Classical Mechanics by
This is the second volume of three books devoted to Mechanics. In this book, dynamical and advanced mechanics problems are stated, illustrated, and discussed, including a few novel concepts in comparison to standard text books and monographs. Apart from being addressed to a wide spectrum of graduate students, postgraduate students, researchers, and teachers from the fields of mechanical and civil engineering, this volume is also intended to be used as a self-contained material for applied mathematicians and physical scientists and researchers.
Engineering Mathematics by
First published in 2010, Engineering Mathematics is a valuable contribution to the field of Further Education.
Higher Engineering Mathematics by
John BirdOCOs approach, based on numerous worked examples and interactive problems, is ideal for students from a wide range of academic backgrounds, and can be worked through at the studentOCOs own pace. Basic mathematical theories are explained in a straightforward manner, being supported by practical engineering examples and applications in order to ensure that readers can relate theory to practice. The extensive and thorough topic coverage makes this an ideal text for a range of university degree modules, foundation degrees, and HNC/D units.Now in its sixth edition, Higher Engineering Mathematics is an established textbook that has helped many thousands of students to gain exam success. It has been updated to maximise the bookOCOs suitability for first year engineering degree students and those following foundation degrees. This book also caters specifically for the engineering mathematics units of the Higher National Engineering schemes from Edexcel. As such it includes the core unit, Analytical Methods for Engineers, and two specialist units, Further Analytical Methods for Engineers and Engineering Mathematics, both of which are common to the electrical/electronic engineering and mechanical engineering pathways. For ease of reference a mapping grid is included that shows precisely which topics are required for the learning outcomes of each unit.The book is supported by a suite of free web downloads: OCo Introductory-level algebra: To enable students to revise the basic algebra needed for engineering courses OCo available at http: //books.elsevier.com/companions/XXXXXXXXXOCo Instructor''s Manual: Featuring full worked solutions and mark schemes for all of the assignments in the book and the remedial algebra assignment OCo available at http: //www.textbooks.elsevier.com (for lecturers only)OCo Extensive Solutions Manual: 640 pages featuring worked solutions for 1,000 of the further problems and exercises in the book OCo available on http: //www.textbooks.elsevier.com (for lecturers only)"
Hillier's Fundamentals of Motor Vehicle Technology by
This edition of Hillier's has been updated and undergone a full-colour revision featuring new photos and illustrations to engage those keen to learn the fundamentals of MVT and enhance their understanding of the core concepts whilst keeping the straightforward approach that is much admired in this authoritative manual.
An Introduction to Mechanical Engineering: part one by
An Introduction to Mechanical Engineering is an essential text for all first-year undergraduate students as well as those studying for foundation degrees and HNDs. The text gives a thorough grounding in the following core engineering topics: thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, solid mechanics, dynamics, electricals and electronics, and materials science. As well as mechanical engineers, the text will be highly relevant to civil, automotive, aeronautical/aerospace and general engineering students. The text is written by an experienced team of first-year lecturers at the internationally renowned University of Nottingham. The material in this book has full student and lecturer support on an accompanying website at http: //cw.tandf.co.uk/mechanicalengineering/, which includes: worked examples of exam-style questions multiple-choice self-assessment revision guides.
An Introduction to Mechanical Engineering: part two by
An Introduction to Mechanical Engineering: Part 2 provides thorough coverage of the following core engineering topics: - Fluid dynamics - Thermodynamics - Solid mechanics - Control theory and techniques - Mechanical power, loads and transmissions - Structural vibration As well as mechanical engineers, the text will be highly relevant to automotive, aeronautical/aerospace and general engineering students.
Mechanical Engineering Principles by
In this book John Bird and Carl Ross introduce mechanical principles and technology through examples and applications - enabling students to develop a sound understanding of the principles needed by professional engineers and technicians. No previous background in engineering is assumed and theoretical concepts are supported by over 600 problems and worked examples. This completely new text is designed to match a wide range of pre-degree courses, and provide an accessible introduction for undergraduates with no previous background in engineering studies. The authors have ensured syllabus-match for the leading UK courses at this level: AVCE optional units Mechanical Engineering Principles and Further Mechanical Engineering Principles, and the new BTEC National unit: Mechanical Principles. A student-friendly introduction to core engineering topics which does not assume any background in engineering studies A brand new text matched to the latest syllabus requirements Includes over 600 problems and 400 worked examples
Practical Reliability Engineering by
With emphasis on practical aspects of engineering, this bestseller has gained worldwide recognition through progressive editions as the essential reliability textbook. This fifth edition retains the unique balanced mixture of reliability theory and applications, thoroughly updated with the latest industry best practices. Practical Reliability Engineering fulfils the requirements of the Certified Reliability Engineer curriculum of the American Society for Quality (ASQ). Each chapter is supported by practice questions, and a solutions manual is available to course tutors via the companion website. Enhanced coverage of mathematics of reliability, physics of failure, graphical and software methods of failure data analysis, reliability prediction and modelling, design for reliability and safety as well as management and economics of reliability programmes ensures continued relevance to all quality assurance and reliability courses. Notable additions include: New chapters on applications of Monte Carlo simulation methods and reliability demonstration methods. Software applications of statistical methods, including probability plotting and a wider use of common software tools. More detailed descriptions of reliability prediction methods. Comprehensive treatment of accelerated test data analysis and warranty data analysis. Revised and expanded end-of-chapter tutorial sections to advance students' practical knowledge. The fifth edition will appeal to a wide range of readers from college students to seasoned engineering professionals involved in the design, development, manufacture and maintenance of reliable engineering products and systems. www.wiley.com/go/oconnor_reliability5
Reliability and Safety Engineering by
Reliability and safety are core issues that must be addressed throughout the life cycle of engineering systems. Reliability and Safety Engineering presents an overview of the basic concepts, together with simple and practical illustrations. The authors present reliability terminology in various engineering fields, viz.,* electronics engineering,* software engineering,* mechanical engineering,* structural engineering, and* power systems engineering.They describe the latest applications in the area of probabilistic safety assessment, such as technical specification optimization, risk monitoring and risk informed in-service inspection. Reliability and safety studies must, inevitably, deal with uncertainty, so the book includes uncertainty propagation methods: Monte Carlo simulation, fuzzy arithmetic, Dempster-Shafer theory and probability bounds. Reliability and Safety Engineering also highlights advances in system reliability and safety assessment including dynamic system modeling and uncertainty management. Case studies from typical nuclear power plants, as well as from structural, software, and electronic systems are also discussed.Reliability and Safety Engineering combines discussions of the existing literature on basic concepts and applications with state-of-the-art methods used in reliability and risk assessment of engineering systems. It is designed to assist practicing engineers, students and researchers in the areas of reliability engineering and risk analysis.
Springer Handbook of Mechanical Engineering by
This resource covers all areas of interest for the practicing engineer as well as for the student at various levels and educational institutions. It features the work of authors from all over the world who have contributed their expertise and support the globally working engineer in finding a solution for today's mechanical engineering problems. Each subject is discussed in detail and supported by numerous figures and tables.
Wind Energy-- the Facts by
Wind power is often held up as the most accessible and cost-effective route to reducing our reliance on fossil fuels and improving our energy independence, yet knowledge of what it offers is often clouded by myths and misunderstandings, which can hamper its adoption. This new book, the result of an ambitious project coordinated by the European Wind Energy Association, aims to present the facts about wind energy. It includes six sections discussing: - Technology - Grid integration - Economics of wind - Its industry and markets - Its environmental impacts - The scenarios and targets for wind energyContributions are drawn from nine leading research bodies across Europe, and the material is global in its scope. It is therefore an essential resource and reference for those whose work or study demands an in-depth examination of the subject, and for anyone who wants detailed, accurate and up-to-date information on this key energy source.
Wind Energy Handbook by
Named as one of Choice's Outstanding Academic Titles of 2012 Every year, Choice subject editors recognise the most significant print and electronic works reviewed in Choice during the previous calendar year. Appearing annually in Choice's January issue, this prestigious list of publications reflects the best in scholarly titles and attracts extraordinary attention from the academic library community. The authoritative reference on wind energy, now fully revised and updated to include offshore wind power A decade on from its first release, the Wind Energy Handbook, Second Edition, reflects the advances in technology underpinning the continued expansion of the global wind power sector. Harnessing their collective industrial and academic expertise, the authors provide a comprehensive introduction to wind turbine design and wind farm planning for onshore and offshore wind-powered electricity generation. The major change since the first edition is the addition of a new chapter on offshore wind turbines and offshore wind farm development. Opening with a survey of the present state of offshore wind farm development, the chapter goes on to consider resource assessment and array losses. Then wave loading on support structures is examined in depth, including wind and wave load combinations and descriptions of applicable wave theories. After sections covering optimum machine size and offshore turbine reliability, the different types of support structure deployed to date are described in turn, with emphasis on monopiles, including fatigue analysis in the frequency domain. Final sections examine the assessment of environmental impacts and the design of the power collection and transmission cable network. New coverage features: turbulence models updated to reflect the latest design standards, including an introduction to the Mann turbulence model extended treatment of horizontal axis wind turbines aerodynamics, now including a survey of wind turbine aerofoils, dynamic stall and computational fluid dynamics developments in turbine design codes techniques for extrapolating extreme loads from simulation results an introduction to the NREL cost model comparison of options for variable speed operation in-depth treatment of individual blade pitch control grid code requirements and the principles governing the connection of large wind farms to transmission networks four pages of full-colour pictures that illustrate blade manufacture, turbine construction and offshore support structure installation Firmly established as an essential reference, Wind Energy Handbook, Second Edition will prove a real asset to engineers, turbine designers and wind energy consultants both in industry and research. Advanced engineering students and new entrants to the wind energy sector will also find it an invaluable resource.
This is a small selection of the eBooks available in this area. Many more can be found in the library catalogue or the eBook search page:
This is only a small selection of relevant collections. A full list of eCollections can be found on the A-Z pages:
The university subscribes to British Standards Online, including British (BS), European (EN) and International (ISO) Standards. You can search by keyword or the standard number if you know it.
