A digital object identifier (DOI) can be used to cite and link to electronic documents. A DOI is guaranteed never to change, so you can use it to link permanently to electronic documents.
To cite or create a link to a document using a DOI
E.g. http://dx.doi.org/10.1145/3025453.3025744
Display the full citation
Included in this information is the DOI Bookmark which can be copied and pasted into the relevant application .
DOI linking is also enabled by appending the DOI to http://dx.doi.org/
Access CUP via the UHI's A-Z Online Collections page.
Journal level – to create a journal level URL, browse the journals by Title to find the journal required Hover your mouse over the journal title and right click. Select Copy link location from the menu. The copied URL can be pasted into relevant application, prefixed with our EZproxy URL.
Article level – to create an article level URL, find the relevant DOI and append it to http://dx.doi.org/ (search/browse for article and the DOI should be displayed with the bibliographic information)
It is not currently possible to deep-link to documents hosted on CIS.
Copy the URL from the browser address bar
Dawsonera eBook chapters
Go to the 'Table of contents' section' near the bottom of the page
Hover the mouse over the chapter you would like to link to and 'right click' to copy the link
Sometimes you may want to link to a different page and this can also be done using a similar method described above
First you will need to click read online to access the eBook and find the page you would like to create the link to
Then add /startPage/ and the page number link to the end of the URL. e.g:
​https://www.dawsonera.com.login.library.ucs.ac.uk/readonline/97332388/startpage/139. It may take a few attempts to link to the correct page as the number in the URL will be different to the page number of the eBook.
Access EJS via UHI's A-Z Online Collections page.
Search/browse for the journal/article required
Journal level – display the full record and select the Alert / Save / Share link in the top right hand corner and copy and paste the Permalink URL into relevant application .
Article and e-book level – display the detailed record, select Permalink from the right hand menu. The permalink will appear at the top of the screen; copy and paste the Permalink URL into relevant application
Journal level - When you have found the required journal and displayed the list of issues, copy and paste the URL from the browser into relevant application
Article level – to create an article level URL find the relevant DOI and append it to http://dx.doi.org/ (search/browse for article and the DOI should be included in the bibliographic information) – the resulting URL can be pasted into relevant application
Access JSTOR via UHI's A-Z Online Collections
Search or browse for the journal/article required
When you have found and displayed the journal/article required, copy and paste the URL from the browser into the relevant application.
JSTOR provide stable URL's for all their articles E.g.: http://www.jstor.org/stable/24033639
Hover your mouse over the "Open now" right click your mouse and choose Copy shortcut then paste the URL into the relevant application
Access relevant database via UHI's A-Z Online Collections
Search/browse for journal/article required
Journal level – when you have found the required journal and displayed the list of issues, copy and paste the URL from the browser into relevant application.
Article level – when you have found and displayed the relevant article via the citation/abstract option, the Document URL can be copied and pasted into relevant application
Access SAGE Journals Online via UHI's A-Z Online Collections
Search/browse for journal/article required
Journal level – when you have found the required journal and displayed the list of issues, copy and paste the URL from the browser into relevant application.
Article level – to create an article level URL, append the relevant DOI to http://dx.doi.org/ (DOI should be included in bibliographic information) - the resulting URL can be pasted into relevant application.
Access ScienceDirect via UHI's A-Z Online Collections
Search/browse for journal/article required
Journal level – at the journal home page, copy and paste the URL from the browser into relevant application
Article level – to create an article level URL, append the relevant DOI to http://dx.doi.org/ (DOI should be included in bibliographic information) - the resulting URL can be pasted into relevant application
Access Taylor & Francis Online via UHI's A-Z Online Collections
Search/browse for journal/article required
Journal level – locate the journal you want and go to the See all volumes and issues page. Copy URL from browser and paste into relevant application.
Article level – when you have found and displayed the relevant article, the DOI can be copied and pasted into relevant application.
Access Westlaw via UHI's A-Z Online Collections
Browse for the journal/article required (do not search as this will result in your search terms being highlighted in yellow when the content is subsequently accessed by users)
Journal level and article level– locate the journal/article you want and copy the URL from the browser
Paste the URL into the relevant application
