Computer-Aided Design in Power Engineering
by
This textbooks demonstrates the application of software tools in solving a series of problems from the field of designing power system structures and systems. It contains four chapters: The first chapter leads the reader through all the phases necessary in the procedures of computer aided modeling and simulation. It guides through the complex problems presenting on the basis of eleven original examples. The second chapter presentsnbsp; application of software tools in power system calculations of power systems equipment design. Several design example calculations are carried out using engineering standards like MATLAB, EMTP/ATP, Excel & Access, AutoCAD and Simulink. The third chapters focuses on the graphical documentation using a collection of software tools (AutoCAD, EPLAN, SIMARIS SIVACON, SIMARIS DESIGN) which enable the complete automation of the development of graphical documentation of a power systems. In the fourth chapter, the application of software tools in the project management in power systems is discussed. Here, the emphasis is put on the standard software MS Excel and MS Project.
Bird's Electrical and Electronic Principles and Technology
by
Now in its seventh edition, Bird's Electrical and Electronic Principles and Technology introduces and covers theory through detailed examples and laboratory experiments, enabling students to gain knowledge required by technicians in fields such as engineering, electronics, and telecommunications. This edition includes several new sections, including glass batteries, climate change, the future of electricity production, and discussions concerning everyday aspects of electricity, such as watts and lumens, electrical safety, AC vs DC, and trending technologies. The extensive and thorough topic coverage makes this a great text for a range of level 2 and 3 engineering courses, which has helped thousands of students succeed in their exams. It is also suitable for BTEC First, National and Diploma syllabuses, City & Guilds Technician Certificate and Diploma syllabuses, and Foundation Degrees in engineering. Its companion website at www.routledge.com/cw/bird provides resources for both students and lecturers, including full solutions for all 900 further questions, lists of essential formulae, multiple-choice tests and illustrations, as well as full solutions to revision tests and lab experiments for course instructors.
Electric Motors and Drives
by
Electric Motors and Drives: Fundamentals, Types and Applications, Fifth Edition is intended primarily for non-specialist users or students of electric motors and drives, but many researchers and specialist industrialists have also acknowledged its value in providing a clear understanding of the fundamentals. It bridges the gap between specialist textbooks (too analytical for the average user) and handbooks (full of detail but with little insight) providing an understanding of how each motor and drive system works.The fifth edition has been completely revised, updated and expanded. All of the most important types of motor and drive are covered, including d.c., induction, synchronous (including synchronous reluctance and salient Permanent Magnet), switched reluctance, and stepping. There has been significant innovation in this area since the fourth edition, particularly in the automotive, aircraft and industrial sectors, with novel motor topologies emerging, including hybrid designs that combine permanent magnet and reluctance effects. We now include a physical basis for understanding and quantifying torque production in these machines, and this leads to simple pictures that illuminate the control conditions required to optimise torque. The key converter topologies have been brought together, and the treatment of inverter switching strategies expanded.A new chapter is devoted to the treatment of Field Oriented control, reflecting its increasing importance for all a.c. motor drives. A unique physically-based approach is adopted which builds naturally on the understanding of motor behaviour developed earlier in the book: the largely non-mathematical treatment dispels much of the mystique surrounding what is often regarded as a difficult topic.- Helps users acquire knowledge and understanding of the capabilities and limitations of motors and drives without struggling through unnecessary math and theory- Presents updated material on the latest and most widely-used motors and drives, including brushless servo motors- Includes additional diagrams and worked examples throughout this updated edition- Includes a physical basis for the understanding and quantifying torque production
Energy Storage for Power Systems
by
Unregulated distributed energy sources such as solar roofs and windmills and electric vehicle requirements for intermittent battery charging are variable sources either of electricity generation or demand. These sources impose additional intermittent load on conventional electric power systems. As a result thermal power plants whose generation is absolutely essential for any power system are increasingly being used for cycling operations thus increasing greenhouse gas emissions and electricity cost. The use of secondary energy storage might be a solution. Various technologies for storing electric energy are available; besides electrochemical ones such as batteries, there are mechanical, chemical and thermal means, all with their own advantages and disadvantages regarding scale, efficiency, cost, and other parameters.
Engineering Mathematics
by
Now in its eighth edition, Engineering Mathematics is an established textbook that has helped thousands of students to succeed in their exams. John Bird's approach is based on worked examples and interactive problems. Mathematical theories are explained in a straightforward manner, being supported by practical engineering examples and applications in order to ensure that readers can relate theory to practice. The extensive and thorough topic coverage makes this an ideal text for a range of Level 2 and 3 engineering courses. This title is supported by a companion website with resources for both students and lecturers, including lists of essential formulae and multiple choice tests.
Higher Engineering Mathematics
by
Now in its eighth edition, Higher Engineering Mathematics has helped thousands of students succeed in their exams. Theory is kept to a minimum, with the emphasis firmly placed on problem-solving skills, making this a thoroughly practical introduction to the advanced engineering mathematics that students need to master. The extensive and thorough topic coverage makes this an ideal text for upper-level vocational courses and for undergraduate degree courses. It is also supported by a fully updated companion website with resources for both students and lecturers. It has full solutions to all 2,000 further questions contained in the 277 practice exercises.
Integration of Green and Renewable Energy in Electric Power Systems
by
A practical, application-oriented text that presents analytical results for the better modeling and control of power converters in the integration of green energy in electric power systems The combined technology of power semiconductor switching devices, pulse width modulation algorithms, and control theories are being further developed along with the performance improvement of power semiconductors and microprocessors so that more efficient, reliable, and cheaper electric energy conversion can be achieved within the next decade. Integration of Green and Renewable Energy in Electric Power Systems covers the principles, analysis, and synthesis of closed loop control of pulse width modulated converters in power electronics systems, with special application emphasis on distributed generation systems and uninterruptible power supplies. The authors present two versions of a documented simulation test bed for homework problems and projects based on Matlab/Simulink, designed to help readers understand the content through simulations. The first consists of a number of problems and projects for classroom teaching convenience and learning. The second is based on the most recent work in control of power converters for the research of practicing engineers and industry researchers. Addresses a combination of the latest developments in control technology of pulse width modulation algorithms and digital control methods Problems and projects have detailed mathematical modeling, control design, solution steps, and results Uses a significant number of tables, circuit and block diagrams, and waveform plots with well-designed, class-tested problems/solutions and projects designed for the best teaching-learning interaction Provides computer simulation programs as examples for ease of understanding and platforms for the projects Covering major power-conversion applications that help professionals from a variety of industries, Integration of Green and Renewable Energy in Electric Power Systems provides practical, application-oriented system analysis and synthesis that is instructional and inspiring for practicing electrical engineers and researchers as well as undergraduate and graduate students.
Project Management, Planning and Control
by
Covering the principles and techniques you need to successfully manage an engineering or technical project from start to finish, Project Management, Planning and Control is an established and widely recommended project management handbook.Building on its clear and detailed coverage of planning, scheduling and control, this eighth edition includes new case studies from industries including petrochemical and construction, as well as updates throughout to account for changes and best practice in governance and adjudication. It also now includes expanded coverage of AI, Big Data and sustainability.Ideal for those studying for Project Management Professional (PMP) qualifications, Project Management, Planning and Control is aligned with the latest Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK) for both the Project Management Institute (PMI) and the Association of Project Management (APM) and includes questions and answers to help you test your understanding.- Self-contained chapters make this ideal for quick reference.- Provides case studies in project management from construction industries and AI.- Updated and expanded to address new trends and techniques related to governance, stakeholder management, BIM/VDC and Primavera P6.
Risk Assessment of Power Systems
by
Extended models, methods, and applications in power system risk assessment Risk Assessment of Power Systems: Models, Methods, and Applications, Second Edition fills the gap between risk theory and real-world application. Author Wenyuan Li is a leading authority on power system risk and has more than twenty-five years of experience in risk evaluation. This book offers real-world examples to help readers learn to evaluate power system risk during planning, design, operations, and maintenance activities. Some of the new additions in the Second Edition include: New research and applied achievements in power system risk assessment A discussion of correlation models in risk evaluation How to apply risk assessment to renewable energy sources and smart grids Asset management based on condition monitoring and risk evaluation Voltage instability risk assessment and its application to system planning The book includes theoretical methods and actual industrial applications. It offers an extensive discussion of component and system models, applied methods, and practical examples, allowing readers to effectively use the basic concepts to conduct risk assessments for power systems in the real world. With every original chapter updated, two new sections added, and five entirely new chapters included to cover new trends, Risk Assessment of Power Systems is an essential reference.
Wind and Solar Power Systems
by
The search for clean, renewable energy sources has yielded enormous growth and new developments in these technologies in a few short years, driving down costs and encouraging utilities in many nations, both developed and developing, to add and expand wind and solar power capacity. The first, best-selling edition of Wind and Solar Power Systems provided the most complete and modern treatment of renewable energy. This second edition continues the tradition by offering updated and expanded coverage of this growing field. The book begins with individual sections devoted to wind power and solar photovoltaic technologies, their engineering fundamentals, conversion characteristics, operational considerations to maximize output, and emerging trends. The discussion of wind power includes the theory of induction machine performance and operation as well as generator speed control, while the solar PV section includes array design, environmental variables, and sun-tracking methods. This edition includes two chapters devoted to new and specialized technologies. The third section explores large-scale energy storage technologies, overall electrical system performance, and total plant economy while the final section explores ancillary power systems derived from the sun. Focusing on the complete system rather than on a single component, Wind and Solar Power Systems: Design, Analysis, and Operation, Second Edition offers the most comprehensive reference to all aspects of modern renewable energy systems.
Planning and Installing Photovoltaic Systems
by
Growth in photovoltaic (PV) manufacturing worldwide continues its upward trajectory. This bestselling guide has become the essential tool for installers, engineers and architects, detailing every subject necessary for successful project implementation, from the technical design to the legal and marketing issues of PV installation. Beginning with resource assessment and an outline of the core components, this guide comprehensively covers system design, economic analysis, installation, operation and maintenance of PV systems. The second edition has been fully updated to reflect the state of the art in technology and concepts, including: new chapters on marketing and the history of PV; new information on the photovoltaic market; new material on lightning protection; a new section on building integrated systems; and new graphics, data and photos. Published with Intelligent Energy
This is a small selection of the eBooks available in this area. Many more can be found in the library catalogue or the eBook search page:
A multi-disciplinary resource of academic journals and popular magazine articles in broad range of subjects. Full text of articles from over 4,000 journals with summaries and abstracts from over 8,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers.NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
Original research and first-hand perspectives from the world's leading thinkers in computing and information technologies.
Key health & safety documentation relevant to the workplace covering all Health and Safety issues, safety training, first-aid, electrical safety, manual handling and dangerous substances. Contains full-text documents and other resources including approved codes of practice, case law and selection of guides and presentations.
Abstract and full-text journal articles with full text from 2001 plus over 8000 eBooks. Abstracts for some articles date as far back as 1823.
Collection of authoritative Science, Engineering and Technology and Arts and Humanities citation indexes, covering over 250 disciplines. Includes a selection of interactive data analysis tools . Also includes Medline. Useful for literature reviews.
This is only a small selection of relevant collections. A full list of eCollections can be found on the A-Z pages:
This is only a small selection of key journals in this discipline. Along with the ones listed here, many more can be found via the eJournal gateway.
The university subscribes to British Standards Online, including British (BS), European (EN) and International (ISO) Standards. You can search by keyword or the standard number if you know it.
Terms and Conditions of use. BSI British Standards is the National Standards Body of the UK responsible for the development and publication of technical standards and standardisation of products and services. BSI online provides access to the full-text of over 20,000 BSI publications including standards, specifications, interpretive guides and codes of practice.
