Saturday - 8 am - 6 pm and Sunday - 8 am - 10 pm
The library has organised exiting events to celebrate this year's Book Week Scotland dedicated to the topic of adventure.
Tawona’s bio: 'I grew up with the oral tradition of spoken word and music, that celebrates the morals and lifestyle of my ancestral family, Moyo Chirandu - as a son of this family I am better known as Ganyamatope (as all sons are). From Zimbabwe, living in Glasgow, sharing my heritage with others keeps me grounded, and helps increase awareness of lesser-known perspectives of my experience as an African. Using these influences, I have developed a contemporary style of expression, through mbira (traditional Zimbabwean music instrument), spoken word and creative writing and drama. I often use humour to challenge stereotypes and misinformation.
"I draw on my challenging experiences (such as racism) faced with living in a different culture from my own. Trying to link cultures together, I see creative expression as a celebration, and building of positive self-esteem. "
Tendai's bio: Tendai Huchu was born in Bindura, Zimbabwe. He attended Hight School in Harare and then went to the University of Zimbabwe to study Mining Engineering in 2001. He dropped out in the middle of the first semester when he discovered that the maths had more letters and symbols than it had numbers. Tendai has a great love for literature, in particular the nineteenth century Russian novel. Tendai has published numerous novels that are all available from Perth library.
Jem's bio: 'I am a non-binary artist based in Glasgow. I make illustrations, comics and infographics, graphic recording and run workshops. I have led workshops at events such as Storycon and Ghost Con, and recently led interactive storytelling workshops with women at Willow to create a comic book called Beyond This Place. I also make a webcomic called The Flying Ship, a queer fantasy adventure story inspired by Slavic folklore.'
Visit the library or contact us for details at email@example.com, and take part in our library competition to win a dinner for two in UHI Perth The Gallery Restaurant.
This page introduces essential aspects of Perth College and the UHI library service that are relevant to all subjects, including:
Further information on each area is available by clicking on the tabs to the side of this page or you can book a face to face/online or telephone Library induction/support session
NEW! The UHI Perth Library Team are pleased to announce that two new private study rooms are now available for students to use. Syndicate Room 1 &2 are available during library opening hours. To book any of the rooms, please email Library.firstname.lastname@example.org , call 01738 877721, or book directly with the team at the main desk.
Situated on the First Floor of the Brahan Building, the Library is a quiet environment in which to work. It provides individual study space with 15 computers for you to use. We also have 40 study spaces available with a mix of individual and group study. We ask that you keep noise levels to a minimum and respect other students who are using the Library.
The Quiet Study area is adjacent to the Library and is an open-plan area for individual quiet study. You are welcome to bring your own device as the quiet study area has 22 study booths with a power point at each one if required.
On Floor 2 of the library you will find a flexible study space with a further 30 study spaces as well as 8 Apple Macs.
You can also borrow library-use only laptops from the main desk.
WiFi is available throughout the College - select Eduroam from the list of available networks.
Please respect other users by behaving in an appropriate and respectful manner. Please speak to a member of the Library team if you think a fellow student is behaving in an inappropriate way.
Mobile phones should be set to 'silent' in all areas of the Library so that you do not disturb others. Please leave the Library if you need to make a call.
Children are welcome in the Library for short periods of up to 2 hours at a time but please ensure that they are supervised at all times.
Please do not take hot food in to the Library - this is so that we can maintain a clean and safe environment for you to study in. Sandwiches and bottled water and drinks in a secure drinks container are allowed.
You will receive an automatic email when books are due to be returned. Please return books as soon as possible to make available for other people to borrow. If you need the book longer you can usually renew it (if it is not reserved).
There is a Book Return box located to the right at the bottom of the stairs to the library.
Book return box
You may borrow up to 15 books at any one time. The loan period is Standard loan which means you can have the book for 4 weeks after this time you can renew unless someone else is waiting for it. If another student requests a book that you have out on loan you will get an email to ask you to return the book to the library. You must return the book by the new due date otherwise you are disadvantaging fellow students. You will need your student electronic ID to borrow books.
As well as print books the Library service also provides access to a vast collection of eBooks and eJournals which can be read online or downloaded. Our Library Search covers all of the material held at Perth College UHI plus the library collections of all our partner institutions in the University of the Highlands and Islands. The search also provides links to eBooks. Books for loan held by other libraries within the University of the Highlands and Islands may be borrowed through the Inter-Site Loan scheme. The library search can be searched from any internet enabled device.
A self-issue unit is available at the issue desk in the Library, see the MeeScan guide for further information.
We also have a fiction collection on Floor 2 and a collection of DVDs by the issue desk if you want to take a break from your course textbooks.
If you need to borrow material held at another library within the University of the Highlands and Islands, please complete the relevant online request form (for ) or email email@example.com with details and we will request the items on your behalf, this may not be possible. If an eBook is available the lending library may decline your request.
If the material you want is not available in any of the partner libraries, please ask about a British Library loan. If the book is not in stock, we may also consider purchasing a copy for our collection which you can then borrow.
Books can be renewed online via MyDay or by logging into the Library Search If your books have become overdue please email firstname.lastname@example.org and we will renew them for you (as long as they have not been reserved by someone else). If you have problems renewing your books, please contact us.
You will not incur an overdue charge if your book is late back unless the book has been recalled by another user and you have not returned it on time. If you do not return your book when requested to do so there will be an overdue charge of £1 per day. If your book has not been recalled by another user and it becomes overdue you will receive an email the day after your book is due to remind you to renew or return it. After two further reminder emails, unless your PAT has informed us that you have mitigating circumstances which prevented you from returning the book on time, you will be invoiced for the replacement cost of the book.
Perth College UHI students or staff may reserve or recall a book that is already out on loan (as long as it is a book from our Library) by sending an email to email@example.com and quoting the details of the book. Please note: reserved books will only be held for a limited number of days before going back into circulation. You will be sent an email when books are available for collection.