During the publication process the Lead or Corresponding Author will be provided with information from the publisher. However useful information regarding open access policies, including embargo periods and licensing can also be found on publisher websites.
There is an extremely useful Transitional Agreement Look-Up tool provided by JISC which provides information on UHI's current Read and Publish deals. This tool provides an up to date list of the journals included in each deal.
If in doubt please check with the publisher directly or contact the UHI open access compliance officer.
ACM Digital Library Open Access Read and Publish Deal
New Read and publish deal: Term: 3 years
Start and end dates: 25/04/2023 – 31/12/2025
Association for Computing Machinery has signed a deal with JISC which allows UHI students to publish research open access without article processing charges (APCs) and gives institutions unlimited access to the ACM Digital Library.
The agreement, which runs for 3 years until 2025, enables all affiliated authors to publish their research on a completely open access basis in the ACM Digital Library by selecting a creative commons attribution licence (CC BY) for article sharing and reuse.
This allows anyone to copy, distribute, transmit, adapt and make commercial use of the work as long as they attribute it as the author wishes.
As part of the deal, the ACM will deposit copies of all published articles into the author’s university open repository. This means authors can share, re-use and re-distribute research after publication without extra costs.
For more information on the JISC Read and Publish agreement with ACS and OA publications go to: Open Access Publication & ACM
American Chemical Society: ACS operates an ‘Author choice’ programme.
New Read and publish deal: Term: 3 years
Start and end dates: 01/01/2022 – 31/12/2024
UHI researchers who are corresponding authors can publish research articles in hybrid & fully OA journals for free. . As well as direct open access agreements, all of ACS Publications' previous hybrid journals now qualify as ‘transformative journals’ under Plan S.
For more information on the JISC Read and Publish agreement with ACS go to: https://acsopenscience.org/open-access/purchasing-open-access/publish-open-access-read-publish-agreement/
American Chemical Society have an excellent step by step guide for authors on how to use their read and publish deals: How to Publish Open Access Under a Read + Publish Agreement
Brill Open access page for authors.
New Read and publish deal: Term: 2 years
Start and end dates: 25-04-2023 – 31-12-2024
Read and publish deal: UHI researchers who are corresponding authors can publish research articles in hybrid & fully OA journals for free.
21/02/23: Brill has renewed its Transformative Agreement with Jisc in the UK for the period 2023-2024. The previous deal ran between 1 January 2021 to 31 December 2022.
Academics at participating institutions benefit from reading access to the full Brill journal collection of more than 300 journals, as well as unlimited Open Access publishing of research articles, review articles and conference papers in all Brill journals,
Cambridge University Press (CUP) home page
Note read and publish deal: UHI researchers who are corresponding authors can publish articles in CUP gold and hybrid journals for free. For more information and to view eligible journals please refer to the CUP UK agreement which covers articles accepted for publication between 1 January 2021 and 31 December 2024.
Information on CUP's Open access waivers and discounts.
Here is a handy step by step guide to publishing OA with Cambridge University Press
Services for authors.
Elsevier home page
New Read and publish deal: Term: 3 years
Start and end dates: 11/04/2022 – 31/12/2024
Elsevier-UK Institutions Agreement
“Elsevier and Jisc have established an agreement to enable continued reading access for UK researchers and to enable open access publishing. When publishing in eligible Elsevier journals, authors will be able to choose to publish open access at no additional cost to the author. This agreement is effective until the end of December 2024.” Read and Publish Agreement Jisc (elsevier.com)
Highlights of the new Read & Publish agreement
Authors who publish under this agreement can:
The author must be the submitting corresponding author affiliated with UHI, and the articles must have an acceptance date between 1 Jan 2022 and 31 Dec 2024.
Your Guide to Publishing Open Access with Elsevier (PDF)
Journal Specific Embargo Periods (PDF) - only applicable for UK researchers who wish to self-archive their Author Accepted Manuscript (AAM).
Open Access licenses (Elsevier's policy)
Articles sharing guidelines - they support green open access and accepted manuscripts can be self -archived following their sharing guidelines and are required to attach a CC-BY-NC-ND license.
Funder agreements - Elsevier works with institutions and funding bodies to help authors publishing in our journals comply with open access policies.
Services for authors.
Please go to Open access journals | Search (elsevier.com) to see which journals are included in the R&P deal
Elsevier news (23/03/22), UK universities have reached a three-year agreement with Elsevier to provide unlimited open access publishing and access to paywalled journal articles for a significant reduction on current institutional spend. Jisc response to the Elsevier open access agreement | Jisc
Elsevier and Plan S news (04/01/2022), 160 Elsevier journals become Plan S aligned Transformative Journals
Emerald home page
UHI does not have a Read and Publish deal with Emerald but it is possible to publish OA in many of their journals. To see which journals publish OA go to: Find a journal | Emerald Publishing (emeraldgrouppublishing.com)
Emerald open access policies and FAQs - in 2017 Emerald abolished embargo periods for author accepted manuscripts (AAM) deposited on their institutional repository. This also applies retrospectively to outputs.
New Read and publish deal: Term: 3 years
Start and end dates: 01/01/2021 – 31/12/2023
UHI is part of the Scottish Higher Education Digital Library (SHEDL) deal with Karger. This means that,
"Corresponding authors affiliated with the following institutions are eligible for full coverage of APC and Authors ChoiceTM publication fee and all additional publication costs for articles published as Open Access in full Open Access and hybrid journals (subscription journals with an Open Access option)".
Research may be published as an Open Access article (Gold Open Access) or archived in an Open Access repository such as PubMed Central (PMC) or an institution’s own repository (Green Open Access), or both, view Karger’s transformative agreements
Oxford University Press - read and publish agreements
New Read and publish deal: Term: 2 years
Start and end dates: 1st Jan 2024 - 31st Dec 2025
Open access support - overview
Oxford access licenses at OUP note: authors not choosing the Oxford Open option (but open self archiving) should follow the standard post-print archiving policy of the relevant journal. This policy can be found in the journal's Author Instructions, or by contacting Permissions at Oxford Journals.
Complying with funder policies - covers agencies' open access mandates.
Complying through self-archiving: Some funder mandates can be fulfilled through ‘Green’ open access, due to our self-archiving policies. All Oxford journals have specific self-archiving policies and licence forms which lay out in detail the provisions made for deposition in repositories. Broadly, most Oxford journals have 12 or 24 month embargos on self-archiving** (see individual journal policy for detail). As such, authors with funder mandates stipulating deposit in a repository after 12 months (e.g. NIH) can comply simply by publishing in a 12 month embargo journal. Any author whose funder mandates deposition in under 12 months will need to publish their paper under an open access licence to meet their funder or funders' requirements.
Services for authors.
Please note that one of the journals included in our Shedl read and publish deal, ICES Journal of Marine Science will become fully Gold Open Access in January 2023. Manuscripts submitted after October 1, 2022 will be subject to an APC if they are accepted, since they will be published in 2023. Please click on the link for more information Open Access | ICES Journal of Marine Science | Oxford Academic (oup.com)
Please note that the following titles charge page/colour charges and/or submissions fees, these charges cannot be paid from the UKRI, Wellcome, CRUK or BHF block grants,
Sage - UK Open Access Agreements
SHEDL Read and Publish / Transformational deal: Term: 2 years
Start and end dates: 1st Jan 2023 -
Agreement Specifications
Publishing
- Authors at UK institutions can increase their OA publishing output up to 100% by publishing an uncapped number of articles for each year of the agreement. This excludes some article types, for example; book reviews, commercially sponsored articles, and titles joining mid-year.
- A choice of CC-BY or CC-BY-NC will be offered to articles, unless a funder restriction takes precedence.
- Author retains copyright to all authored open access articles
Gold OA
- A 20% discount off list price APCs for institutions to publish in licensed SAGE wholly Gold OA journals.
- There are a small number of exclusions where SAGE is contractually prevented from offering this discount. A list of excluded journals will be available from the publisher directly.
- This discount cannot be combined with other discounts
New Read and publish deal: Term 3 years
Start and end dates: 04/07/2023 - 31/12/2025
Agreement Specifications
Publishing
The Springer Nature Read and Publish 2023-2025 brings together Springer, Palgrave Macmillan, and Nature Research journals into one Read and Publish agreement. It is part of the wider Jisc Collections Springer Nature agreement.
This allows researchers from UHI to publish Open Access articles for free in Springer Nature hybrid journals.
Take a look at this Springer Nature Jisc Transformative Agreement guide for authors.
Please see a list of eligible journals below.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
New Read and Publish / Transformational deal: Term: 2 years
Start and end dates: 18th Mar 2024 -
Agreement Specifications
- Publishing in hybrid journals, all fully OA journals (except Dove Medical Press titles), F1000 and Routledge Open Research for eligible authors within annual article cap of 7,700 articles per year based on all members participating plus 10% additional buffer
- CC-BY applied to article licences
The following link shows which titles your authors can publish in, just use the filter to exclude Dove Medical titles (which aren’t technically 'T&F' hence are excluded): https://authorservices.taylorandfrancis.com/choose-open/publishing-open-access/open-access-cost-finder/
Wiley home page
New Read and Publish / Transformational deal: Term: 2 years
Start and end dates: -
Agreement Specifications
- Unlimited Hybrid OA publishing
- CC-BY applied to article licences
- Includes over 1,600 Wiley journals that can be published in.
- Eligible article types suitable for publishing include :
- Primary research and review articles, including but not limited to original articles
- Cast studies / Reviews Short communications
Articles also have to be either
- Accepted for publication in a Wiley hybrid journal from 1st January 2024
- Submitted to a Wiley fully open access journal from 1st January 2024
Authors will be identified as eligible for APC coverage under this agreement by their institutional authors.
Note read and publish deal: UHI researchers who are the 'corresponding author' can publish articles in any of Wiley's fully gold open access or Wiley's hybrid (subscription) journals that offer OnlineOpen with no further open access costs. For more information about how to publish open access with Wiley and eligibility criteria please refer to Wiley open access agreements. For the UK this agreement runs until the end of December 2025.
Wiley OA funding - Jisc and Wiley have signed two year ‘read and publish’ agreement, giving UHI authors the opportunity to publish in any of Wiley’s fully Gold open access (OA) or Wiley’s hybrid, Online Open journals at no cost to them (no APC charges). The Deal will run until December 2025. To apply for this you need to be the corresponding/ lead author.
Self-archiving - authors of articles published in Wiley journals are permitted to self-archive the submitted (preprint) version of the article at any time, and may self-archive the accepted (peer-reviewed) version after an embargo period.
Author Compliance Tool (UHI is listed here as an institution)
Services for authors.