Skip to main content

Western Isles Hospital (Ospadal nan Eilean Siar) Library - Western Isles Campus (Nursing, Midwifery and Health)

Podcasts

This page contains some Podcasts for staff/students to use to increase their knowledge of some of the resources offered by the Library.  It also contains material for NHS Scotland staff.

Primarily Department of Nursing and Midwifery Related

Moving from Stirling to UHI - a guide to the UHI Library System

This Podcast below explores where to find materials in the UHI Library system - the Catalogue and Databases.

Useful For All

Google Advanced

A podcast below briefly shows how to use the Google Advanced search tool.

SCOPUS

A podcast showing basic use of the SCOPUS database.  Access available only to UHI staff and students.

 

King's Fund Library

This podcast looks at using the King's Fund Library database - very useful for health service development material.  Database is open access.

Social Care Online

This podcast looks at using the Social Care Online database - very useful for social/community healthcare material.  Compiled by the Social Care Institute for Excellence.  Database is open access.

NHS Specific

Obtaining a Knowledge Network Username/Password

This podcast shows staff how to register for accounts.   Staff should select their NHS Board - eg Highland, Western Isles, etc, use their nhs.net e-mail accounts and fill in their job and workplace details.

Using the Clinical Support Tools

No more trawling through the journals - the clinical support tools on the Knowledge Network provide constantly updating, evidence based summaries on clinical topics.  This podcast below shows how to use these tools with regard to the current COVID pandemic