Skip to main content

Research Publishing (Open Access): Publisher policies

Open access compliance and REF 2021

Open Access and Licensing Information available on Publisher Websites

During the publication process the Lead or Corresponding Author will be provided with information from the publisher.  However useful information regarding open access policies, including embargo periods and licensing can also be found on publisher websites.  If in doubt please check with the publisher directly or contact the UHI open access compliance officer.

Elsevier

Elsevier home page

Your Guide to Publishing Open Access with Elsevier (PDF)

Journal Specific Embargo Periods (PDF) - only applicable for UK researchers who wish to self-archive their Author Accepted Manuscript (AAM).

Open Access licenses (Elsevier's policy)  

Articles sharing guidelines - they support green open access and accepted manuscripts can be self -archived following their sharing guidelines and are required to attach a CC-BY-NC-ND license.

Funder agreements - Elsevier works with institutions and funding bodies to help authors publishing in our journals comply with open access policies.

Author services

Taylor & Francis

Taylor & Francis home page

Taylor and Francis open access journal checker  - you can use this table to check which journals offer gold OA, current article publishing charges (APCs), green OA embargo periods, and which licenses you can choose to  publish under.  

Open access funder policies and mandates - major funder mandates and policies around open access (OA), with a brief summary of key points for each one. These policies cover gold (publishing your work) and / or green (the archiving of your work) OA.

Sharing your work - please note embargoes apply if you are posting the AAM (author accepted manuscript) to an institutional or subject repository, or to a scholarly collaboration network such as Mendeley.

Copyright - author services

Author Rights Pilot - applies to Library and Information Science, Archives, and Heritage journals.

Author services

Oxford University Press

Oxford University Press (Academic) home page

Open access support - overview

Oxford access licenses at OUP note: authors not choosing the Oxford Open option (but open self archiving) should follow the standard post-print archiving policy of the relevant journal. This policy can be found in the journal's Author Instructions, or by contacting Permissions at Oxford Journals.

FAQs: Oxford Open - covers open access policies, charges, and funder policies at OUP.

Complying with funder policies - covers agencies' open access mandates.

Complying through self-archiving: Some funder mandates can be fulfilled through ‘Green’ open access, due to our self-archiving policies. All Oxford journals have specific self-archiving policies and licence forms which lay out in detail the provisions made for deposition in repositories. Broadly, most Oxford journals have 12 or 24 month embargos on self-archiving** (see individual journal policy for detail). As such, authors with funder mandates stipulating deposit in a repository after 12 months (e.g. NIH) can comply simply by publishing in a 12 month embargo journal. Any author whose funder mandates deposition in under 12 months will need to publish their paper under an open access licence to meet their funder or funders' requirements.

Author services

 

Springer

Springer home page

Open access funding (also refer to open choice option below)

Open access agreements with UK authors - Springer has a national agreement with UK institutions (including UHI) , negotiated through Jisc. If your institution has a Springer Compact agreement, then you may publish your article open access - at no charge to yourself.  The agreement provides access to more than 1,850 of Springer’s subscription journals, as well as allowing all authors from participating institutions to publish open access in subscription journals that offer the Open Choice option

Springer Hybrid (Open Choice) Journals - the vast majority of Springer’s Open Choice eligible journals publish open access articles under the CC BY license.

Springer self archiving policy - author(s) retain the right to make an AAM (author accepted manuscript) of their Article available for public release on any of the following 12 months after first publication ("Embargo Period"): their employer’s internal website; their institutional and/or funder repositories. AAMs may also be deposited in such repositories immediately on acceptance, provided that they are not made publicly available until after the Embargo Period.

Springer FAQ about authors' rights

Cambridge University Press

Cambridge University Press home page

Open access policies - includes quick links to key policies and information.

Green open access policy for journals.  Information covers what can be archived and when, including embargo periods. Some journals do not follow the Green archiving policy (check on the publisher website for exceptions)

Green open access policy for books, including license agreements.

Social sharing - covers journals, books and Elements (including SMUR 'submitted manuscript under review', AM 'accepted manuscript', VoR 'version of record').

Author services

American Chemical Society

American Chemical Society:  ACS operates an ‘Author choice’ programme.

Wiley

Wiley home page

Author Compliance Tool (UHI is listed here as an institution)

Licensing and open access

Self-archiving  - authors of articles published in Wiley journals are permitted to self-archive the submitted (preprint) version of the article at any time, and may self-archive the accepted (peer-reviewed) version after an embargo period.

Funder agreements  - Wiley has unique agreements with some funders so you can comply with open access policies when submitting and publishing in Wiley journals.

Author services

Emerald

Emerald home page

Emerald open access policies and FAQs - in 2017 Emerald abolished embargo periods for author accepted manuscripts (AAM) deposited on their institutional repository. This also applies retrospectively to outputs.

Author rights - Emerald note for UK authors: If you wish to submit your work accepted by Emerald to REF 2021, you must make a ‘closed deposit’ of your AAM to your respective institutional repository upon acceptance of your article. To help you do this, when your article is accepted, you will receive an automatic email from your journal editor via our ScholarOne journal site with your AAM attached. This email will also include all of the information required to enable you to make a ‘closed deposit’.

‘Closed deposit’ means that you must deposit the metadata (article title, journal name, volume, issue) and the full-text of your AAM, but the AAM should not be visible until official publication. The metadata must include the DOI of your article so that when the article has been published, the AAM appears on the institutional repository.

Copyright - FAQs

Emerald reach: open access to extend impact - covers open access books and journals plus a new open access 'proceedings' service. Introduction and short video about open reach.

Author services