Introduction to Architectural Technology, 2nd Edition
by
This text provides an accessible introduction for architecture students to all aspects of architectural technology: structural physics, structural elements and forms, heating, lighting, environmental control, and computer modelling. It will also help students to integrate their design thinking with appropriate structural and environmental solutions. The book explains the relationships between physical phenomena, materials, building elements and structural types using simple classification systems and real world examples.
Architectural Technology
by
... it gives me great pleasure to support the first ever publication to specifically address the area of research, and in particular its relationship with practice, in the discipline of architectural technology...not only ground breaking because it is the first book of its kind, but also because it provides at long last one of the accepted foundations needed to underpin the emerging academic discipline, namely a recognised research base. CIAT, in supporting this publication, is aware of the need for books such as this to sustain the process of research informed practice, as an aid for both students and those practising within the discipline of architectural technology. Norman Wienand MCIAT, Vice President Education, Chartered Institute of Architectural Technologists Architectural technology is the realisation of architecture through the application of building science, forming the constructive link between the abstract and the physical. Architectural Technology: research and practice demonstrates the importance of research in architectural technology and aims to stimulate further research and debate by enlightening, informing and challenging readers. Chapter authors address the interplay between research and practice in the field of architectural technology, examining the influence of political, economic, social, environmental and technological issues. The focus throughout is on creating sustainable buildings that are constructed economically and function effectively and efficiently within their service life cycle. The book's mix of chapters and case studies bring together a number of different themes and provides invaluable insights into the world of research from the perspective of those working within the architectural technology field - practitioners, academics and students. The underlying message is that architectural technology is not just a profession; it is a way of thinking and a way of acting. This is highlighted by contributions from architects and architectural technologists passionate about architectural technology as a field of knowledge. Contributions range from the theoretical and polemic to the pragmatic and applied, further helping to demonstrate the richness of the field. About the Editor Stephen Emmitt is Professor of Architectural Technology at Loughborough University UK and Visiting Professor of Innovation Sciences at Halmstad University, Sweden and a member of CIAT's Research Group.
Ethics, Design and Planning of the Built Environment
by
The book proposes a set of original contributions in research areas shared by planning theory, architectural research, design and ethical inquiry. The contributors gathered in 2010 at the Ethics of the Built Environment seminar organized by the editors at Delft University of Technology. Both prominent and emerging scholars presented their researches in the areas of aesthetics, technological risks, planning theory and architecture. The scope of the seminar was highlighting shared lines of ethical inquiry among the themes discussed, in order to identify perspectives of innovative interdisciplinary research. After the seminar all seminar participants have elaborated their proposed contributions. Some of the most prominent international authors in the field were subsequently invited to join in with this inquiry. Claudia Basta teaches "Network Infrastructures and Mobility" at Wageningen University. Between 2009 and 2011 she worked as Coordinator of the 3TU Centre of Excellence for Ethics and Technology of Delft University, where she completed her post-doc research on the shared areas of investigation between risk theories, planning theories and ethical inquiry. Her main research interests concern the matter of assessing and governing technological risks in relation to sustainable land use planning. She wrote a number of journal articles and contributions to collective books on these themes. Stefano Moroni teaches "Land use ethics and the law" at Milan Politecnico. His main research interests concern planning theory and ethics. He is the author of a number of books and journal articles. Recent publications (as co-author): Contractual Communities in the Self-Organizing City (Springer 2012). nbsp; nbsp; nbsp; nbsp; nbsp; nbsp; nbsp; nbsp;
Introduction to Architecture
by
A survey of the built environment distills the work of legendary author and illustrator Francis D. K. Ching into a single volume Introduction to Architecture presents the essential texts and drawings of Francis D. K. Ching for those new to architecture and design. With his typical highly graphic approach, this is the first introductory text from Ching that surveys the design of spaces, buildings, and cities. In an easy to understand format, readers will explore the histories and theories of architecture, design elements and process, and the technical aspects of the contemporary profession of architecture. The book explains the experience and practice of architecture and allied disciplines for future professionals, while those who love the beauty of architecture drawing will delight in the gorgeous illustrations included. Overview of the issues and practices of architecture in an all-in-one introductory text Includes new chapters and introductory essays by James Eckler, and features more than 1,000 drawings throughout Professor Ching is the bestselling author of numerous books on architecture and design, all published by Wiley; his works have been translated into 16 languages and are regarded as classics for their renowned graphical presentation For those pursuing a career in architecture or anyone who loves architectural design and drawing, Introduction to Architecture presents a beautifully illustrated and comprehensive guide to the subject.
Advanced Construction Technology 5th Edition
by
The authors provide a comprehensive and practical presentation to many aspects of construction practice, as applied to buildings for industrial and commercial purposes. The book covers site works, plant and equipment, substructure, demolition and temporary work, and much more.
Construction Technology
by
This new textbook provides a comprehensive introduction to every aspect of the technology of low-rise construction. It includes sub-structure (site work, setting out and foundations) and superstructure (flooring, roofs, finishes, fittings and fixtures). The material here covers the first year course requirement of all courses on which construction technology is taught - no matter what the ultimate qualification. It offers tried and tested solutions to a range of construction problems and is organised following the sequence of construction. It will show what has been done in the past, demonstrating good practice - what works and what doesn't - and common faults. There are summaries of the more important BSI documents and reference to the latest building regulations. Lengthy explanations are avoided by relying heavily on hundreds of illustrations, pairing detail drawings with clear photographs to show real life construction situations. The supporting spreadsheet referred to in the book can be found at this link http://www.blackwellpublishing.com/pdf/fleming/Fleming_spreadsheet.xls
This is a very small selection of the eBooks available in this area. Many more can be found in the library catalogue or the eBook search page:
Provides the following resource collections: Construction Information Service; Engineer-it Enhanced; Occupational Health and Safety Information Service; Specify-it Enhanced. See under each collection for description and content details. Subject areas : Construction; Engineering; Health & Safety.
Key health & safety documentation relevant to the workplace covering all Health and Safety issues, safety training, first-aid, electrical safety, manual handling and dangerous substances. Contains full-text documents and other resources including approved codes of practice, case law and selection of guides and presentations.
Abstract and full-text journal articles with full text from 2001 plus over 8000 eBooks. Abstracts for some articles date as far back as 1823.
1280 full text journals covering the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences and medicine. Date coverage: from 1997. Includes approx. 1000 full text eBooks.
Technical resources and information service for the Construction Industry. Part of the IHS Technical Indexes resource. Resources include : full-text access to industry journals and to a number of industry specific handbooks, regulations and codes; access to the Steel Construction databases and to the Concrete Advisory Services.
Collection of authoritative full-text science, engineering and technology references, containing over 1,000 resources from more than 40 international publishers and learned societies. Includes a selection of interactive data analysis tools together with an engineering specific search engine.
All EBSCO Host Databases have switched to a new user interface. For more information, please see our EBSCOhost Video guide. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk. Provides the following resource collections: Academic Search Complete; ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials; Business Source Premier; CINAHL Ultimate; Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text; EBSCO eBooks; Education Research Complete; Exploring Race in Society; European Views of the Americas; 1493-1750; GreenFile; Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts; Medline with Full Text; Open Dissertations; Philosopher's Index with Full Text; PsycArticles; PsycInfo; SocIndex with Full Text; SportDiscus with Full Text. See under each individual collection for details.
This is only a selection of relevant collections. A full list of eCollections can be found on the A-Z pages:
This is only a small selection of key journals in this discipline. Along with the ones listed here, many more can be found via the eJournal gateway:
The university subscribes to British Standards Online, including British (BS), European (EN) and International (ISO) Standards. You can search by keyword or the standard number if you know it.
Terms and Conditions of use. BSI British Standards is the National Standards Body of the UK responsible for the development and publication of technical standards and standardisation of products and services. BSI online provides access to the full-text of over 20,000 BSI publications including standards, specifications, interpretive guides and codes of practice. Terms and Conditions.
