Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Highland Theological College Library

A guide for users of Highland Theological College Library

Librarian

Profile Photo
Geordie Cryle
Contact:
Highland Theological College UHI Library,
High Street,
Dingwall,
IV15 9HA
01349 780215

Hello from the librarian!

My name is Geordie and I've been the librarian of Highland Theological College UHI since September 2019, having worked in libraries since 2014. I love marmite, computers, board games and rollercoasters. Please get in touch with me and I'll be delighted to help you however I can.

Library Officer (2 days per week)

My name is Mark Stirling, and I am the Library Officer at Highland Theological College UHI, where I work alongside Geordie Cryle.  I have worked in various Highland libraries since 2017.  I enjoy entertaining, a good movie, and cycling.

Introduction

Supporting a Community of Faith and Scholarship since 1994

Click here to view an online exhibition on our history and collections

last updated: 5 January 2023

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Dingwall Library Opening Hours

We employ a hybrid working model and are available to help 9am-5pm Mon-Fri except during any vacation periods. We are committed to be flexible in opening hours to reasonably accommodate the needs of staff and students in response to demand. 

 

Mondays - 09:00-17:00 (Unstaffed)

Tuesday - Friday 09:00-17:00 (Staffed 10:00-16:00)

Access to HTC Paisley is by appointment, contact pamela.adkins@uhi.ac.uk

 

Closure Dates - Spring Holiday: 7th April-14th April 2023

                                              May Day Holiday: 1 May 2023

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Contact Details

For students and staff: Click here to book a video call appointment with Geordie

Email:  geordie.cryle@uhi.ac.uk or htc-library@uhi.ac.uk.  

Telephone: 01349 780215 or 07761606407

Need a chat? Ask me about student mentoring

 

During periods of annual leave or high demand, queries may be responded to by Mark D Stirling - Library Officer, Theology. mark.d.stirling@uhi.ac.uk 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Live Chat

Do you have an urgent query? Speak to a UHI library staff member on live chat. Available 09:00-17:00 during term time. Click here to start a chat

Borrowing, renewing and reserving books

Borrowing books

 

Access students and undergraduates 

may borrow up to 15 books at a time. Additional books may be loaned to students undertaking projects and dissertations at the librarian's discretion. The inter-site loan scheme allows books to be borrowed from other participating UHI libraries.

Postgraduates and staff 

may borrow more than 15 books at a time, at the librarian's discretion.The inter-site loan scheme allows books to be borrowed from other participating UHI libraries. Postgraduates and staff may also take advantage of inter-library loan to secure resources the university doesn't have already, detailed below.

Auditing students

If a student is auditing (sitting a module, but not undertaking the assessment) we will typically not offer postal loans, particularly if a text is in higher demand for students sitting assessments.

 

UHI Alumni 

can register to take advantage of a portion of the electronic resource collections using this form. Alumni should note that at present this scheme does not grant full access to the university's digital collections

The library service provides access to a vast collection of eBooks and eJournals which can be read online or downloaded. LibrarySearch covers all of the material held at HTC plus all the partner university library collections. The catalogue also provides links to the eBooks. Books for loan held by other university libraries may be borrowed through the Inter-Site Loan scheme.

 

Members of the Public

The public may register with the library as externals. External members may browse the facilities and can borrow up to 5 print books at a time. Access and borrowing for external members is a privilege, and is subject to demand from the staff and student body. Registering as an external member is free. External members do not have access to the electronic collections, postal loans, or freepost returns.

 

Renewals

Books may be renewed on request or through your online library account. All books are subject to immediate recall if requested by another user and should be returned immediately if a recall notice is issued. There are no fines for overdues, but you may be asked to pay for a replacement if a book is lost or damaged.

 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Click and Collect service (Dingwall & Paisley) 

A Click and Collect service is available. Requests cannot always be fulfilled the same day they are submitted and should be submitted in advance. 

To make use of this service please check the catalogue for book availability and use the 'Place Hold' button

Book requests will be processed as soon as possible and you will be notified by email with instructions on how to collect the books. Collections from the Paisley campus will be coordinated by the Paisley Centre Administrator.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Postal service 

If you are unable to collect your requested books in person, or are a distance learner you can request a Postal Loan.  We will not usually post print copies of books if an eBook edition of the book is available. Select 'Postal Loan' when you place a hold in the library catalogue.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Inter-Site loans (ISLs) 

If you need to borrow material held at another university library, please complete the relevant online request form (for Click and Collect or Postal) or email the library with details and we will request the items on your behalf.   We will not usually offer inter-site loans of print books where an eBook is available.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

British Library loans/Inter-library loan

If the material you want is not available in any of the partner libraries, please ask about a British Library loan.  If the book is not in stock, we may also consider purchasing a copy for our collection which you can then borrow. Postgraduates and staff may speak to the librarian about securing resources on inter-library loan. 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Books in Accessible Formats

For HTC students who have a disability which impairs the use of print books we can offer access to the online RNIB Bookshare platform, offering a huge variety of books in accessible formats and provided by the Royal National Institute of Blind People. Please contact the library if you would like to use this service or would like further information.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

SCONUL Access

The SCONUL Access Scheme allows students and researchers to apply to access the library collections of other participating higher education institutions.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Renewing books

Books can be renewed online via MyDay (go to Library Resources then Renew a Library Loan) or by logging into the Library Catalogue. You can also request the library to renew your books for you by emailing geordie.cryle@uhi.ac.uk or htc-library@uhi.ac.uk. We will recall books if they are in demand by other students.

We do not impose a daily overdue charge if your book is late back, however.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Reserving books

Highland Theological College UHI students or staff may reserve a book that is already out on loan (as long as it is a book from HTC library and not another UHI library) by sending an email to geordie.cryle@uhi.ac.uk or htc-library@uhi.ac.uk and quoting the details of the book. Please note: reserved books will only be held for a limited number of days before going back into circulation. You will be sent an email when books are available for collection or ready for posting

To request the recall of a book on loan to another please contact the library.

Returning books

Returning Books by Post

If returning by post, please return book to:

 

Highland Theological College UHI Library

High Street,

Dingwall, Ross-Shire

IV15 9HA

 

or by Freepost (from within the UK) to: 

Freepost RUEA–ASET–KGAE
Attn Library
Highland Theological College
High Street
Dingwall
IV15 9HA

Please note that Freepost is strictly for the use of UHI students and staff only

 

An optional freepost label can be downloaded and printed here: