SAMS still gets a handful of journals in print format, the most recent editions are on the magazine display shelves on the 1st floor. Our journal archive is on the ground floor (the 'stacks') directly behind Reception.
SAMS has it's own journal subscriptions and belongs to journal consortiums which give staff and students full text access to a huge number of titles by ip address. If you are on site and using a SAMS computer you will get direct access to articles in these collections. (Staff by vpn when offsite). All SAMS subscribed titles are available electronically.
A second route to full text access is via UHI e-journals. Search UHI online journals by journal title or ISSN. For journals subscribed to by UHI library service you will be able to access the full text. Access may be limited by date range. Once you have identified a journal(s) click on the title to see the date range covered by our subscription. Some journals will have more than one link to the full text. Make sure you select the one with the date range you need e.g. some links will include an embargo period for the most recently published articles but there may be an alternative link to include these.
SAMS journals are moving towards more alignment with UHI, for example our Wiley subscription is now with UHI.
SAMS Staff, students and members have access to 'the stacks' area of rolling storage on the ground floor behind reception and directly below the main library space. Here we store our print journals. We have more that a 1000 different titles here and in the library annexe. These include major marine and environmental science titles, the publications of domestic and international marine science institutions and governmental bodies. For example our copies of 'Nature' go back to 1869, we have editions of fisheries bulletins from around the world and ICES and FAO reports. A full list of titles is available on the table in the stacks, or electronically from the library. Journal digital archives are often only available from about 1997 onward so the physical archive is a useful resource for older documents and articles. The number of journals we have subscribed to in physical format dropped off through the 2010s as electronic access became the norm. Items from the stacks can be taken up to the first floor for reading, or copies made of articles for personal use but they are NOT available for loan.
Please take note of the safety instructions for using the rolling stacks.