PMCentral is a full-text archive of over 3 million biomedical and life sciences journal articles.
• Europe PMC provides a single point of access to the abstracts available through PubMed, PMC full-text articles, and an additional 5 million other relevant resources, such as patent records and NHS clinical guidelines.

In other words, differing funders' requirements and publishers' licensing contracts will inform the choice of PubMed repository (i.e. any embargo on deposit of full texts may mean that the PubMed abstract remit is more appropriate than PMCentral).

Research outputs need to be deposited in a subject or institutional repository; in the case of the University of the Highlands and Islands, this means PURE. Further guidance on how to use this repository can be found via the University's research information system pages.

An article must be deposited in PURE within three months of publication acceptance (as dated in an acceptance communication from the publisher).

The priority deposit for UHI researchers is always PURE. However, in order to increase exposure of research outputs, deposits can also be made in subject specific outputs (though researchers should always check with publishers and funders to ensure that licensing and funding agreements are not thereby infringed).

• DOAJ - Launched in 2003 DOAJ is a Directory of Open Access Journals
• DOAB -  Directory of Open Access Books. Its primary aim is to increase discoverability of open access books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in open access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in open access and meet academic standards.